Cellmid将对COVID-19进行15分钟的商业化诊断测试

Cellmid rapid diagnostic test COVID-19 coronavirus CDY ASX
COVID-19快速诊断测试的结果需要不到15分钟的时间,并且通过了CE认证、TGA认证和NMPA认证。

生命科学公司Cellmid (ASX: CDY)将于周一将自行暂停所有交易,同时宣布了一种快速测试能够在15分钟内检测出冠状病毒(covid19),并将其商业化。

这种诊断测试由广州元丰生物科技有限公司(Guangzhou Wondfo biotech)首先在中国开发,将被用作护理工具的床头点,用于医生的手术、病理实验室和由医疗专业人员管理的偏远地点。

Cellmid周五晚间在一份声明中表示,它已经与授权经销,澳大利亚应用程序公司(Australia Applications)签署了一项供应协议快速诊断测试。现在元丰生物技术将大规模生产测试和供应澳大利亚,Cellmid将支付一个固定的价格为每一个测试。

Cellmid宣布,它已经下了第一份订单,而授权分销商澳大利亚应用程序公司(Australia Applications)已经开出了第一份发票,开始为期1年的交易。

COVID-19快速诊断测试于2月24日被中国NMPA快速跟踪为护理点测试,于3月5日获得CE认证,并于今年3月25日获得澳大利亚TGA的批准。

总而言之,由于政府采取了包括宽松的行政措施在内的应对措施来应对COVID19大流行,该检测在仅仅一个多月的时间内获得了所有三个司法管辖区的认证。

据Cellmid说,这种快速诊断测试已经在包括英国、比利时、西班牙和德国在内的几个国家使用。

尽管测试的功能,Cellmid说,它还没有达成任何协议出售测试的客户,但可能会进入贸易融资,供应商融资或与客户的预付款安排,如果它被要求资助更大的购买。

快速反应

为了应对COVID-19在全球范围内的持续传播,几家医疗技术公司着手开发一种测试,这种测试最终可能缓解公共卫生官员的压力,并更好地了解过去和现在的感染率。

元丰的covid19快速测试是一种小型一次性试剂盒,它使用了一种针对病毒特异性IgG/IgM的“横向流动胶体金检测”方法,“在不超过15分钟内”即可获得结果,并且只需要最基本的实验室设备。

目前,现有的检测需要几天甚至几周的时间,因为需要把它们送到外部实验室。

相反,澳大利亚的测试Cellmid将市场由一个小装置,只需要10毫升的病人血清或血浆、全血或20毫升,装载到一个容器,与一个包括缓冲区,然后与病毒混合蛋白质片段和迁移沿着固定的设备区域捕获抗体。

如果存在特定于病毒的IgG或IgM,就会形成偶联物,并在几分钟内在设备上显示为一个独特的红色带。

大多数其他可用的COVID-19检测方法使用PCR技术来检测病毒RNA,这需要熟练的技术人员,需要几个小时才能产生结果,而且受限于特定实验室设备的可用性。

在疗效和验证方面,Cellmid引用了元丰首次完成的临床验证研究,该研究使用了596个临床样本,特定性为99.57%,敏感性为86.43%(感染第3天),敏感性为95%(感染第5天)。

“基于金标准PCR的检测与该设备的交叉比较显示了94.93%的一致性,证明该设备被定位为一个优秀的快速筛选工具,”Cellmid说。

技术验证研究表明,与主要的聚合酶链原体没有交叉反应,没有常见的生物混杂物和试剂盒之间的干扰,其足够的精确度为100%。

Cellmid首席执行官Maria Halasz说:“从那些很好地控制了冠状病毒感染的国家的经验来看,很明显,广泛的COVID19检测、隔离检测阳性的患者和早期治疗是控制感染传播的最佳方法,同时也挽救了生命和医疗资源。”

总体业务

除了专注于COVID -19的商业活动外,Cellmid还发布了一份运营更新,称其在澳大利亚和日本的消费者健康产品销售“在过去几周受到了中度影响”。

据Cellmid称,这家生命科学公司证实,在澳大利亚的销售额占其总销售额的23%左右,“直到2月底都表现良好”,然而,该公司备受期待的Priceline产品发布计划已被推迟,“将从4月开始影响销售”。

在日本,Cellmid的销售额占总销售额的68%,该公司表示,预计日本业务将在2020财年下半年实现预算,出口略有增长,而国内销售预期有所下降。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

Cellmid set to commercialise 15 minute diagnostic test for COVID-19

Cellmid rapid diagnostic test COVID-19 coronavirus CDY ASX
The COVID-19 rapid diagnostic test takes less than 15 minutes for a result and is CE Marked, TGA and NMPA approved.

Life sciences company Cellmid (ASX: CDY) is set to come out of its self-imposed trading halt on Monday with news that it will commercialise a rapid test capable of detecting coronavirus (COVID-19) within 15 minutes.

First developed in China by biotech company Guangzhou Wondfo Biotech, the diagnostic test is set to be used as a bedside point of care tool, in doctors’ surgeries, pathology labs and in remote sites administered by healthcare professionals.

In a statement late on Friday, Cellmid said it had signed a supply agreement for the rapid diagnostic test with the authorised distributor, Australia Applications, with Wondfo Biotech now set to mass manufacture the test and supply it to Australia, for which Cellmid will pay a fixed price for each test.

Cellmid declared that it had placed its first order, while authorised distributor Australia Applications had issued its first invoice to kick off the deal for an initial period of 1 year.

The COVID-19 rapid diagnostic test was fast-tracked as a point of care test by the Chinese NMPA on 24 February, received the CE mark on 5 March and obtained approval from the Australian TGA on 25 March this year.

In total, the test obtained certification in all three jurisdictions in just over 1 month as government response measures including relaxed administrative measures were implemented in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

According to Cellmid, the rapid diagnostic test is already used in several countries including the UK, Belgium, Spain and Germany.

Despite the test’s functionality, Cellmid said it has not entered into any agreement to sell the tests to customers yet but may enter into trade finance, vendor finance or prepayment arrangements with customers should it be required to fund larger purchases.

Rapid response

In a bid to counter the continual spread of COVID-19 globally, several medical technology companies set out to develop a test that could ultimately ease the strain on public health officials and provide a better understanding of past and present infection rates.

Wondfo’s COVID-19 rapid test is a small disposable kit that uses a “lateral flow colloidal gold-based detection” method against viral-specific IgG/IgM, delivering results “in no more than 15 minutes” and requiring only the most basic of laboratory equipment.

Currently, existing tests require several days or even weeks due to the need to send them to external laboratories.

On the contrary, the test Cellmid will market in Australia consists of a small device that requires only 10 microlitres of patient serum or plasma, or 20 microlitres of whole blood, to be loaded into a receptacle, alongside an included buffer, which then mixes with viral S protein fragments and migrates along the device to an area of immobilized capture antibodies.

If virus-specific IgG or IgM is present, conjugates are formed, which show up as a distinctive red band on the device within minutes.

Most other available COVID-19 detection methods make use of PCR technology to detect viral RNA which requires skilled technicians, takes several hours to produce a result and is limited in throughput by the availability of specific laboratory equipment.

In terms of efficacy and validation, Cellmid cited clinical validation studies first completed by Wondo that used 596 clinical samples and showing specificity of 99.57% and a sensitivity of 86.43% on day three and 95% on day five of infection.

“Cross comparison of gold standard PCR based testing with the device showed a 94.93% coincidence, proving that the device is positioned as an excellent rapid screening tool,” Cellmid said.

Technical validation studies have shown no cross-reactivity with major respiratory pathogens, no interference from common biological confounders and a kit to kit and intrasample precision of 100%.

“Learning from countries that managed the coronavirus infections well it is clear that widespread COVID-19 testing, isolation of those testing positive and early treatment are the best methods to control the spread of infection while saving lives and medical resources,” said Maria Halasz, chief executive officer of Cellmid.

Overarching business

Aside from its COVID-19-focused commercial activities, Cellmid published an operations update and said its consumer health product sales in Australia and Japan have been “moderately impacted over the past few weeks”.

The life sciences company confirmed that sales in Australia represent around 23% of its total which had “performed well until the end of February”, However, the company’s highly-anticipated product launch of Priceline planned for March has been delayed and “will start effecting sales from April”, according to Cellmid.

In Japan, Cellmid generates 68% of its total sales and said it expects Japanese operations to deliver on budget for the second half of the 2020 financial year, with slightly increased export and lower domestic sales expectations.