随着市场紧缩和金属价格飙升,铜盗窃事件不断增多

Copper theft on the rise market tightens metal prices vault higher ASX miners
投资银行Citi预测,铜价可能在未来3个月内达到每磅5.50美元。

犯罪分子的活动通常不会提供投资的想法,但当他们开始从发电站或建筑工地偷铜线时,你就知道是时候向铜矿工人学习了。

南澳大利亚的Kingston是一个以“拉里大龙虾”而闻名的沿海城市。几天前,Kingston因附近发电站的铜线被盗而登上了新闻头条,整个小镇陷入了黑暗之中。

促使这些窃贼冒着生命危险从一个活跃的发电站偷铜的,是一个简单的诱惑:由于铜价达到了创纪录的水平,他们可以将铜出售以获得可观的利润。

根据领先投资银行Citi的最新价格提示,预计还会有更多铜被盗,因为铜价目前处于每磅4.50美元以上,未来3个月可能升至每磅5.50美元。

强劲的需求推动了创纪录的价格

建筑、电子和交通等传统耗铜行业的强劲需求与电动汽车和可再生能源等新的重铜行业相结合,将铜从作为经济增长预测指标的铜博士头衔提升为铜王 ,作为每个人都想要的金属(包括骗子)。

但就像Kingston的窃贼一样,投资者可能会在铜价热时出手,因为在下一次上涨之后,随着大量供应涌入,铜价预计会出现下滑。

另一家投资银行UBS将铜视为一个投资主题,其推动因素包括需求强劲、供应中断、勘探缺乏成功发现大型矿体以及库存较低。

不幸的是,每一个好消息都有它的另一面。瑞银指出,铜的问题是,“每个人都想建一座铜矿”,这意味着供应将恢复,在某些用途上用铝替代铜的消费者也将恢复供应。

因此,如果未来三个月铜价可能会飙升(Citi),现在可能是在不断增长的供应满足需求之前持有铜头寸的时候(UBS)。

铜镇的尽头

在采矿业的顶端,铜生产商云集,因为铜是世界上最重要的工业金属,有着广阔的市场。

BHP Group (ASX: BHP), Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO), Anglo American, Glencore, Freeport 和其他矿业巨头都在生产铜,以及其他模糊了铜在其利润中的作用的金属。

澳大利亚中等规模的铜生产商也享受着好日子。OZ Minerals (ASX: OZL)在过去12个月上涨了140%,至25.17澳元,Sandfire (ASX: SFR)上涨了40%,但它们的市值分别为83亿澳元和12.7亿澳元,不属于小型股。

潜力在较小的小型股的空间

然而,有许多勘探公司和小型生产商提供了接近纯铜故事的敞口,包括:

Venturex Resources (ASX: VXR)在很大程度上是一种“跟随人”的情况。该公司是Bill Beament的新公司工具。Bill Beament是澳大利亚黄金行业Northern Star (ASX: NST)的创始者和前推动力量,Northern Star在过去10年里从0.02澳元涨至16澳元。

这一次,Beament想要打造一家自己控制的公司,而不是担任领薪水的高管,另一种形式是铜,而不是黄金——不过值得记住的是,这两种金属经常同时出现。

Beament的计划是在7月1日接管Venturex,最初的重点是在WA Pilbara地区相对较小的sulfur Springs项目,但野心是通过发现和交易获得更大的规模——可能是Northern Star的重演。

自Beament宣布他转向Venturex二月份,以及股票的30%的股份,它已经飙升了750%,从0.09澳元到0.78澳元,但在那个公司最新价格只是适度的3.3亿澳元资本,一个国家英里的北部恒星的128亿澳元。

重生

Aeris (ASX: AIS)曾是Straits Resources的铜星,并在新南威尔士州中部的Tritton矿场工作。

老投资者可能还记得,渴望,当海峡在 2011 年是 5 澳元的股票时,这是最后一次铜交易高达4.50美元/磅,之前很长的滑下来要2美元/磅-下降在海峡仪器跌至0.50澳元附近,然后一直到0.03澳元,去年的这个时候。

随着Aeris的重生,关键资产仍然是Tritton,它正在创造便利的利润,但它也是一个勘探项目的核心。

该计划开始显示出令人鼓舞的迹象,表明附近有更大、更好的铜矿。

去年圣诞节前Constellation结构的发现,让Aeris的股价迎来了春天,该公司股价上周触及0.21澳元的12个月高点。

除了高纯度(比如上周报告的38m铜含量为3.72%)之外,Constellation的地势较浅(从8m开始),距离Tritton加工厂只有40公里。

冉冉升起的新星

一个公司,往往浮在雷达下是Caravel Minerals (ASX: CVV)与其同名的散装吨铜项目在西澳大利亚州。

Caravel项目是澳大利亚最大的未开发铜矿之一,资源为662吨,含铜0.28%,含金属1.86吨。

一项预可行性研究正在进行中,预计将于今年晚些时候完成,同时还将进行资源升级。

值得注意的是,大型机构投资者Paradice在上个月750万澳元的股权融资中购买了700万澳元的Caravel股票

这位投资者以长期策略而闻名,即购买在他的中小股空间内以“大幅折扣”交易的本质上被低估的股票。

在过去的12个月里,Caravel的股价从去年6月的0.025澳元涨到了0.54澳元,涨幅超过2000%。

Inca Minerals (ASX: ICG)——这个名字是该公司专注于南美资产的线索,但如今对印加真正感兴趣的是在北领地的一个有前途的发现。

到目前为止,工作主要局限于“岩石踢出”,这是描述从露出地面的岩石中采集芯片样本的一种方式,但这些样本已经获得了令人兴奋的分析结果,其中铜含量超过9%,每吨黄金含有3克。

位于Alice Springs东北450公里处的地理位置也令人鼓舞,因为该地区拥有丰富的铜(和黄金)历史。

消息流从Jean Elson发现和Frewena东项目预计将在接下来的几个月里,帮助继续,股票股价双从0.07 – 0.14澳元在过去的四个月,该公司的估价在5400万澳元的代价。

Coda Minerals (ASX: COD)是本周市场上的明星,此前该公司在南澳大利亚“铜象”国家的Emmie Bluff Deeps项目取得了令人鼓舞的钻探结果。BHP的Olympic Dam矿和OZ Minerals Prominent Hill矿都位于这个国家。

第一个深孔在项目分割的高达200米的IOCG(铁氧化物铜金矿)矿化与化验有待处理,但结果不够好Coda两倍多的份额从0.36 – 0.88澳元,价格值仍然untaxing 6000万澳元股票。

Coda需要更多的钻探,但最新的结果为勘探人员在一个曾被称为Mt Gunson的项目上数十年的工作提供了惊人的理由,该项目是多家公司的资产,包括中国控制的西澳铁矿石生产商Gindalbie Metals。

作为Gindalbie的母公司,Angang Steel在Coda去年上市后保留了该公司14%的股份。

其他新公司

值得投资者关注的其他小型铜矿企业股票包括:

该公司的资产之一是与必和必拓在澳大利亚北领地的合资企业,前景一片光明。

Peel Mining (ASX: PEX)在新南威尔士州的Wirlong项目中发现了一个看似高质量的矿藏。

Prodigy Gold (ASX: PRX)正在与IGO (ASX: IGO)合作,在西澳大利亚州发现有前途的Phreaker。

Stavely Minerals (ASX: SVY)周四在维多利亚的Gossan项目中报告了一系列出色的铜和金分析结果。

QMines (ASX: QML)最近在ASX上市,目前正在昆士兰的Mt Chalmers铜金项目钻探。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.

Copper theft on the rise as market tightens and metal prices vault higher

Copper theft on the rise market tightens metal prices vault higher ASX miners
Investment bank Citi predicts the copper price could reach US$5.50/lb in the next three months.

It is not often the activity of criminals provides an investment idea, but when they start stealing copper wire from power stations, or from building sites, then you know it’s time to brush up on copper miners.

Kingston in South Australia, a coastal centre more famous for Larry the big lobster, hit the headlines a few days ago when copper wiring was stolen from a nearby power station, plunging the town into the dark.

What encouraged the thieves to risk their lives stealing copper from an active power station was the simple enticement of being able to sell it for a handsome profit thanks to a record copper price.

More copper thefts can be expected because copper is hanging on to a price of more than US$4.50 a pound, and could go as high as US$5.50/lb over the next three months, according to the latest price tip from Citi, a leading investment bank.

Strong demand drives record prices

Strong demand from traditional copper-consuming sectors such as construction, electronics and transport are combining with new copper-heavy industries such as electric vehicles and renewable energy to elevate copper from its title of Dr Copper, as a predictor of economic growth, to King Copper, as the metal everyone wants (including crooks).

But like the thieves of Kingston, it might a case of investors striking while the copper’s hot because after the next rise, a slide is expected as a wall of supply rushes to catch the record price.

UBS, another investment bank, likes copper as an investment theme being driven up by strong demand, supply disruptions, lack of exploration success in finding big orebodies and low inventories.

Unfortunately, there is always a flipside to every good news story and with copper the issue identified by UBS is that “everyone wants to build a copper mine” and that means supply will recover, as will consumers substituting copper with aluminium in some uses.

So, if the next three months are likely to see the price of copper surge higher (Citi) now might be the time to have a position in the metal before rising supply satisfies demand (UBS).

Big end of copper town

The top end of the mining world is stuffed full of copper producers because it is the world’s most important industrial metal with a deep market.

BHP Group (ASX: BHP), Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO), Anglo American, Glencore, Freeport and the rest of the monster miners are up to the armpits in copper – along with other metals which blurs the role of copper in their profits.

Australian mid-tier copper producers have also been enjoying good times. OZ Minerals (ASX: OZL) has risen by 140% to $25.17 over the last 12-months, and Sandfire (ASX: SFR) is up 40% but with market values of $8.3 billion and $1.27 billion respectively they do not qualify as small caps.

Potential in the smaller cap space

There are, however, plenty of explorers and small producers which offer near-pure exposure to the copper story, including:

Venturex Resources (ASX: VXR) is very much a “follow the man” situation. The company is the new corporate vehicle for Bill Beament, the creator and former driving force behind the Australian gold sector’s great success Northern Star (ASX: NST), which ran from $0.02 to $16 over a decade.

This time around Beament wants to build a company that he controls, rather than serve as a salaried executive with another variation being copper rather than gold – though it is also worth remembering that the two metals often occur together.

Beament’s plan is to take the reins of Venturex on 1 July with the relatively small Sulphur Springs project in WA’s Pilbara region as the initial focus, but with ambitions of getting much bigger through discovery and deals – perhaps a repeat of Northern Star.

Since Beament announced his shift to Venturex in February, as well as taking a 30% stake in the stock, it has rocketed up by 750% from $0.09 to $0.78, but at that latest price the company is only capitalised at a modest $330 million, a country mile short of Northern Star’s $12.8 billion.

Rebirth

Aeris (ASX: AIS) was once a copper star when trading as Straits Resources and working the Tritton mine in central NSW.

Older investors might remember, longingly, when Straits was a $5 stock in 2011, which was the last time copper traded as high as $US4.50/lb, before a long slide down to $US2/lb – a drop which was instrumental in Straits falling to around $0.50, and then all the way to $0.03 at this time last year.

Reborn as Aeris the key asset remains Tritton which is generating handy profits, but which is also at the centre of an exploration program.

The program is starting to reveal highly encouraging signs of bigger and better nearby copper deposits.

The discovery of the Constellation structure just before Christmas last year put a spring in the Aeris’ share price which last week hit a 12-month high of $0.21.

Apart from high grades, such as 38m assaying 3.72% copper reported last week, Constellation is shallow (starting at 8m) and only 40km from the Tritton processing plant.

Rising stars

A company that tends to float under the radar is Caravel Minerals (ASX: CVV) with its namesake bulk tonnage copper project in WA.

Caravel maintains its namesake project is one of Australia’s largest undeveloped copper deposits with a resource of 662Mt at 0.28% copper for 1.86Mt of contained metal.

A pre-feasibility study is underway which is due for completion later this year along with a resource upgrade.

Of note, is that large institutional investor Paradice bought up $7 million in Caravel shares in a $7.5 million equity raising last month.

The investor is known for longer-term strategy of purchasing intrinsically undervalued stocks trading at “substantial discounts” within he small and mid-tier spaces.

In the past 12 months, Caravel’s share price has boomed more than 2,000% from around $0.025 last June to $0.54.

Inca Minerals (ASX: ICG) – the name is a clue to the company’s focus on South American assets, but the real interest in Inca today is a promising discovery in the Northern Territory.

Work so far has been largely limited to “rock kicking” which is one way of describing the collection of chip samples from outcropping rocks, but those samples have yielded tantalising assays of more than 9% copper and 3 grams per tonne of gold.

The location, 450km northeast of Alice Springs is also a point of encouragement because it is a region with a rich history of copper (and gold).

News flow from the Jean Elson discovery and the Frewena East project is expected to pick up over the next few months, helping continue a share price move which has seen the stock double from $0.07 to $0.14 over the last four months, a price which values the company at $54 million.

Coda Minerals (ASX: COD) is a star performer on the market this week after a highly encouraging drill result from its Emmie Bluff Deeps project in South Australia’s “copper elephant” country which is home to BHP’s giant Olympic Dam mine and OZ Minerals Prominent Hill.

The first deep hole at the project intersected a whopping 200m of IOCG (iron oxide copper gold) mineralisation with assays yet to be processed, but a result good enough to more than double Coda’s share from which jumped from $0.36 to $0.88, a price which values the stock at a still untaxing $60 million.

Much more drilling is required by Coda, but the latest result is a spectacular justification for decades of work by explorers on a project once known as Mt Gunson and an asset on a number of companies including Chinese control WA iron ore producer Gindalbie Metals.

The Chinese company behind Gindalbie, Angang Steel, retained a 14% stake in Coda after it was floated off last year.

Other juniors to watch

Other small copper explorer stocks worth an entry in an investor’s black book of stocks to watch include:

Encounter Resources (ASX: ENR), which has among its assets a promising joint venture with BHP in the Northern Territory.

Peel Mining (ASX: PEX), which has made what looks to be a high-grade discovery at its Wirlong project in NSW.

Prodigy Gold (ASX: PRX), which is partnering IGO (ASX: IGO) in its promising Phreaker discovery in WA.

Stavely Minerals (ASX: SVY) which has reported a series of outstanding copper and gold assays from its Thursday’s Gossan project in Victoria.

QMines (ASX: QML), which recently listed on the ASX is currently drilling the Mt Chalmers copper and gold project in Queensland.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.