随着机构“货币墙”开始购买,比特币成为主流

Bitcoin mainstream institutional wall of money buying Raoul Pal
央行随意的货币政策,正将投资者的注意力转向加密货币,以避免法定货币贬值。

在加密货币的交割时刻,机构投资者正转向比特币,将其作为对冲正在贬值的法定货币的工具。

世界杰出加密货币有望达到100万美元(140万澳元)每枚硬币在未来五年内由于墙上的机构资金寻求利用比特币升值——这就是高盛前对冲基金经理的判决Raoul Pal,建立金融新闻平台Real Vision。

比特币的价格从2012年末的约13美元(12澳元)迅速上涨到2017年的2万美元(2.5万澳元),然后在2019年暴跌至3000美元(4500澳元)。

Bitcoin price chart October 2020
以美元计算的比特币价格图表。

这种波动导致许多市场参与者宣布加密货币是一种不合适的资产,风险太大,不能被视为一种重要的长期投资。

然而,随着机构基金经理从完全不同的角度看待比特币,情况正在迅速发生变化。

比特币的魅力

Pal表示,重量级机构投资者现在正盯上比特币,将其作为长期投资和投资组合配置的重要工具。

本月早些时候,Pal透露,他的投资组合中比特币的持有量现在“超过50%”,之前是在美元、黄金、股票和比特币之间平均分配的。

Pal还淡化了比特币相对于其他资产缺乏流动性所带来的明显下行风险,他指出,比特币的上行“要比潜在下行大得多”。

他说:“就我从所有机构和我交谈过的人那里了解到的,有一堵巨大的资金墙正在流入这个领域。”

“这是一堵巨大的资金墙,只是管道还不允许人们这样做,而这即将到来。”但它已经出现在每个人的雷达屏幕上,有很多聪明的人在研究它,”Pal表示。

在这位前高盛对冲基金经理看来,越来越多的公司正将现金储备转换成比特币,而不是持有明显较弱或较不安全的资产,因为央行行长们拼命花钱以摆脱困境,他们正在贬值法定货币,以对冲这些货币的贬值。

传奇的亿万富翁投资者Paul Tudor Jones一直在买入比特币期货,以对冲央行推动的通胀。Tudor Investment Group首席执行官表示,与黄金等其他资产相比,比特币是“比赛中跑得最快的马”。

微观战略引领了这一领域

在纳斯达克上市的商业智能公司MicroStrategy目前持有38250枚比特币,这一惊人的加密数据价值约4.68亿美元(6.62亿澳元)。

就在上个月,该公司完成了对比特币的第二次大规模收购,以约1.75亿美元(约合2.45亿澳元)购买了近1.7万枚比特币,其总持有量达到近4万枚。

在2020年9月11日的监管文件中,该公司披露其董事会已经采取了一项新的国库储备政策,“更新了公司的国库管理和资本配置策略。”

根据新政策,公司的国库储备将包括两种资产:第一种是现金和短期投资,由公司持有,超出营运资金需求。

第二类是由公司持有的比特币,该加密货币作为“持续的主要国库储备资产”,根据市场情况和企业对现金资产的预期需求,包括未来潜在的股票回购活动。

具有讽刺意味的是,2013年,MicroStrategy的首席执行官Michael Saylor在一条现在很有名的推特上说:“比特币的日子屈指屈指了。这似乎只是一个时间问题,它将遭受与在线赌博同样的命运。”

在上周发布的一条推文中,Saylor称比特币是“一种资产,而不是一种商品”。

“大宗商品充足,应该进行交易。资产稀缺,应该被拥有。纯粹的货币能源是美国财政部理想的储备资产,而且历史上第一次,我们现在可以拥有一些。

Saylor在另一条推文中表示:“在这个充满挑战的时代,比特币对数十亿需要经济赋权工具的人来说代表着希望。”

推特、现金应用和Square创始Jack Dorsey支持比特币

还有其他一些比特币的支持者,准备将他们投资组合中的大部分投资于这种加密货币。2020年10月7日,美国商户服务聚合商Square Inc以5000万美元(7000万澳元)的总价购买了4709枚比特币。

Square自2018年以来一直通过其Cash应用产品在加密领域与比特币合作,这是一种让客户安全地买卖比特币的手段。

该公司宣布:“为了保持交易隐私和执行时的价格下滑,财政部通过一家比特币流动性供应商在场外购买了比特币,我们目前使用这家供应商作为Cash App比特币交易产品的一部分。”

“我们在一个公开的比特币指数上协商了一个价差,并在预定的24小时内使用时间加权平均价格(TWAP)执行交易,在低预期价格波动和高市场流动性的情况下,以降低与成本和定价相关的风险。”

在澳大利亚上市的DigitalX (ASX: DCC)执行董事Leigh Travers用Small Caps证实,该公司账簿上持有431个比特币。

此外,PayPal宣布,它将允许客户在其在线钱包中持有比特币和其他虚拟货币,并在其网络上的2600万商家使用加密货币购物。

在全球范围内有超过3.46亿活跃PayPal账户,比特币将被全球采用。

比特币死灰复燃

今年到目前为止,比特币的价格受到疫情的影响,投资者纷纷抛售头寸,寻找更安全的资产。由于政府限制和检疫措施对经济的影响,投资者对硬币的价格在5000美元(8000澳元)和12000美元(17000澳元)之间波动。

Pal表示,全球经济目前正从“希望阶段”进入“破产阶段”,因为投资者开始接受这样一种前景:即最终从疫情中复苏所需的时间要比预期的长得多。

在2020年2月疫情首次出现时,市场参与者基本上不认为该疾病的影响是对国内和国际业务的短期影响。

然而,尽管大多数国家已在很大程度上控制住了疫情,但所有国家仍存在严格的限制,而经济强劲复苏的希望正寄托在即将实施的疫苗接种计划上,该计划将于明年推出。

Pal表示:“经济复苏的时间不会比我们预期的长太多。”“目前没有任何刺激措施,欧洲、美国和其他地方还会出现更多问题。”

“企业没有足够的现金流。他们正成群结队地逼近。这就是我所说的‘破产阶段’。”他补充道。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.

Bitcoin goes mainstream as institutional ‘wall of money’ begins buying

Bitcoin mainstream institutional wall of money buying Raoul Pal
Haphazard central bank monetary policy is casting investor attention towards cryptocurrencies to avoid fiat currency devaluation.

In a moment of deliverance for cryptocurrencies, institutional investors are turning to Bitcoin as a hedge against fiat currencies that are losing value.

The world’s preeminent cryptocurrency is on track to hit US$1 million (A$1.4 million) per coin in the next five years as a result of a wall of institutional money looking to tap into Bitcoin appreciation – that’s the verdict from former Goldman Sachs hedge fund manager Raoul Pal, the man who founded financial news platform Real Vision.

Bitcoin prices have quickly grown from around US$13 (A$12) per coin in late 2012 to as high as US$20,000 (A$25,000) in 2017, before collapsing to as low as US$3,000 (A$4,500) in 2019.

Bitcoin price chart October 2020
Bitcoin price chart in US dollars.

The volatile gyrations have led many market participants to declare the cryptocurrency as an unsuitable asset and far too risky to be considered as a significant long-term investment.

However, things are quickly changing with institutional fund managers seeing Bitcoin in a completely different light.

Bitcoin allure

According to Mr Pal, heavy-hitting institutional investors are now eyeing up Bitcoin as a serious vehicle for long-term investment and portfolio allocation.

Earlier this month, Mr Pal revealed Bitcoin holdings in his portfolio were now “above 50%”, having previously been equally distributed between United States dollars, gold, equities, and Bitcoin.

Mr Pal also downplayed the obvious downside risk presented by Bitcoin’s comparative lack of liquidity to other assets by pointing out that the upside is “so much bigger” than the potential downside.

“Just from what I know from all of the institutions, all of the people I speak to, there is an enormous wall of money coming into this,” he said.

“It’s an enormous wall of money, just the pipes aren’t there to allow people to do it yet, and that’s coming. But it’s on everybody’s radar screen, and there’s a lot of smart people working on it,” Mr Pal said.

In the view of the former Goldman hedge fund manager, a growing number of companies are moving their cash reserves into Bitcoin instead of holding perceivably weaker or less secure assets, as a hedge against fiat currencies being devalued by central bankers desperate to spend their way out of trouble.

Legendary billionaire investor Paul Tudor Jones has been buying bitcoin futures to hedge against central bank-fuelled inflation. The chief executive officer of Tudor Investment Group called bitcoin “the fastest horse in the race”, when compared to other assets such as gold.

MicroStrategy leading the field

NASDAQ-listed business intelligence company MicroStrategy currently holds 38,250 Bitcoins – a staggering crypto haul worth about US$468 million (A$662 million).

Just last month, the company completed its second large acquisition of the cryptocurrency, purchasing almost 17,000 coins for around US$175 million (A$245 million) and taking its total holding to almost 40,000.

In a regulatory filing on 11 September 2020, the company revealed its board of directors had adopted a new treasury reserve policy that “updated the company’s treasury management and capital allocation strategies.”

Under its new policy, the company’s treasury reserve will consist of two types of assets: the first type comprises cash and short-term investments, held by the company that exceed working capital needs.

The second type consists of Bitcoin held by the company, with the cryptocurrency serving as the “primary treasury reserve asset on an ongoing basis”, subject to market conditions and anticipated needs of the business for cash assets, including future potential share repurchase activity.

The irony is that in 2013, in a now-famous tweet, MicroStrategy chief executive officer Michael Saylor exclaimed: “Bitcoin days are numbered. It seems like just a matter of time before it suffers the same fate as online gambling.”

In a tweet posted this past week, Mr Saylor called Bitcoin “an asset, not a commodity”.

“Commodities are abundant and should be traded. Assets are scarce and should be owned. Pure monetary energy is the ideal treasury reserve asset, and for the first time in history, we can now own some,” he said.

“In these challenging times, Bitcoin represents hope to billions of people in need of an instrument of economic empowerment,” Mr Saylor said in a separate tweet.

Twitter, Cash App and Square founder Jack Dorsey backs Bitcoin

There have also been other Bitcoin proponents, prepared to commit large chunks of their portfolio to the cryptocurrency. On 7 October 2020, US merchant services aggregator Square Inc purchased 4,709 Bitcoins at an aggregate purchase price of US$50 million (A$70 million).

Square has been working with Bitcoins in the crypto space since 2018 through its Cash App product, a means for customers to buy and sell Bitcoin securely.

“To maintain transaction privacy and price slippage on execution, Treasury purchased the Bitcoin over-the-counter with a Bitcoin liquidity provider that we currently use as part of Cash App’s Bitcoin trading product,” the company announced.

“We negotiated a spread on top of a public Bitcoin index and executed trades using a time-weighted average price (TWAP) over a predetermined 24-hour period with low expected price volatility and high market liquidity, to reduce risks associated with cost and pricing”.

Closer to home, ASX-listed DigitalX (ASX: DCC) executive director Leigh Travers confirmed with Small Caps that the company holds 431 Bitcoin on its books.

In addition, PayPal announced it will allow customers to hold bitcoin and other virtual coins in its online wallet and shop using cryptocurrencies at the 26 million merchants on its network.

With over 346 million active PayPal accounts worldwide, Bitcoin is set for global adoption.

Bitcoin resurgence

So far this year, the Bitcoin price has been undermined by the COVID-19 pandemic with investors liquidating their positions in search of safer assets. Prices have gyrated between US$5,000 (A$8,000) and US$12,000 (A$17,000) per coin as investors were skittled by the economic impacts of government restrictions and quarantine measures.

According to Mr Pal, the global economy is now moving from the “hope phase” to the “insolvency phase” as investors come to terms with the prospect of an eventual recovery from the pandemic taking much longer than anticipated.

At the time the pandemic had extended into global territories in February 2020, market participants largely discounted the effects of the disease as a short-term effect upon domestic and international business.

However, despite COVID-19 being brought largely under control in most countries, severe restrictions remain in all countries while hopes of strong economic recoveries are being pinned on impending vaccination programs, set to be rolled out next year.

“The economy’s not going to recover for a lot longer than we expect,” Mr Pal said.

“There’s no stimulus around, and we’ve got more problems to come in Europe, the US, and elsewhere.”

”Businesses don’t have enough cash flow. They’re closing in droves. And that’s what I called the ‘insolvency phase’,” he added.

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.