银行与快速增长的金融科技发生冲突

Banks fintech Afterpay Square Commonwealth Bank Westpac digital wallet
拟议中的Afterpay/Square合并突显出金融科技相对于传统银行的竞争优势,传统银行受到繁文缛节的束缚。

若说Afterpay (ASX: APT)与Square (NYSE: SQ) 390亿澳元的合并有什么值得关注的地方,那就是老牌银行与新兴金融公司之间的对比。

尽管银行喜欢假装自己很时髦,并通过一些奇怪的“应用程序广告”与同行们合作,但现实是,它们植根于过去的原因有很多。

其中一个非常重要的是广泛的监管,包括大量的规则手册,涵盖诸如资本比率等内容,旨在防止银行在金融风暴的第一个迹象出现时突然崩溃。

这使得银行成为一个非常安全、有政府担保的存放资金的地方,也是一个借钱的好地方,前提是他们会给你贷款。

监管让银行讨厌

然而,所有这些规则使得银行在处理问题时过于保守,令人恼火——只要问问那些需要跨越重重障碍才能获得有意义的信贷额度的小企业就知道了,尽管它们拥有强劲的现金流和盈利能力。

银行通常希望在贷款时拥有财产等安全保障,而金融科技公司更有可能使用最新的金融技术来简化贷款流程。

同样的技术可以使银行和借款人之间的利差更小,通过吸引存款人和借款人,可能降低成本,并减少银行的午餐。

虽然金融科技更有可能随着时间的推移慢慢进入信用卡、消费贷款、定期存款、抵押贷款和股票交易等各种银行市场,但Afterpay/Square的交易表明,清算的日子可能比预期要近得多。

银行也希望金融科技被繁文缛节包裹着

Commonwealth Bank (ASX: CBA)首席执行官Matt Comyn无疑非常积极地争取与新球员相匹配,或者用他每天处理的那种繁文缛节来阻挠他们。

这就是为什么他指责科技巨头苹果通过其在支付领域不断增长的市场力量扼杀竞争的原因。在这一领域,银行一直处于主导地位,直到像苹果这样的公司出现,并迅速在智能手机“点击即走”支付市场上建立了懒惰的80%的覆盖率。

正如科明所指出的,苹果对支付基础设施的成本没有贡献,也不是澳大利亚主要的企业纳税人,但这正是金融科技和科技公司的一般运作方式——使用智能技术,让现有基础设施更好、更快地运转。

流行病加速了数字银行的发展

随着疫情的迅速蔓延,数字钱包和Afterpay等“先买后付”(BNPL)产品的采用速度加快,威胁正以非常快的速度逼近,因此当科技公司越来越深入地嵌入客户的金融生活时,银行无法坐视不管。

正因为如此,Square和Afterpay的合并对银行构成了如此紧迫的威胁。合并后的BNPL是一家增长迅速、全球业务不断扩大的先驱企业,其支付系统增长缓慢,但更贴近银行业务。

两家公司合并后,Square将在澳大利亚证交所上市,并可能继续将澳大利亚作为新创意的试验场,因此竞争将变得非常明显。

另一个数字颠覆的例子是,苹果正考虑在其Apple Pay服务中引入BNPL式的贷款——直接进入该行信用卡业务的一个领域。

PayPal也将成为BNPL领域的重要参与者。

数字钱包成为主要的支付解决方案

因此,科明正确地指出,苹果的任何系统都让它在一个非常流行的支付系统上拥有近乎垄断的权力,比如与数字钱包匹配的“触碰走(touch and go)”支付系统。

据他估计,数字钱包交易在过去一年中几乎翻了一番,并有望在今年年底成为最受欢迎的非接触式支付形式。

当然,Commonwealth并没有坐等被粉碎,它自己的BNPL产品将与其他合作伙伴一起发布,合作伙伴包括在线零售平台、一家能源零售商和一家电信公司,旨在进一步巩固CBA网络内的客户。

Westpac (ASX: WBC)采取了一种不同的方式,与Afterpay进行交易,这样BNPL就可以推出自己的银行账户产品,这些产品实际上将被Westpac贴上白色标签。

在Square交易完成后,这笔交易可能无法维持下去,而且也没有受到分析师的普遍欢迎,他们宁愿看到银行与客户发展关系,而不是将基础设施出租给快速崛起的竞争对手。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Banks clashing with fast growing fintechs

Banks fintech Afterpay Square Commonwealth Bank Westpac digital wallet
The proposed Afterpay/Square merger highlights the competitive advantage of fintechs over traditional banks tied down in red tape.

If there is one thing that the $39 billion merger between Afterpay (ASX: APT) and Square (NYSE: SQ) has brought into stark focus, it is the contrast between the established banks and the new financial players.

While banks like to pretend they are hip and getting down with the homies with the odd bit of “app-vertising’’, the reality is they are rooted in the past for many reasons.

One very important one is extensive regulation, with a massive rule book covering things such as capital ratios which are designed to stop the banks from suddenly collapsing at the first sign of financial storms.

That makes banks an incredibly safe, government-guaranteed place to store money and a good place to borrow money, assuming they will give you a loan.

Regulation makes banks annoying

However, all of those rules make banks annoyingly conservative to deal with – just ask any small business that needs to jump through lots of hoops just to get access to a meaningful line of credit, despite robust cash flow and profitability.

Banks often want security over something like property for lending while fintechs are more likely to use the latest financial technologies to streamline the lending process.

That same technology enables lenders and borrowers to be linked with smaller spreads between them, potentially reducing costs and cutting the bank’s lunch by appealing to both depositors and borrowers.

While fintechs are more likely to slowly make inroads over time into various bank markets such as credit cards, consumer lending, term deposits, mortgages and share trading, the Afterpay/Square deal shows that the day of reckoning might be much closer than expected.

Banks want fintech to be wrapped in red tape too

Commonwealth Bank (ASX: CBA) chief executive officer Matt Comyn is certainly being very aggressive in fighting to either match the new players or stymie them with the same sort of red tape that he deals with daily.

That is why he accused technology giant Apple of stifling competition through its growing market power in payments – an area the banks dominated until companies like Apple came along and quickly built up a lazy 80% coverage of the market for ‘tap and go’ payments on smartphones.

As Mr Comyn pointed out, Apple contributes nothing to the cost of payment infrastructure and is not a major corporate taxpayer in Australia but that is how fintechs and technology companies generally operate – using clever technology to make existing infrastructure work better and faster.

Pandemic speeding up digital banking

With the pandemic rapidly speeding up the adoption of digital wallets and buy now pay later (BNPL) products such as Afterpay, the threat is approaching very fast so the banks can ill afford to stand by while the technology companies embed themselves ever deeper into customer’s financial lives.

This is why the Square and Afterpay merger, which brings together a fast-growing BNPL pioneer with a growing global reach and a slower growing but more bank-lite payments system, is such an imminent threat to the banks.

After the companies merge, Square will be listed on the Australian exchange and is likely to continue to use Australia as a proving ground for new ideas so the competition will become very obvious.

Another example of the digital disruption in action is that Apple is looking at introducing BNPL style loans with its Apple Pay service – stepping squarely into an area that was part of the bank’s credit card operations.

PayPal will also be a significant player in the BNPL space.

Digital wallets becoming dominant payment solution

So Mr Comyn is right to call out any Apple system that gives it near-monopoly powers over a very popular payments system such as ‘touch and go’ matched with a digital wallet.

By his estimates, digital wallet transactions have nearly doubled their transaction numbers in the past year and are on track to become the most popular form of contactless payment by the end of the year.

Commonwealth hasn’t been standing still waiting to be smashed of course, with its own BNPL offering set to be released together with other partnerships with an online retail platform, an energy retailer and a telco firm designed to further cement customers within the CBA network.

Westpac (ASX: WBC) has engaged in a different way, doing a deal with Afterpay so that the BNPL player can launch its own bank account products that will effectively be white labelled by Westpac.

That deal may not survive in the wake of the Square deal and has not been universally welcomed by analysts, who would rather see the banks developing relationships with customers rather than renting out their infrastructure to the fast emerging competition.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.