Carnarvon Energy再次取得巨大成功

Carnarvon Energy ASX CVN oil Dorado oilfield Timor Sea
随着Dorado油田的开发和Dorado海钻探工作的开展,Carnarvon Energy预计今年将是一个“转型年”。

遵循J. Paul Getty极端的财富一个公式“早起,工作到很晚,和惊人的石油”不再政治正确,但它可能工作在Carnarvon Energy (ASX: CVN)随着油价达到84美元一桶(每桶116美元),在12个月内增长了50%。

凭借对Getty石油公司的控制,Getty曾被评为世界首富。即便在投资建议方面,他也是出了名的节俭,因为很少有人能够或愿意直接参与石油勘探。

但是,对于那些认识到油气在未来许多年仍将是整体能源结构一部分的投资者来说,有一些正在进行的钻探项目承诺,如果它们实现Getty的第三条财富创造规则并开采石油,将获得快速回报。

Carnarvon公司于2018年年中与行业领军企业Santos (ASX: STO)合资,在西澳大利亚西北海岸发现了Dorado油田。当时,Carnarvon从一名可怕的便士跃升为股市明星,从0.14美元飙升至0.62美元的峰值,涨幅超过300%。

在Carnarvon油田被发现后,伴随着融资的兴奋,油价在2020年初暴跌至20美元/桶(期货交易价格更低),将其价格推至0.14美元/桶。

随着Carnarvon在多个目标上启动了繁忙的钻探计划,Dorado的最终投资决定也将临近,石油价格将比2018年发现时高出10美元/桶(14澳元/桶)。

重振布法罗油田

今年的第一口井已经在进行中,Carnarvon领导了一个项目,以恢复帝汶海被封存的布法罗油田。该油田最后一次开采是在2004年,用石油行业的术语来说,这可能会导致一个“阁楼油”油藏的消失。在当时,石油交易价格在35美元/桶(合48澳元/桶)左右,在主油柱上方的液体被认为是不经济的。

布法罗10号井是上月底开钻的,上周有报道称,该井的深度已达804米,目标水深在3200米至3300米之间,本月末或2月初应该就能到达。

珀斯股票经纪公司Euroz Hartleys称,由Carnarvon持有50%股权的布法罗是“一个材料井”,由于水深较浅(30米),开发起来应该很容易,而且可以产生比Dorado更高的内部投资回报率。

也许最重要的是,在布法罗的成功将使Carnarvon从探险家晋升为制片人,这可能是为更大的(桑托斯领导的)多拉多项目做有益的热身,该项目于去年6月启动了最终投资决定(FID)程序,预计将于明年6月获得正式批准,并于2026年初投产。

在Dorado油田开发之前,Carnarvon将对周边地区的地质情况和石油生产潜力有更深入的了解。

在未来几周布法罗10号正在钻探的同时,Carnarvon将开钻位于多拉多以东42公里的Pavo 1号井,根据桌面分析,该油藏的潜在产量为8200万桶液体和1080亿立方英尺天然气——这一估计只有应用Getty的第三条财富创造格言:钻探才能得到证实(无论如何)。

Pavo预计将花费两个月时间到达目标深度,合同中的Noble Tom Prosser钻井平台将移动到Apus目标西南方向约20公里处。

2022年可能是变革的一年

Carnarvon的管理层将2022年描述为“转型之年”,原因是拥有20%股权的Dorado油田(80%的Santos油田)获得了开发许可,以及Dorado附近和帝汶海更北部的多个钻井项目。

在市场上,Carnarvon公司的股价自2020年初跌至0.14澳元以来一直在稳步回升,最后一次交易价为0.35澳元,在过去四个月里上涨了40%,最新估值为5.47亿澳元。

Euroz认为,Carnarvon的股价可能会进一步上涨,其最新研究显示该股为“买入”股,目标价为0.80澳元。

投资者重新发现Carnarvon油田的触发点包括布法罗油田(Buffalo)的钻探。鉴于该油田在2004年停产时的日产量仍为4000桶,布法罗油田的钻探应能在未来几周内达到目标,发现石油的可能性很高。

其他观点包括Pavo井,Euroz认为这是一个“高影响”的项目,因为它靠近Dorado的发现,Apus后续井也在Dorado附近,以及由于强劲的需求和挤压的供应,油价一直在走高。一些分析师将100美元/桶(约合138澳元/桶)的价格重新纳入了考虑范围。

石油和天然气可能不符合所有投资者的口味,但不可避免的现实是,它可以带来可观的回报,并在钻探和发现新闻方面带来令人惊讶的股价波动——就像四年前发生在卡纳文的情况一样,今年可能会重演。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Carnarvon Energy returns to the scene of its big success

Carnarvon Energy ASX CVN oil Dorado oilfield Timor Sea
Carnarvon Energy expects a “transformation year” as its Dorado oilfield gets closer to development and drilling gets underway in the Timor Sea.

It’s no longer politically correct to follow the advice of the late J. Paul Getty who attributed his extreme wealth to a formula of “rising early, working late, and striking oil”, but it might work in the case of Carnarvon Energy (ASX: CVN) as the oil price hits US$84 barrel (A$116/bbl), up 50% in 12 months.

Getty, once ranked as the world’s richest man thanks his control of the Getty Oil Company was also famously frugal even with investment advice because few people can become directly involved in oil exploration – or want to.

But, for investors who recognise that oil and gas will remain part of the overall energy mix for many years to come, there are ongoing drilling programs which promise rapid returns if they achieve Getty’s third wealth creation rule and strike oil.

Carnarvon did that in mid-2018 when it discovered the Dorado oilfield off the north-west coast of Western Australia in a joint venture with sector leader Santos (ASX: STO). At the time, Carnarvon was elevated from the status of penny dreadful to stock market star, rocketing up by more than 300% from $0.14 to a peak of $0.62.

A price slide followed the excitement of discovery with capital raisings and a collapse in the oil price in early 2020 to as low as US$20/bbl (and less in futures trading) knocking Carnarvon back to its pre-discovery price of $0.14.

History might be repeating as Carnarvon launches a busy drilling program on multiple targets, a final investment decision gets closer for Dorado, and oil sells for $US10/bbl (A$14/bbl) more than it did at the time of the 2018 discovery.

Resurrecting the Buffalo oilfield

The first well of the year is already underway with Carnarvon leading a project to resurrect the mothballed Buffalo oilfield in the Timor Sea. The oilfield last produced in 2004 potentially leaving, in oil industry jargon, a reservoir of “attic oil”, liquids above the main oil column deemed uneconomic at the time – when oil was trading around US$35/bbl (A$48/bbl).

The Buffalo No.10 well was spudded late last month and reported last week to have reached a depth of 804 metres on its way to a target of between 3,200m and 3,300m, which should be reached late this month or early February.

Perth stockbroking firm Euroz Hartleys describes Buffalo, which is 50% owned by Carnarvon, as “a material well” which should be easy to develop because of its shallow water depth (30m) and could generate a higher internal rate of investment return than Dorado.

Perhaps most importantly, success at Buffalo would elevate Carnarvon from the ranks of explorer to producer in what could be a useful warm-up for the bigger (and Santos led) Dorado project, which started a final investment decision (FID) process last June and is expected to win a formal go-ahead decision by next June with first production in early 2026.

Long before Dorado proceeds, Carnarvon will know a lot more about the geology and oil production potential of the surrounding tenement as a round of drilling gets underway to see if Dorado could be more than a solitary oilfield.

At the same time that Buffalo No.10 is drilling over the next few weeks, Carnarvon will spud the Pavo No.1 well located 42km east of Dorado, in 88m of water with desktop analysis indicating the potential for a reservoir capable of yielding 82 million barrels of liquids and 108 billion cubic feet of gas – an estimate that can only be proven (one way or the other) by applying Getty’s third wealth creation maxim: drill.

After Pavo, which is expected to take two months to reach its target depth, the contracted drilling rig Noble Tom Prosser is scheduled to move to the Apus target about 20km to the south-west.

2022 could be a year of transformation

Carnarvon management describes 2022 as a “transformation year” thanks to the progress being made on bringing the 20%-owned Dorado field (80% Santos) to the point of development approval and the multiple drilling programs close to Dorado and further north in the Timor Sea.

On the market, Carnarvon shares have been steadily recovering since their plunge to $0.14 in early 2020, last trading at $0.35, up 40% over the last four months, with the latest price valuing the company at $547 million.

Euroz reckons Carnarvon could rise a lot further with its latest research tipping the stock as a “buy” with a price target of $0.80.

The trigger points for Carnarvon to be rediscovered by investors include drilling at Buffalo, which should reach its target in the next few weeks with a high probability of hitting oil given that the field was still producing at 4,000bbls a day when suspended in 2004.

Other points include the Pavo well, which Euroz believes is a “high impact” project given its close proximity to the Dorado discovery, the Apus follow-up well also near Dorado, and the oil price which has been moving higher as a combination of strong demand and squeezed supply, putting US$100/bbl (A$138/bbl) back on the radar screens of some analysts.

Oil and gas might not be to the taste of every investor but there’s no avoiding the reality that it can deliver handsome rewards and surprise share price moves on drilling and discovery news – as happened with Carnarvon four years ago and which might be replicated this year.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.