Coda Minerals捕获了一只铜象

Coda Minerals ASX COD copper Emmie Bluff Deeps
鉴于Emmie Bluff Deeps铜矿项目的钻探成功,经纪商将Coda Minerals列为澳大利亚最被低估的勘探公司之一。

猎杀大象是希望获得铜矿的Coda Minerals (ASX: COD)的目标,但问题在于,如果你捕获了大象,你知道该如何处置它,尽管这是Coda未来的一个问题,一些经纪人认为它是澳大利亚最被低估的勘探商。

Coda的猎象活动是矿业的俚语,意思是试图用较少的预算取得重大发现。该活动在南澳大利亚州的斯图尔特高地(Stuart Shelf)举行,这里以盛产大型动物而闻名,是BHP世界级的奥林匹克大坝(Olympic Dam)矿和其他铜矿项目的所在地。

Coda在其乡村教师的最新钻探虚张声势深处项目已经重燃兴趣股票首次引起了投资者的注意在6月报道深度交叉的铁氧化物铜金矿(IOCG)矿化的一个主要目标,全球铜的重要来源。

在短短几天内,Coda的股价从0.36澳元飙升至1.75澳元,涨幅超过380%,这促使管理层筹集新资本以加速钻井。不过,由于增持股票和缺乏新的分析,该股在上月底回落至0.68澳元。

本周早些时候,Coda公司报告了一批引人注目的钻探结果,包括13米的3.46%铜和0.64克黄金每吨。厚45米和55米的富铜材料的交点也报道了高达2.17%的铜。

最新财报显示,Coda股价上涨0.15 – 1澳元,之后又一次失去信心,回落至0.91澳元左右,这一水平意味着这家小公司的估值为9,000万澳元,无需纳税,这可能是一个巨大的发现。

深部的矿化

Coda的股票市场表现相对较差的一个原因是,IOCG在Emmie Bluff Deeps的矿化程度确实非常深,从9.02亿英镑开始,1300万英镑含3.46%的铜。

挖到那个深度的矿要花一大笔钱,不过矿石的质量,包括珍贵的斑铜矿(或孔雀矿)和更知名的黄铜矿,总有一天会让这项工作有价值——对某些人来说,如果不是Coda的话。

和在最后评论谎言也许最具吸引力的原因一个投资者看看Coda因为它是一个小公司控股大象的尾巴(或者老虎如果你喜欢),可以成为澳味佳肴的大型矿业公司在寻找更多的铜,包括Coda的乡村教师虚张声势深处的邻居,BHP。

未来几天预计会有更多的钻井检测

消息流从Coda加速有化验最新一轮的钻井预计将在未来几天公布,连同一个初始地推断出资源的股票经纪公司肖和合作伙伴预计约800000吨的铜当量(铜+金)矿分级铜相当于1.6%。

如果Shaw的预测是正确的,那么这一估值将在现有铜矿资源的基础上增加近三倍,Coda持有70%的股份(升至75%),而较小的合作伙伴Torrens Mining持有75%的股份。

早期勘探已探明资源量为28万吨铜当量,主要分布在浅铜矿和低品位铜矿。

Coda首席执行官Chris Stevens表示,由于IOCG结构的深度,目前现场有两台钻机,每个新井需要三到四周的时间才能完成。

Stevens表示:“Emmie Bluff Deeps的矿化基本上仍在各个方向进行。”

“下一个井眼的目标是向东南方向进一步延伸250米的矿化区。”

刚刚开始研究Coda的Shaw表示,最新的钻井活动“实质性地扩展了”已知的IOCG矿化,并补充说,在过去的一年里,该公司改进和重新校准了勘探技术,结果是钻支持的成功。

这家经纪公司是所有在澳大利亚证交所上市的勘探商中最乐观的报价之一。该公司预计,Coda的股价将涨至2.30澳元,较0.91澳元的上次销售价格高出150%以上,实际上是去年6月那种爆炸式上涨的重演。

由于铜在南澳大利亚一级地区的电气化作用,它是最炙手可热的贱金属,这也是Shaw对Coda感到兴奋的原因之一。

其他的原因包括即将释放的原始资源,正在进行的钻探和分析结果,明年年初在Coda公寓南部的Elaine目标进行钻探,以及在昆士兰西北部的另一个铜矿勘探区Cameron River开始钻探。

资助一个由Coda提出的雄心勃勃的勘探项目将是昂贵的,尤其是为Emmie Bluff Deeps计划的深洞。

9月这一季度的现金消耗了390万澳元,其中9月30日有1780万澳元,据信这一数字如今已缩减至1500万澳元左右,新的一年很可能会有新一轮融资。

吸引了大型铜矿商的注意

对于一家小公司来说,Coda的勘探支出是一个沉重的负担,但其结果支持了这一努力,也将吸引渴望从Stuart Shelf分一杯羹的更大铜矿商的注意。

早期迹象的位置可以找到Coda的股份登记,由中国铁矿石矿商超过鞍钢集团持股12.2%(但没有董事会代表权)和反映了剩余的股份与Coda的母公司,不幸的西澳大利亚磁铁矿铁矿石生产商Gindalbie Metals。

排名上升的是总部位于悉尼的专业投资管理公司Regal Funds Management,该公司上月将所持股份从7.37%上调至8.44%。

与基层勘探相关的风险总是很高,但就位置和大宗商品而言,Coda正在形成一个一流的项目,在一个黄金地段拥有高级别(尽管深度)铜矿。

BHP的 Olympic Dam 矿在北 114 公里处,其 Oak Dam 项目在东北部 16 公里处,OZ Minerals (ASX: OZL) Carrapateena 项目在东面 40 公里处——BHP和 OZ 正在跟踪每一份报告和钻机,这是绝对确定的 Coda 财产的动向。

Coda眼下面临的挑战是增加铜资源。对于这只小股票来说,更长期的挑战将是独立的,这可能意味着要面对一个好得让人无法拒绝的出价。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Coda Minerals catches a copper elephant

Coda Minerals ASX COD copper Emmie Bluff Deeps
Seeing drilling success at the Emmie Bluff Deeps copper project, brokers are rating Coda Minerals as one of Australia’s most undervalued explorers.

The problem with hunting elephants, which is the aim of copper hopeful Coda Minerals (ASX: COD), is knowing what to do with one if you catch it, though that’s a future problem for Coda which some brokers rate as Australia’s most undervalued explorer.

Coda’s elephant hunting, which is mining slang for trying to make a significant discovery on a small budget, is taking place in a location known for hosting big beasts, the Stuart Shelf of South Australia, home to BHP’s (ASX: BHP) world-class Olympic Dam mine and other copper projects.

The latest drilling by Coda at its Emmie Bluff Deeps project has rekindled interest in the stock which first caught the attention of investors in June when it reported a deep intersection of iron oxide copper gold (IOCG) mineralisation, one of the main targets and a globally important source of copper.

In a matter of days, Coda shares rocketed up by more than 380% from $0.36 to $1.75, a rise which encouraged management to raise fresh capital to accelerate drilling. Alhough, the extra shares and a lack of fresh assays saw the stock slide back to $0.68 late last month.

It was game on again for Coda earlier this week when the company reported a fresh batch of eye-catching drill results, including 13 metres at 3.46% copper plus 0.64 grams of gold per tonne. Thicker intersections of 45m and 55m of copper rich material was also reported at up to 2.17% copper.

The latest results saw Coda shares rise by $0.15 to $1 before once again running out of puff with the price retreating to around $0.91, a level which values the small company with what could be an elephant-sized discovery at an untaxing $90 million.

Mineralisation at great depths

One reason for Coda’s relatively poor stock market performance is that the IOCG mineralisation at Emmie Bluff Deeps is indeed very deep, with that 13m at 3.46% copper starting at 902m.

Digging a mine down to that depth is going to cost a small fortune, though the quality of the ore which includes prized bornite (or peacock ore) and the better-known chalcopyrite will make the exercise worthwhile one day – for someone, if not Coda.

And in that last comment lies perhaps the most attractive reason for an investor taking a look at Coda because it is a small company holding an elephant by the tail (or tiger if you prefer) and could become a tasty morsel for one of the mega miners on the prowl for more copper, including Coda’s Emmie Bluff Deeps neighbour, BHP.

More drilling assays expected in coming days

News flow from Coda is accelerating with more assays from the latest round of drilling expected to be released in the next few days, along with a maiden inferred resource which the stockbroking firm Shaw and Partners expects to be around 800,000 tonnes of copper equivalent (copper plus gold) in ore grading 1.6% copper equivalent.

If correct, Shaw’s estimate represents an almost three-fold increase on an already established copper resource in the tenement package in which Coda has a 70% stake (rising to 75%) with Torrens Mining the minor partner.

Earlier exploration established a resource of 280,000t of copper equivalent, mainly in shallower and lower grade copper deposits.

Coda chief executive officer Chris Stevens said there are currently two drilling rigs on site with each new hole taking three to four weeks to complete due to the depth of the IOCG structure.

“Mineralisation at Emmie Bluff Deeps remains essentially open in all directions,” Mr Stevens said.

“The next hole will target an extension of the mineralisation a further 250m to the southeast.”

Shaw, which has only just started researching Coda, said the latest drilling campaign had “materially extended” the known IOCG mineralisation, adding that over the past year the company had refined and recalibrated its exploration technique with the result being drill-backed success.

The broker, in what is one of the most bullish price tips on any ASX-listed explorer, reckons Coda shares are heading for $2.30, more than 150% above last sales at $0.91 in what would effectively be a re-run of last June’s explosive increase.

The combination of copper, which is the hottest of the base metals thanks to its role in the electrification of everything, in a tier one location of South Australia is one of the reasons Shaw has become excited about Coda.

The other reasons are the imminent release of the maiden resource, ongoing drilling and assay results, drilling the prospective Elaine target in the south of Coda’s tenements early next year, and the start of drilling at another copper prospect, Cameron River, in north-west Queensland.

Funding an ambitious exploration program like that proposed by Coda will be expensive, especially the deep holes planned for Emmie Bluff Deeps.

The cash burn in the September quarter consumed $3.9 million with $17.8 million in the bank on 30 September, a number understood to have shrunk to around $15 million today with a fresh round of fundraising highly likely in the new year.

Attracting the attention of bigger copper miners

Coda’s exploration spend is a heavy commitment for a small company but the results are supporting the effort and will also be attracting the attention of bigger copper-hungry miners keen for a slice of the Stuart Shelf.

Early signs of position taking can be found on Coda’s share register, which is topped by a Chinese iron ore miner Angang Group which has a 12.2% stake (but no board representation) and reflects a residual stake connected to Coda’s parent, the ill-fated Western Australian magnetite iron ore producer Gindalbie Metals.

Moving up the register is specialist Sydney-based investment manager, Regal Funds Management which last month lifted its stake from 7.37% to 8.44%.

The risks associated with grass roots exploration are always high but in terms of location and commodity Coda is shaping up as a class act with high-grade (albeit deep) copper mineralisation in a prime address.

BHP’s Olympic Dam mine is 114km north and its Oak Dam project 16km north-east, with OZ Minerals’ (ASX: OZL) Carrapateena project 40km to the east – and it’s a dead set certainty that BHP and OZ are tracking every report and drill rig movement on Coda’s property.

Coda’s immediate challenge is to grow its copper resource. The longer challenge for the small stock will be independent, and that could mean dealing with an offer too good to refuse.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.