随着股市持续上涨,巴菲特继续持有股票和现金

Warren Buffett stocks shares cash 2021 Berkshire Hathaway investing
沃伦•巴菲特(Warren Buffett)似乎并不担心即将到来的市场调整。

想要从你的钱中获得2,800,000%的回报吗?

在Oracle of Omaha沃伦•巴菲特执掌Berkshire Hathaway的56年里,投资Berkshire Hathaway的股票能够带来惊人的回报,这是可能的。

这是每年20%的惊人平均回报率,是同期标准普尔500指数回报率的两倍——这种投资表现仅凭耐力和辉煌是不太可能重现的。

因此,随时关注巴菲特在做什么是值得的,尤其是在他将于8月30日迎来91岁生日之际,股市在非常不稳定的时期出现了令人难以置信的牛市。

虽然巴菲特在投资方面以其平易近人、言简意赅的慷慨大方而闻名,但他对自己在Berkshire的实际行动却要谨慎得多,他更愿意把自己的牌藏在心底,直到被迫披露公司投资组合的变化。

巴菲特放慢了回购步伐

有趣的是,这些最新披露的信息显示,巴菲特目前基本上是在观望时机——既没有努力购买任何他认为有价值的大公司,甚至也没有回购自己的股票,只用于回购60亿美元的股票。

这些都不足为奇,因为巴菲特的耐心是出了名的,因为能让Berkshire大起大落的有意义的收购并不是每天都有。

近年来大规模的战争基金的现金在巴菲特的处理——至少目前1440亿美元——已经拖住了回报,但有一些关键的时候在他的投资生涯中,现金是抓住机遇的关键所在。

回购Berkshire股票的速度放缓可能是在承认,在当前上涨的股价和Berkshire股票的流动性问题下,回购太多可能是一个代价高昂的错误。

巴菲特似乎并不担心股市即将出现回调

所有这些是否意味着巴菲特担心股市正在走高,他在为可能的回调做好准备?

或许吧,但Berkshire的其他行为看起来更像是一家乐于保持合理的充分投资的公司,尽管它拥有堆积如山的现金和借款潜力,随时准备迎接机遇的到来。

在6月份这个季度,Berkshire只卖出了11亿美元的股票,是过去三个季度中净卖出股票的最低水平。

这基本上是一家公司修剪花园的行为,而不是为末日做准备,这里那里修剪一下,但没有发生什么重大事情——特别是与去年COVID-19调整期间他匆忙出售航空公司股票相比。

Berkshire的业务表现非常强劲

Berkshire Hathaway持有大量的美国企业现在如此之大,他们倾向于执行像一个代表美国经济,这是在最新的季度利润上涨21%,至67亿美元,受强劲上涨的制造商,服务公司和零售商。

Berkshire Hathaway旗下的铁路公司BNSF公布了自Berkshire Hathaway收购以来创纪录的季度利润,得益于业务量的增长和生产率的提高,该公司的利润达到了15亿澳元。

不过,随着通货膨胀开始表现为住宅建筑材料和保险成本的上升,地平线上出现了一些乌云。

通货膨胀开始带来负面影响

随着经济重新开放,美国司机普遍重返道路,导致事故数量增加,导致承保利润下降70%,Berkshire的大型汽车保险公司Geico受到了打击。

不过,总的来说,从巴菲特的最新举动中,你可能会学到的投资经验是坚持下去,享受这段旅程,并保持大量现金,以便在出现机会时抓住机会。

这相当令人放心,因为股市每天都在刷新纪录,而且尽管出台了大量刺激措施,全球2019冠状病毒病(COVID-19)大流行仍引发了对经济增长的大量担忧。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Buffett hangs on to stocks and cash as share market continues rising

Warren Buffett stocks shares cash 2021 Berkshire Hathaway investing
Warren Buffett doesn’t appear to be worried about an imminent market correction.

Fancy earning a 2,800,000% return on your money?

It has been possible with that amazing return being what investing in Berkshire Hathaway shares gave over the 56 years it has been run by the Oracle of Omaha, Warren Buffett.

That is a stellar average of 20% a year or double the return of the S&P 500 over the same period – an investing performance that is unlikely to ever be repeated for sheer endurance and brilliance.

So, it pays to keep an eye on what Buffett is up to at any given time, especially during such an incredible bull run on the share market during very uncertain times as he approaches his 91st birthday on 30 August.

While Buffett is famously generous with his folksy and pithy words of wisdom about investment, he is much more circumspect about what he is actually up to at Berkshire, preferring to keep his cards very close to his chest until he is forced to disclose changes to the company’s portfolio.

Buffett marking time with buybacks slowing

Interestingly, those most recent disclosures show that Buffett is essentially marking time at the moment – neither moving hard to buy any big companies where he sees value or even to buy back his own stock, with just US$6 billion used for that purpose.

None of that is very surprising because Buffett is famously patient given the sort of meaningful purchases that could move the needle for Berkshire don’t come along every day.

In recent years the massive war chest of cash at Buffett’s disposal – at least US$144 billion at the moment – has acted as a drag on returns but there have been a few pivotal times during his investing career when that cash pile has turned out to be pivotal in grabbing opportunities.

The slowdown in buying back Berkshire shares is probably an admission that at the current elevated share prices and with liquidity in Berkshire shares an issue, buying back too much might be an expensive mistake.

Buffett doesn’t appear worried about an imminent correction

Does all of this mean that Buffett is worried that the share market is getting toppy and that he is keeping the powder dry for a potential correction?

Maybe but the rest of Berkshire’s actions look more like a company that is happy to stay reasonably fully invested, albeit with a mountain of cash and borrowing potential standing at the ready in case opportunity knocks.

During the June quarter, Berkshire sold just US$1.1 billion of stocks, the lowest net sales in the past three quarters.

That is basically the actions of a company pruning the garden rather than preparing for an apocalypse, with a little trim here and there but nothing major happening – particularly compared to his rushed sales of airline stocks during the COVID-19 correction last year.

Berkshire businesses performing very strongly

Berkshire’s holdings in a massive slice of US businesses are now so large that they tend to perform like a proxy for the US economy and that was the case in the latest quarter, with profit up 21% to US$6.7 billion, driven by strong gains from its manufacturers, service companies and retailers.

Berkshire’s railroad company, BNSF, reported a record quarterly profit since Berkshire bought it with earnings of $1.5 billion pushed along by rising volumes and better productivity.

There were a few storm clouds on the horizon though, with inflation starting to manifest as higher costs for materials in home building and also insurance.

Inflation starting to hurt

Berkshire’s big car insurance company Geico was hurt by the widespread return to the road by US drivers as the economy re-opened which increased the number of accidents, leading to a 70% slump in underwriting profits.

Overall, though, the investing lesson that you would probably take from looking at Buffett’s latest moves would be to hang on and enjoy the ride and keep lots of cash available for grabbing opportunities should the occasion arise.

Which is fairly reassuring with regular share market records being set daily and the COVID-19 pandemic globally still causing plenty of worries about economic growth, despite massive amounts of stimulus.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.