每周回顾:来来往往推动着股市

Stocks March 2021 ASX
每周市场报告

在澳大利亚证券交易所(ASX)一个相当积极的周末,领先企业数据的离开或其他原因足以真正推动一些股票。

具有远见卓见的TPG Telecom (ASX: TPG)创始人David Teoh的意外离职影响最大,导致这家大型宽带提供商的股价大幅下跌,市值蒸发近10亿美元,股价下跌6.7%,至6.41美元。

同时保持一个非常私人形象,Teoh先生在销量30年后的立即离开和他的继任者香港商人和长期董事会成员Canning Fok出人意料,恰逢他儿子Shane Teoh离开TPG, 他早些时候被判侵犯一个Uber司机。

Teoh仍将是TPG的一位有影响力的人物

Teoh先生仍将是公司举足轻重的人物,持有17.2%的股份,最早要到2022年7月才能出售。

他的另一个儿子Jack Teoh和公司秘书Antony Moffatt也将加入董事会。就在8个月前,董事会仍在筹备与Vodafone Hutchison Australia的合并事宜。

AMP可能会失去法拉利?

在快速萎缩的基金管理公司AMP (ASX: AMP),的非离开AMP(现在)首席执行官Francesco De Ferrari导致了最初的股票暴跌,暂停交易,每天不少于两个连续的公告说,“没有改变CEO的位置和De Ferrari没有辞职。”

然而,下一步变得明显,De Ferrari可能会离开他的同名跑车一样快AMP说“董事会和De Ferrari合作,建设性地讨论集团的未来战略和领导职位AMP的组合评估的完成。”

这一点,再加上AMP 将“按要求”向股东通报讨论情况的保证,让整个问题变得一清二楚,一个明确的推论是,首席执行官很快就会离职。

AMP 股价周五收涨至1.345澳元。

股东会投资超过20亿美元的股息吗?

另一个值得欢迎的是,本周超过20亿美元的股息迅速进入投资者的银行账户,参与的公司包括Telstra (ASX: TLS), Coles (ASX: COL), AGL (ASX: AGL), Origin Energy (ASX: ORG)Evolution Mining (ASX: EVN)

投资者是否选择将部分或全部股息再投资是一个有趣的问题,因为市场在本周开始时表现平平,但在结束时却连续三天上涨。

由于周末前的一系列小幅上涨,ASX 200指数本周上涨1.7%,收于6824.2点。

本周强劲收市的核心是医疗类股,特别是血液产品集团CSL (ASX: CSL),该股周五下跌0.9%,但本周仍上涨5.3%,原因是该公司在墨尔本的工厂开始生产第一批本地生产的COVID-19疫苗。

澳大利亚电信巨头Telstra (ASX: TLS)股价表现强劲,投资者对其简化计划表示欢迎,该公司还宣布计划放弃新西兰上市,本周股价上涨6.2%,至3.41美元。

美国东部沿海地区的暴雨导致了大面积的洪水和大量的保险索赔,大型保险公司几乎没有什么好消息。

也许令人惊讶的是,包括IAG (ASX: IAG), Suncorp (ASX: SUN)QBE (ASX: QBE)在内的大多数大型保险公司的股票本周都略有上涨。

小盘股行为

小订单指数小幅下跌0.21%,收于3191.5点。

Small ords ASX 200 chart March 2021
ASX 200 vs Small Ords

本周成为头条新闻的小型股有:

Respiri (ASX RSH):

对呼吸器公司来说,这是重要的一周,该公司获得了美国食品和药物管理局(FDA)的批准,将在美国正式推出wheezo设备和技术,预计将于2022年第三季度在美国上市。

根据FDA的消息,该公司对其董事会进行了战略性任命,为即将到来的英国上市提供建议,预计将于今年12月的季度在英国上市。

任命的Andrew Weekes博士和Mark Levy博士都具有必要的经验、知识和能力,可以指导呼吸系统委员会进入英国并指导该国的卫生系统。

K-TIG (ASX KTG):

在与国际防务制造商Hanwha Defence Corporation和Hanwha Defence Australia Pty Ltd达成协议后,K-TIG将开发焊接技术,以帮助建造澳大利亚的下一代装甲车辆。

作为韩国最大的军事制造商之一,Hanwha也是澳大利亚陆军价值数十亿美元的Land 8116自行火炮项目的首选供应商。

K-TIG总经理Adrian Smith表示,与Hanwha合作打造“澳大利亚国防部门的关键设备”,对该公司来说是一个“关键机会”,它将看到其先进的小孔焊接技术的速度、效率和有效性。

Caravel Minerals (ASX: CVV)

西澳铜矿探矿商Caravel Minerals揭示了Opie矿床反循环冲击钻的勘探成果。

Opie位于Caravel铜矿项目主要铜矿以南约10公里处,不属于之前2019年的范围研究或目前的预可行性研究,这凸显了该项目的额外优势。

值得注意的是,在42m处的铜含量为0.65%的10米,在80m处的6米铜含量为0.64%,在244m处的34米铜含量为0.34%。

Vintage Energy (ASX: VEN)

由于食品级二氧化碳的稳定来源需求量很大,Vintage Energy希望通过拥有50%股份的Nangwarry-1井来填补这一缺口。

该井的生产测试活动于3月19日开始,并在Pretty Hill下部地层进行了射孔,其天然气流量超过了公司的预期,预计达到12-14MMscfd。

早期的测井数据表明,与上部地层相比,天然气的流动速度要低一些。

Digital Wine Ventures (ASX: DW8)

一项拟议中的协议将使Digital Wine Ventures通过其在线平台WineDepot进一步扩大其业务范围,通过eBay销售其产品

两家公司已经签署了一份谅解备忘录,就合作关系进行谈判,届时澳大利亚葡萄酒生产商的产品将通过WineDepot平台上一个名为Direct的新部分自动上传到eBay上。

WineDepot随后将挑选、包装和交付在eBay上生成的订单。

Venus Metals Corporation (ASX: VMC)

这周对Venus Metals来说是一个重大新闻,该公司报道称,其拥有30%股权的Youanmi 黄金项目的勘探工作取得了积极成果,同时其砂岩项目的多个金矿区也已钻探成功

Youanmi 金矿的最新分析延伸了黄金足迹,证实成矿带位于Grace矿床以南1亿米处,发现了8米厚的金矿,储量19.9克/吨,其中4米厚的金矿,储量38.3克/吨;和4米在5g/t黄金从40米。

周五,Venus宣布了对砂岩进行的第二阶段钻探的结果,砂岩深度为9米,从15米到2.3克/吨。

该公司还指出,另一家合资伙伴AIC Mines已经开始钻探位于Sandfire公司DeGrussa铜金矿附近的Curara Well项目。

未来一周

虽然复活节将减少未来一周的股市交易量,但仍有大量数据将发布。

消费者信心指数、采购经理人指数、房价、职位空缺、贷款指标、零售和国际贸易数据都将在周五复活节假期开始前公布,因此在四天交易休市前有机会做出反应。

可能影响市场走势的不仅仅是本地的经济数据,还有一些海外数据需要关注,尤其是美国的就业数据。

2月份新增就业岗位37.9万个,高于预期。经济学家预计,3月份新增就业岗位58万个,可能会将失业率从6.2%降至6%。

随着采购经理人调查的公布,也会更好地反映出中国经济增长的情况。

本周最受欢迎的股票

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.

Weekly review: comings and goings push stocks around

Stocks March 2021 ASX
WEEKLY MARKET REPORT

The departure, or otherwise, of leading company figures was enough to really push some stocks around at the end of a reasonably positive week on the ASX.

The unexpected departure of visionary TPG Telecom (ASX: TPG) founder David Teoh had the biggest impact, pushing shares in the big broadband provider down sharply, wiping off almost a billion dollars off the company’s market capitalisation as the shares fell 6.7% to $6.41.

While remaining a very private figure, the immediate departure of Mr Teoh after 30 years and his replacement with Hong Kong businessman and long-time board member Canning Fok was a surprise and coincided with the resignation from TPG of his son Shane Teoh after he was earlier convicted of assaulting an Uber driver.

Teoh will remain an influential figure at TPG

Mr Teoh will remain an influential figure at the company, holding a 17.2% stake which can’t be sold until July 2022 at the earliest.

His other son, Jack Teoh, and company secretary Antony Moffatt are also joining the board, which is still bedding-in the merger with Vodafone Hutchison Australia that began just eight months ago.

AMP might lose a Ferrari?

Over at fast shrinking fund manager AMP (ASX: AMP), the non-departure (for now) of AMP chief executive Francesco De Ferrari led to an initial share plunge, trading halt and no fewer than two consecutive daily announcements saying that “there has been no change to the chief executive officer’s position and Mr De Ferrari has not resigned.’’

However, in the very next breath it became obvious that Mr De Ferrari might be leaving as fast as his namesake sports cars with AMP saying that “the board and Mr De Ferrari are working together and constructively discussing the future strategy and leadership of the group, post the completion of AMP’s portfolio review.’’

That and an assurance that AMP will keep shareholders informed of the discussion “as required” left the entire issue as clear as mud, with one clear inference being that it won’t be long until the chief executive officer does depart.

AMP shares added a cent to close at $1.345 on Friday.

Will shareholders invest more than $2 billion of dividends?

The other welcome arrival was more than $2 billion in dividends which popped into investor’s bank accounts this week, with contributing companies including Telstra (ASX: TLS), Coles (ASX: COL), AGL (ASX: AGL), Origin Energy (ASX: ORG) and Evolution Mining (ASX: EVN).

Whether investors choose to reinvest some or all of their dividends is an interesting question, with the market having a lacklustre start to the week but enjoying a three-day winning streak to end with.

The ASX 200 finished the week 1.7% higher at 6824.2 points thanks to a series of modest gains heading into the weekend.

Central to that strong end to the week were healthcare stocks, particularly, blood products group CSL (ASX: CSL) which dropped 0.9% on Friday, but still rose 5.3% for the week as the first locally-made COVID-19 vaccine shots began rolling out of the company’s Melbourne facility.

Telco giant Telstra (ASX: TLS) was another strong performer with investors warming to its simplification plans as it also announced plans to ditch its New Zealand listing, helping it to rise 6.2% for the week to $3.41.

There was little cheery news for the big insurers after heavy rain along the country’s east coast caused widespread flooding and a deluge of insurance claims.

Perhaps surprisingly though, most of the shares in the big insurers ended up slightly higher for the week, including IAG (ASX: IAG), Suncorp (ASX: SUN) and QBE (ASX: QBE).

Small cap stock action

The Small Ords index fell a slight 0.21% to close on 3191.5 points.

Small ords ASX 200 chart March 2021
ASX 200 vs Small Ords

Small cap companies making headlines this week were:

Respiri (ASX: RSH)

It was a big week for Respiri which collared US Food and Drug Administration approval to sell its wheezo device and technology over the counter with an official US launch scheduled in Q3 2022.

The company followed up the FDA news with strategic appointments to advise its board on the upcoming UK launch, which is pencilled in for the December quarter this year.

Both appointments Dr Andrew Weekes and Dr Mark Levy have requisite experience, knowledge and capability to guide the Respiri board on its entry into the UK and navigating the country’s health system.

K-TIG (ASX: KTG)

K-TIG will develop welding technology to help build Australia’s next generation of armoured vehicles after it secured a deal with international defence manufacturer Hanwha Defence Corporation and Hanwha Defence Australia Pty Ltd.

As one of South Korea’s largest military manufacturers, Hanwha is also the preferred supplier of Australia’s multi-billion-dollar Land 8116 self-propelled artillery project for the country’s army.

K-TIG managing director Adrian Smith said partnering with Hanwha in creating “crucial equipment for Australia’s defence sector” was a “crucial opportunity” for the company that will see it deploy the speed, efficiency and effectiveness of its advanced keyhole welding technology.

Caravel Minerals (ASX: CVV)

WA copper explorer Caravel Minerals revealed reverse circulation percussion drill results from exploration at the Opie deposit.

Opie is about 10km south of the main copper deposits within Caravel’s namesake copper project and was not part of the previous 2019 scoping study or current pre-feasibility study – highlighting additional upside for the project.

Notable assays were 10m at 0.65% copper from 42m, 6m at 0.64% copper from 80m, and 34m at 0.34% copper from 244m.

Vintage Energy (ASX: VEN)

With stable sources of food grade carbon dioxide in high demand, Vintage Energy is hoping to meet some of that gap with its 50%-owned Nangwarry-1 well in the onshore Otway Basin.

Production test activities at the well began on 19 March and have perforated the lower Top Pretty Hill Formation, with gas flow exceeding the company’s expectations and achieving an estimated 12-14MMscfd.

Vintage noted log data had previously indicated the gas flow would be at a lower rate compared to the upper section.

Digital Wine Ventures (ASX: DW8)

A proposed agreement will see Digital Wine Ventures grow its reach further with its online platform WineDepot to sell its products via eBay.

The companies have executed a memorandum of understanding to negotiate a partnership where Australian wine producers will have their products automatically uploaded to eBay via a new part of WineDepot’s platform called Direct.

WineDepot will then pick, pack, and deliver any orders generated on eBay.

Venus Metals Corporation (ASX: VMC)

It was a big news week for Venus Metals which reported positive results from exploration at its 30%-owned Youanmi gold project, while drilling also hit multiple gold zones at its Sandstone project.

Latest assays from Youanmi have extended the gold footprint and confirm mineralisation is present 100m to the south of the Grace deposit and uncovered 8m at 19.9g/t gold from 68m, including 4m at 38.3g/t gold from 68m; and 4m at 5g/t gold from 40m.

On Friday, Venus announced results from stage two drilling at Sandstone which hit 9m at 2.3g/t gold from 15m.

The company also noted another joint venture partner AIC Mines had begun drilling the Curara Well project, near Sandfire’s DeGrussa copper-gold mine.

The week ahead

While Easter is set to reduce the amount of share market trading in the coming week, there is still a lot of data being released for the holiday-shortened week.

Consumer sentiment, purchasing managers’ indexes, home prices, job vacancies, lending indicators, retail and international trade data will all be released before the start of the Easter holiday on Friday, so there is a chance to react before the four-day trading break.

It is not just local economic releases that might move markets, there are some overseas releases to watch out for, particularly US employment figures.

The better than expected 379,000 increase in jobs in February will be followed by March figures which economists expect will show that 580,000 jobs have been added, potentially easing the unemployment rate from 6.2% to 6%.

There will also be a better picture produced of how Chinese growth is shaping up with the release of purchasing manager surveys.

This week’s top stocks

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.