特斯拉1000%的增长还能重复吗?

Tesla rise share price ASX DRIV IPAY
随着BetaShares Future of Payments ETF (ASX: IPAY)的推出,澳大利亚投资者可以投资特斯拉、电动汽车市场和相关技术。

最令人难以置信的公司成长故事之一是特斯拉——这家电动汽车公司在仅仅11年的时间里就攀升到市值超过1万亿美元的水平,其价值超过了全球前9大汽车制造商的总和。

自2020年初以来,它甚至上涨了1000%以上,这绝对是令人难以置信的增长。

当你生产的汽车不到世界总量的1%时,要超越丰田和大众,就需要一种特殊的才能,但很明显,投资者乐于为技术和未来的回报而不是当前的销量买单。

现在,随着BetaShares Electric Vehicles and Future Mobility ETF (ASX: DRIV)的推出,当地有一种有趣的方式可以将技术与电动汽车结合起来。

不仅仅是汽车,还有很多技术

当地的ETF提供商表示,电动汽车销量预计将强劲增长,这只是有助于该ETF的趋势之一。

BetaShares表示:“向智能汽车的过渡可能会显著增加半导体和高科技零部件在汽车中的使用。”

当然,尽管特斯拉将成为ETF的基石股权,但它将包含多达50家公司,涵盖了澳大利亚股票市场上稀缺的许多领域——包括汽车技术,甚至包括Uber等技术驱动的拼车公司。

目前,DRIV举行的十大投资特斯拉,在美上市的中国电动汽车公司Nio Inc, Aptiv PLC,美国电子主动安全汽车零部件供应商总部设在爱尔兰,Uber Technologies Inc, Volkswagen, Volvo, 卡车Paccar和中国电动汽车企业BYD, Li Auto 和 Xpengg。

DRIV最多可以容纳50家公司,只要他们参与到未来的交通运输中。

大的全球传播

就国家敞口而言,该ETF目前投资于美国(44%)、中国(20.3%)、德国(10.4%)、爱尔兰(6%)、瑞典(5.8%)、日本(5%)、韩国(3.3%)、荷兰(3.2%)和法国(0.8%)。

一个类似的创新ETF刚刚推出,BetaShares Future of Payments ETF (ASX: IPAY),旨在向全球数字和移动支付创新前沿的公司提供投资组合。

移动支付即将腾飞

随着全球移动支付预计将从2019年的1.5万亿美元增长到2027年的12.1万亿美元,它将为全球支付领域创新的多达50家领先公司提供敞口,包括Visa, Mastercard, PayPal, Block 和 Affirm.。

像所有最近变得非常流行的主题ETF一样,重要的是要认识到,与覆盖非常广泛的指数的传统ETF不同,这些ETF更加集中,因此可以预期它们的波动性更大。

如果基金瞄准的特定大趋势进展顺利,这可能是一件好事。

然而,正如我们看到的,当中国打击本土科技公司时,这可能会对碰巧持有大量中国科技股的etf产生巨大的下行影响,即使美国或其他科技股仍走势良好。

这两种ETF的管理费都高于大盘指数基金——DRIV和IPAY的管理费均为0.67%——但如果它们想要捕捉的大趋势表现良好,这将是一个小代价。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Can Tesla’s 1,000% rise be repeated?

Tesla rise share price ASX DRIV IPAY
Australian investors can gain exposure to Tesla, the electric vehicle market and associated technology with the launch of BetaShares Electric Vehicles and Future Mobility ETF (ASX: DRIV).

One of the most incredible stories of company growth is Tesla – the electric car company that climbed to a market capitalisation of more than US$1 trillion in just 11 years and became worth more than all of the top nine carmakers in the world combined.

It has even risen more than 1,000% since the start of 2020, which is absolutely incredible growth.

It takes a special sort of talent to eclipse Toyota and Volkswagen when you are making fewer than 1% of the world’s cars, but it is obvious that investors are happy to pay for technology and future returns rather than current sales.

There is now an interesting local way to get onboard that combination of technology and the move to electric cars with the launch of BetaShares Electric Vehicles and Future Mobility ETF (ASX: DRIV).

Not just cars but lots of technology

The local ETF provider said that the projected strong growth in electric car sales was only one of the trends that should help this ETF.

“The transition to smarter vehicles is likely to significantly increase the use of semiconductors and high-tech componentry in cars,’’ said BetaShares.

Of course, while Tesla will be a cornerstone shareholding in the ETF, it will contain up to 50 companies which cover many areas that are scarce on the Australian share market – including automotive technology and even technology driven ride sharing companies such as Uber.

At the moment, the top 10 investments held by DRIV are Tesla, US-listed Chinese electric car company Nio Inc, Aptiv PLC, a US electronic active safety auto parts provider headquartered in Ireland, ride sharing company Uber Technologies Inc, Volkswagen, Volvo, truck company Paccar and Chinese electric car companies BYD, Li Auto and Xpeng.

DRIV can hold up to 50 companies as long as they are involved in the future of transportation.

Large global spread

In terms of country exposure, the ETF at the moment is invested in the US (44%), China (20.3%), Germany (10.4%), Ireland (6%), Sweden (5.8%), Japan (5%), South Korea (3.3%), Netherlands (3.2%) and France (0.8%).

A similarly innovative ETF that has just been launched, the BetaShares Future of Payments ETF (ASX: IPAY), aims to provide exposure to a portfolio of global companies at the forefront of innovation in digital and mobile payments.

Mobile payments set to fly

With global mobile payments anticipated to increase from US$1.5 trillion in 2019 to US$12.1 trillion by 2027, it will provide exposure to up to 50 of the leading companies innovating in the global payments sector, including Visa, Mastercard, PayPal, Block and Affirm.

Like all of the thematic ETFs which have become very popular of late, it is important to realise that unlike traditional ETFs that cover a very broad index, these ones are much more concentrated so they can be expected to be more volatile.

That can be a good thing if the particular megatrend the fund is targeting is going well.

However, as we saw when China cracked down on its local technology companies, that can have a dramatic downward effect on ETFs that happen to have a lot of Chinese technology shares, even if US or other technology shares are still going well.

Both of these ETFs have higher management fees than the broad index funds – 0.67% for both DRIV and IPAY – but if the megatrends they aim to capture perform well, that will be a small price to pay.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.