Breaker Resources担心黄金中含有锂

Breaker Resources ASX BRB lithium gold Manna
Breaker Resources的Manna锂矿发现并不是第一次分散了勘探人员对黄金资产的注意力。

黄金保留其作为金属吸引最大的勘探预算,但是这些天最好的股市表现很难击败锂,这就是为什么Breaker Resources (ASX: BRB),股票在两个阵营,可能是值得一看的基础上可以重复历史。

在过去的一个月里,Breaker的表现并不令人鼓舞,股价从0.42澳元跌至0.33澳元,跌幅达21%。Breaker的资产基础与早期的金矿勘探公司一样,在锂矿的兴趣获得更多认可后,它们开始蓬勃发展。

Breaker是否可以效仿过去gold-to-lithium设定的成功故事Kidman Resources,Pilbara Minerals (ASX: PLS) 和 Liontown Resources (ASX: LTR), ,仍有待观察,但地质证据越来越强,即使管理似乎不能确定哪个方向转。

Manna锂的发现“分散了”Breaker的注意力

上周,Breaker对其Lake Roe黄金项目中发现的Manna Lithium进行了更新,该项目位于西澳大利亚黄金之都卡尔古利(Kalgoorlie)以东约100公里。

Breaker的首席执行官Tom Sanders并没有在屋顶上大声宣称,最近在Manna的钻井取得了令人鼓舞的结果,比如38米深的17米含1.54%的氧化锂,而是暗示这次发现可能会让人“分心”。

Sanders在一份声明中表示:“有点讽刺的是,我们发现了一簇伟晶岩侵入体,其中有露头的锂辉石和其他与锂相关的重大异常,同时我们努力不让自己的注意力从邦博拉的一个重大金矿发现上转移,这是我们的核心重点。”

对这一说法的一种解释是,Breaker更有可能剥离或出售锂矿,而不是开发它。在该公司上月的年会上,Manna被列为“非核心”锂矿。

对投资者来说,开发或剥离甘纳的选择无论如何都是一种胜利,因为此前黄金转化为锂的情况已经演变,尽管坚持复制价值10亿澳元的锂矿富矿也一定会吸引一些股东。

早期锂矿的发现阻碍了金矿勘探

两年前,Kidman Resources以0.30澳元的价格被Wesfarmers (ASX: WES)以每股1.9澳元的价格收购,交易价值7.76亿澳元,这是三大“金-锂交易日”中的第一天,当时该公司的股价约为0.30澳元。

Kidman在西澳大利亚州Mt Holland发现的Earl Grey锂矿,是富含锂伟晶岩(一种地质侵入)的早期例子,“分散”了有决心的黄金勘探者的注意力——直到一场锂资产的争夺,很容易就超过了该公司的黄金。

Pilbara Minerals有着曲折的历史,先是在Papua New Guinea开采黄金,然后在西澳西北部开采钽矿。最终,在最初被称为Pilgangoora钽矿矿区,Pilbara Minerals被高品质的锂矿击败。

开始走错了路,去年锂价格下跌时,Pilbara已经冲进了前150家公司在澳交所,目前排名第76位的市场价值77亿澳元,股票售价0.15澳元的了不起的成就仅仅18个月前,现在交易于2.58澳元——增长了1600%。

Liontown是第三个成功实现金-锂转化的故事,在发现西瓦州Kathleen Valley锂矿之前,它就对坦桑尼亚的金矿勘探产生了早期兴趣,这一发现将Liontown从两年前每股0.02澳元的天价股票,提升为1.92澳元的公司,市值37亿澳元,在150强中排名第122位。

今天,投资者和银行都在争先夺后地想从Liontown中分得一杯羹。Liontown昨天筹集了4.5亿澳元,为其将成为世界级锂项目的第一阶段提供资金。

正是在这样的背景下,公司用黄金换锂,并在这个过程中为投资者赚取丰厚利润,Breaker正在考虑如何处理一个潜在的高价值锂矿发现的“分心”,这似乎打乱了它成为一家金矿公司的计划。

Manna后续钻井计划

Sanders本周不在办公室,但他在上周的声明中表示,最新钻井计划的目标已经实现,“每个孔都成功地与含锂伟晶岩相交”。

“锂辉石矿化的所有区域沿走向和深度都是开放的,该发现仍缺乏测试。”

Manna发现的本质似乎是一系列堆叠伟晶岩堤坝130米宽的区域上的风化几乎没有迹象显示,公司表示,“有利配置露天采矿与初步测试工作指示可能产生一个高档低杂质浓缩锂辉石”。

他说:“在Manna的含锂伟晶岩似乎是一组深层地壳断层的一部分,其中有分馏的伟晶岩侵入。”

Sanders表示,Manna需要进行更多的工作,下一轮的钻井计划正在进行中。

及时回顾揭示了类似的评论管理Kidman, Pilbara 和 Liontown第一富锂伟晶岩中钻出,虽然它也可以表示,早期的厚度与基德曼的热潮达到更高的测量93米厚的年级1.53%的锂,锂8 m的核心为2.33%。

在黄金项目即将做出开发决策(随着金价回落),而锂矿发现正逐渐发展成具有重大价值的东西(随着锂矿价格上涨)的这个阶段,Breaker董事会会议桌上的辩论一定很有趣。

金重板

Breaker的董事会是“黄金重”由职业硬岩矿工Peter Cook担任董事长,由其他董事与黄金背景和三大美国股东分享偏见——银金矿与10%的股权战略机遇,Paulson & Co也10%,富兰克林邓普顿为6%。

正是这种管理和所有权结构使得Manna得以上市,在该公司推进140万盎司(还在增长)的Bombora黄金项目的同时,该公司目前的股东有机会搭乘锂矿热潮的顺风车。

在最新0.33澳元的股价下,Breaker的资本化只有1.04亿澳元,对于一个拥有已探明的黄金和锂味道的樱桃的股票来说,这并不算高。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Breaker Resources bothered by lithium in its gold

Breaker Resources ASX BRB lithium gold Manna
Breaker Resources’ Manna discovery is not the first time lithium has distracted explorers’ focus from their gold assets.

Gold retains its status as the metal attracting the biggest exploration budgets, but for the best stock market performance these days it’s hard to beat lithium, which is why Breaker Resources (ASX: BRB), a stock with a foot in both camps, could be worth a look on the basis that history can repeat.

Not an inspiring performer over the past month with its share price down 21% from $0.42 to $0.33, Breaker has an asset base with the same hallmarks as earlier gold explorers which blossomed after their lithium interests won greater recognition.

Whether Breaker can follow the lead set by past gold-to-lithium success stories such as Kidman Resources, Pilbara Minerals (ASX: PLS) and Liontown Resources (ASX: LTR), remains to be seen but the geological evidence is getting stronger – even if management appears to be uncertain about which way to turn.

Manna lithium discovery a ‘distraction’ from Breaker’s gold focus

The internal ambiguity was evident in last week’s update by Breaker on its Manna lithium discovery which lies inside the company’s Lake Roe gold project about 100km east of Western Australia’s gold capital, Kalgoorlie.

Rather than shout from the roof tops that the latest drilling at Manna had returned highly encouraging results such as 17 metres at 1.54% lithium oxide from a 38m depth, Breaker chief executive officer Tom Sanders implied that the discovery might become a “distraction”.

“It’s a bit ironic that we have discovered a cluster of pegmatite intrusions with outcropping spodumene and other significant lithium-related anomalies while trying to not distract ourselves from a major gold discovery at Bombora, our core focus,” Mr Sanders said in a statement.

One interpretation of that comment, and the fact that Manna was listed in a presentation at the company’s annual meeting last month as “non-core”, is that Breaker is more likely to spin-off or sell the lithium discovery than develop it.

For investors, the development or spin-off options for Manna should be a win either way as previous gold-to-lithium situations have evolved, though hanging on to replicate a billion-dollar lithium bonanza must also be appealing to some shareholders.

Earlier examples of lithium discoveries getting in way of gold exploration

Two years ago, the first of three big gold-to-lithium pay days hit the headlines when Kidman Resources, trading then at around $0.30, was acquired by Wesfarmers (ASX: WES) at $1.90 a share in a deal valued at $776 million.

Kidman’s discovery of the Earl Grey lithium deposit at Mt Holland in WA was an early example of lithium-rich pegmatites (a type of geological intrusion) “distracting” a determined gold explorer from its focus – until a scramble developed for lithium assets which easily outvalued the company’s gold.

Pilbara Minerals, with a checkered history chasing gold in Papua New Guinea and then tantalum in the north-west of WA, was eventually bowled over by the high grades of lithium in what was originally known as the Pilgangoora tantalum prospect.

After a false start when the lithium price tanked last year, Pilbara has stormed up into the top 150 companies on the ASX, currently ranked at 76th with a market value of $7.7 billion, a remarkable achievement for a stock priced at $0.15 just 18 months ago and to now be trading at $2.58 – a 1,600% rise.

Liontown is the third gold-to-lithium success story with an early interest in Tanzanian gold exploration before hitting on the Kathleen Valley lithium deposit in WA, a discovery which elevated Liontown from the ranks of penny dreadfuls when it was a $0.02 stock just two years ago to a company trading at $1.92 with a market value of $3.7 billion and 122nd spot on the top 150.

Investors and banks are today falling over themselves to get a slice of Liontown, which yesterday raised a handy $450 million to fund the first stages of what will become a world-class lithium project.

It’s with that background of companies swapping gold for lithium, and making fat profits for investors in the process, that Breaker is mulling what to do with the “distraction” of a potentially high-value lithium discovery which seems to be messing up its plans to become a gold miner.

Manna follow-up drilling planned

Mr Sanders was out of the office this week but said in last week’s statement that the objectives of the latest drilling program had been achieved with “every hole successfully intersecting spodumene-bearing (lithium) pegmatite.”

“All areas of spodumene mineralisation are open along strike and at depth, and the discovery remains sparsely tested.”

The nature of the Manna discovery appears to be a series of stacked pegmatite dykes over a 130m wide zone which the company said shows little sign of weathering and in a “favorable configuration for open pit mining with preliminary test work indicating the potential to produce a high-grade low impurity spodumene concentrate”.

“The lithium-bearing pegmatite at Manna appears to be part of a cluster of deep-seated crustal faulting into which fractionated pegmatites have intruded,” he said.

Mr Sanders said more work is required at Manna and planning is underway for the next round of drilling.

A look back in time reveals similar comments by management at Kidman, Pilbara and Liontown when they first drilled into lithium-rich pegmatites, though it can also be said that the early thicknesses were higher with Kidman’s bonanza hit measuring 93m thick at a grade of 1.53% lithium, with a core of 8m at 2.33% lithium.

The debate around the boardroom table at Breaker must be interesting at this stage of a gold project moving towards a development decision (as the gold price retreats) while a lithium discovery is being worked up into something of significant value (as the lithium price rises).

Gold heavy board

The board of Breaker is “gold heavy” led by career hard-rock miner Peter Cook as chairman, backed by other directors with gold backgrounds and three big US-based shareholders sharing the gold bias – Electrum Strategic Opportunities with a 10% stake, Paulson & Co also on 10%, and Franklin Templeton at 6%.

It’s that management and ownership structure which points to Manna being floated off, providing current Breaker shareholders with a chance to ride the lithium boom while the company pushes ahead with the 1.4-million-ounce (and growing) Bombora gold project.

At its latest share price of $0.33, Breaker is capitalised at a lowly $104 million, modest for a stock with proven gold in the ground and a lithium-flavoured cherry on top.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.