所有 CLANC 电池金属都是平等的,但有些比其他的更平等

CLANC battery metals minerals copper lithium aluminium nickel cobalt
投资银行Citi预测,由于供应减少和需求增加,一级镍币的价格可能会“爆炸”。

CLANC (铜、锂、铝、镍和钴) 的理论对关注电池金属的投资者很有吸引力,因为它涵盖了五大矿物。但在CLANC内部,有两种金属有着杰出的资质,因为它们也得到了俄罗斯的青睐——铝(aluminium)和镍(nickel)。

还有其他一些商品可以通过入侵乌克兰而从俄罗斯那里获得,这一事件可能发生,也可能不会发生,这取决于俄罗斯总统Vladimir Putin。

钾肥可能是乌克兰战争的赢家,因为俄罗斯是世界上第二大作物肥料生产国(20%的份额),而白俄罗斯(俄罗斯的卫星国)是第三大生产国(17.6%)。加拿大以31.8%的份额位居钾肥联盟榜首。

在没有自己的钾肥产业的国家(目前包括澳大利亚),令农民担心的是,在钾肥价格快速上涨的时候,对俄罗斯和白俄罗斯的贸易制裁可能会减少钾肥的供应,自去年年底以来,常见交易形式的钾肥价格上涨了50%以上。

理论上,这使得澳大利亚新兴的钾肥生产商,如Kalium Lakes(ASX: KLL)、BCI Minerals(ASX: BCI)、Australian Potash(ASX: APC)、Agrimin(ASX: AMN)和Trigg(ASX: TMG)值得关注。

镍和铝的不同联盟

然而,镍和铝处于不同的联盟,因为虽然俄罗斯是世界第三大金属生产国,贸易制裁对出口构成潜在威胁,但更重要的因素是从化石燃料向电力未来的能源转型的需求增加 几乎所有的东西。

实际上,随着不锈钢(镍)、运输和建筑(铝)等传统市场持续强劲的需求,再加上能源转型的需求,这两种金属都将享受可能被称为双重打击的效应。

在过去的12个月里,镍和铝的价格都上涨了50%以上。镍价已从每吨1.56万美元飙升至每吨23378美元,铝价则从每吨2069美元升至每吨3230美元。

如果需求继续超过供应,两种价格都可能上涨,如果俄罗斯/乌克兰局势演变为战争,价格可能会大幅上涨,尤其是对质量最好的镍来说。镍被称为电池制造商青睐的一级材料。

镍价将暴涨

投资银行Citi本周早些时候发布的一份报告引起了人们的关注,该报告警告称,一级镍币存在巨大赤字,且库存水平较低,可能成为价格的“火药桶”。

Citi分析师关注的是伦敦金属交易所(London Metal Exchange)等一级市场的库存逐渐枯竭。在伦敦金属交易所,镍库存已从去年4月的26.3万吨下降到本周的84,894吨,降幅达68%。

该行预计,未来3个月镍价将再上涨11%,至每吨26,000美元,但有可能飙升至每吨30,000美元——这是2008年镍价繁荣以来的最高水平。

对于当地一级镍生产商来说,这种原料一般产自西澳大利亚州Kambalda附近的那种硫化镍矿体,前景尤其看好。

Citi表示:“我们预计,到2022年上半年,一级镍币将继续出现短缺,即使库存不会进一步下降,也将保持在关键水平。”

“随着市场对中国最近放松信贷(以提振建筑业)的信心增强,并将关注焦点从美国央行的加息周期转移,这为市场出现一些爆炸式上涨的价格走势奠定了基础。”

“对俄罗斯金属实施制裁并不在我们的基本考虑范围内,但它提供了另一条提高价格的潜在途径。”

ASX镍股将受益于镍价高企

在ASX上市的镍股将受益于花旗银行的 “镍火药桶 “警报,包括Panoramic Resources(ASX: PAN)、Mincor(ASX: MCR)、Lunnon Metals(ASX: LM8)、Poseidon(ASX: POS)、Nimy Resources(ASX: NIM)、Dundas Minerals(ASX: DUN)、Aston Minerals(ASX: ASO)以及Estrella Resources(ASX: ESR)。

该银行表示,其对镍的 “牛市 “预测有20%的指示性概率,由于俄罗斯可能因其乌克兰威胁而受到制裁,短期内镍可能升至28,000美元/吨,如果印尼有意义地限制供应,则可能升至30,000美元/吨。

Citi表示:“俄罗斯最大的镍生产商Norilsk占一级金属产量的15%,尽管这些镍可能被转移到中国,但过渡时期将是混乱的。”

这些银行看空镍价的理由(也有20%的可能性)是,近期镍价回落至每吨2万美元,原因是电动汽车供应链的大量库存减少,同时印尼供应增加打击了市场人气。

对于投资者来说,Citi最新的镍分析报告,除了火上浇油的警告之外,最重要的一点是,镍已成为一个“两极分化”的市场,分为用于电池生产的一级金属和传统上用于不锈钢的一级金属。

对于投资者来说,Citi最新的镍分析报告,除了火上浇油的警告之外,最重要的一点是,镍已成为一个“两极分化”的市场,分为用于电池生产的一级金属和传统上用于不锈钢的一级金属。

Citi表示:“电动汽车电池需求的过度增长导致了一级材料的短缺。”“我们的基本预测是,2022年电动汽车镍需求将达到48万吨,比去年增加14万吨。”

Citi在早些时候的一份报告中指出,电动汽车在汽车市场的渗透已经进入了不可阻挡的增长的s曲线阶段,这将导致需求加速增长,从而确保锂和其他电池金属在更长时间内保持较高的价格。

“电动车销售已经达到了临界点,我们认为2022年电动车销量将达到1070万辆,推动每年16万吨(或30%)的锂需求增长,这对镍、铜和钴的需求也是有利的,” 该银行说道。

但是,镍所拥有的,而其他CLANC金属所缺乏的,是两个潜在的不可靠的供应商,他们在镍的排名表上占据了首位(印度尼西亚排名第一,俄罗斯排名第三)–如果他们扣留供应或受到贸易制裁,这意味着可能会在市场上造成混乱。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

All CLANC battery metals are equal, but some more equal than others

CLANC battery metals minerals copper lithium aluminium nickel cobalt
Investment bank Citi forecasts the price for class one nickel could “explode” due to eroding supplies and increased demand.

CLANC (copper, lithium, aluminium, nickel and cobalt) theory is appealing for investors with an eye on battery metals, because it encompasses the big five minerals, but within CLANC there are two metals with outstanding credentials because they’re also getting a Russian kicker – aluminium and nickel.

There are other commodities which could win from Russia disgracing itself by invading Ukraine, an event which might, or might not happen, depending on which side of the bed the Russian president, Vladimir Putin, gets out of on a given day.

Potash could be a winner from a war in Ukraine because Russia is the world’s second biggest producer of the crop fertiliser (20% share), while Belarus (a Russian satellite) is third biggest (17.6%). Canada tops the potash league table with a 31.8% share.

What worries farmers in countries without their own potash industry (and that currently includes Australia) is that trade sanctions on Russia and Belarus could reduce potash supplies at a time when the price is rising rapidly, up more than 50% since late last year in commonly traded forms of the fertiliser.

In theory, that makes Australia’s emerging crop of potash producers, such as Kalium Lakes (ASX: KLL), BCI Minerals (ASX: BCI), Australian Potash (ASX: APC), Agrimin (ASX: AMN), and Trigg (ASX: TMG) worth watching.

A different league for nickel and aluminium

Nickel and aluminium are, however, in a different league because while Russia is the world’s third biggest producer of both metals and trade sanctions are a potential threat to exports the more important factor is increasing demand from energy transition away from fossil fuels to an electric future of just about everything.

In effect, both metals are poised to enjoy what might be called a double-whammy effect with ongoing and strong demand from traditional markets such as stainless steel (nickel) and transports and construction (aluminium) being joined by the demands of energy transition.

Over the past 12-months both nickel and aluminium have risen by more than 50%. Nickel has jumped from US$15,600 a tonne to US$23,378/t, while aluminium has increased from US$2,069/t to US$3,230/t.

Both could go higher if demand continues to outstrip supply and a lot higher if the Russia/Ukraine situation morphs into war, especially for the best quality nickel, so-called class one material preferred by battery makers.

Nickel price to explode

Citi, an investment bank, put the cat among the nickel pigeons earlier this week with a report which warned of a large deficit in class one nickel with low stock levels representing a potential “powder keg” for prices.

What’s caught the eye of Citi analysts is the drying up of stockpiles in primary markets such as the London Metal Exchange where there has been a 68% fall in warehoused nickel from 263,000t in April last year to 84,894t this week.

The bank’s forecast for the next three months is for nickel to rise by another 11% to US$26,000/t, but with the potential explode to US$30,000/t – a price not seen since the nickel boom of 2008.

For local producers of class one nickel, the material generally produced in nickel sulphide orebodies of the sort found around Kambalda in WA, the outlook is especially promising.

“We see a continued deficit of class one nickel in the first half of 2022, keeping stocks critical if not drawing down further,” Citi said.

“This sets the market up for some explosively bullish price action as the market gains conviction in China’s recent credit easing (to boost construction) and turns its focus from the US central bank interest rate tightening cycle.”

“Sanctions on Russian metal are not in our base case but offer another potential path for higher prices.”

ASX nickel stocks to benefit from high nickel prices

ASX-listed nickel stocks positioned to benefit from Citi’s “nickel powder keg” alert include Panoramic Resources (ASX: PAN), Mincor (ASX: MCR), Lunnon Metals (ASX: LM8), Poseidon (ASX: POS), Nimy Resources (ASX: NIM), Dundas Minerals (ASX: DUN), Aston Minerals (ASX: ASO) and Estrella Resources (ASX: ESR).

The bank said its “bull” case for nickel had a 20% indicative probability and could see the metal rise in the near term to US$28,000/t owing to potential sanctions on Russia over its Ukraine threats and US$30,000/t if Indonesia were to meaningfully restrict supply.

“Norilsk, Russia’s biggest producer of nickel accounts for 15% of class one metal and while those tonnes could probably be diverted to China the interim period would be chaotic,” Citi said.

The banks bear case (also 20% probability) is that the nickel price falls back to US$20,000/t in the near term owing to a major de-stock from the electric vehicle supply chain, at the same time as sentiment is hurt by an increase in Indonesian supply.

For investors the key takeaway from the latest Citi nickel analysis, apart from the powder-keg warning, is that nickel has become a “bifurcated” market, divided into class one metal for battery production and the traditional use in stainless steel.

“The deficit in class one material is being led by outsized demand growth from EV batteries,” Citi said. “Our base case is for 480,000t of EV nickel demand in 2022, up 140,000t from last year.”

Citi argued in an earlier report that EV penetration of the vehicle market had entered the S-curve phase of unstoppable growth, which would see demand accelerate, ensuring the lithium and other battery metals stayed higher for longer.

“EV sales have reached the point of critical mass and we see 10.7 million EV sales in 2022, driving a 160,000t per year (or 30%) increase in lithium demand, which is also positive for nickel, copper and cobalt demand,” the bank said.

But what nickel has, which the other CLANC metals lack, is two potentially unreliable suppliers, which occupy top spot on the nickel league table (Indonesia at No 1 and Russia at No 3) – high rankings which represent the potential to create chaos in the market if they withhold supply or are hit with trade sanctions.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.