Azure Minerals在Andover的发现开始令人兴奋

Azure Minerals ASX AZS Andover discovery nickel copper sulphide
在Azure Minerals的Andover项目进行钻井时,已经发现了多个巨大的镍铜硫化物交叉路口。

作为面向未来的金属组合,没有什么能比得上镍和铜,而正是这两种金属的组合,帮助Azure Minerals (ASX: AZS)的股价在过去一周上涨了66%。

更重要的是,该公司在西澳大利亚西北海岸卡拉塔(Karratha)附近的Andover镍铜项目的最新钻探消息表明,Azure将Andover从勘探前景提前提升至开发项目。

需要做更多的工作,Azure管理层目前还不能自信地谈论矿山计划,但从过去和现在的现场工作来看,有足够的证据可以预测,Andover将成为一座矿山,朝着这个方向迈出的第一步是首次进行矿产资源估计。

本周的新闻来自Andover包括钻路口厚厚的高达46.2米的矿化材料的深度528米,虽然化验已经推迟了10周,因为超载实验室、扫描岩心显示领域的高镍和铜的成绩。

由Andover的前运营商Mark Creasy进行的历史性钻探,包括从4300万份中检测出高达2.62%的镍和0.65%的铜。

来自Andover的最新钻芯已经使用便携式x射线荧光(XRF)设备进行了测试,该设备提供了相当准确的读数,只是不够精确,无法满足股票交易所的报告规则。

前镍币发现者又回来了

Azure总裁Tony Rovira,22个新的钻孔在所谓的VC-07铜镍矿床Andover证明去年决定撤出工作追银在墨西哥的场景,他最大的成功——宇宙发现他在处理镍克里Harmanis禧矿山。

年长的投资者可能还记得Cosmos,因为它不仅为罗维拉赢得了年度最佳采矿者奖,还将Jubilee变成了主要收购目标,最终演变为BHP (ASX: BHP)和Xstrata(现在的Glencore)之间的竞购战。

2007年,当镍的交易价格接近每吨5万澳元(每磅22澳元)时,斯特拉塔以31亿澳元的高价赢得了Jubilee,这让必和必拓想知道,在其努力发展镍业务的过程中,可能会发生什么。

必和必拓的历史正在重演,镍再次成为这家大型矿商的主要目标。该公司正寻求削减化石燃料敞口,并开发面向未来的金属(尤其是镍和铜)投资组合。

必和必拓将派人密切关注Andover,不仅因为该公司的业务不断扩大,还因为Azure背后的人有发现和矿山开发的记录。

尽管罗维拉专注于墨西哥白银已有14年,但他现在又回到了让他名声大开的白银行业,而克雷塞则是世界上最受尊敬的探矿者之一,对镍、铜和黄金有着敏锐的鉴识。

周围地区Andover过去铜的主题探索了证据的浅坑挖一代探矿者追逐矿化类似于在封存的 Radio Hill 镍矿、Carlow Castle 金-铜-钴矿床和大型矿床中发现的矿藏。 -但未开发的夏洛克湾镍项目。

项目潜在的

Azure 70平方公里的公寓覆盖了Andover镁铁质侵入岩,Rovira表示,该多层构造在地质上与西澳大利亚州南部的Fraser Range以及珀斯郊区的Julimar铂族金属(及镍)发现区相似。克雷西也是弗雷泽山脉的主要参与者。

作为一个完整的软件包,投资者有六个理由在Azure上打开文件,尽管过去一周它的股价已经从0.20澳元涨至0.37澳元,最近的一次出售对该股票的估值为1.22亿澳元。

这些原因是:最新钻探成功的厚度,有待化验;x射线荧光显示高纯度镍和铜;Creasy的钻井成绩达到了历史最高水平;对镍和铜作为未来金属的兴趣日益浓厚;罗维拉的记录可以追溯到宇宙的发现,以及他对Andover与其他西澳贱金属矿床的比较。

另一个因素是,克雷西对罗维拉和Azure的信心,似乎与他在弗雷泽山脉发现Nova-Bollinger镍时的信心相当。这一发现对独立集团IGO Ltd (ASX: IGO)的成功起到了重要作用。

直到去年,Andover项目还被锁定在Creasy Group的内部,该项目接近开发矿山所需的所有基础设施服务,过去30年里他在西澳大利亚州内陆地区的工作积累了大量前景,而该项目只是其中之一。

此前试图将该资产从他手中撬开的尝试均以失败而结束,罗韦拉在Cosmos的工作记录为他赢得了与克雷塞达成协议的权利,并使他有能力将注意力从墨西哥转移出去,因为在墨西哥,严格的新冠疫情规定限制了勘探活动。

去年7月,Azure和Creasy Group达成了一项交易,Azure将获得Andover 60%的股份,Creasy保留40%的股份,另外还包括附近的特纳河(Turner River)黄金项目和另外两个黄金项目。

作为对租赁计划的回报,Azure向Creasy发行了4000万股,占19.1%的股份,而这部分股份后来被减持至15%,德国投资基金Deutsche Balaton以18.3%的股份占据了股份登记的第一名,加拿大大型矿业公司泰克资源(Teck Resources)持有6.8%的股份。

最近的工作

目前,安多弗的工作包括三个钻石钻井平台,其中VC-07 East发现是最重要的目标,也是最近厚钻交叉区的来源。进一步,VC-07西部地区已经进行了有限的钻探。

Rovira先生说,最近的工作大大增加了VC-O7 East的规模和规模。

他说:“重要的是,最近的钻探在矿床上部发现了多个好看的镍铜硫化物交点,使镍铜矿化距离地表50米以内。”

“除了近地表的矿化,钻井继续沿着下倾和向西方向扩展矿床,矿化系统在这些方向保持开放。”

这在安多弗还处于相对早期的阶段,但这无疑是一个值得关注的发现。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Azure Minerals’ Andover discovery starts to excite

Azure Minerals ASX AZS Andover discovery nickel copper sulphide
Drilling at Azure Minerals’ Andover project has hit multiple massive nickel-copper sulphide intersections.

As a combination of future facing metals there is nothing to beat nickel and copper, and it’s that mix in the same discovery which has helped the share price of Azure Minerals (ASX: AZS) rise by 66% over the past week.

More importantly, the latest drilling news from the company’s Andover nickel and copper project near Karratha on Western Australia’s northwest coast points to Azure elevating Andover from exploration prospect to development project sooner rather than later.

More work is required, and Azure management cannot yet talk confidently about mine plans but there is enough evidence from past and present site work to predict that Andover will become a mine with the first step in that direction being a maiden mineral resource estimate.

This week’s news from Andover includes thick drill intersections of up to 46.2 metres of mineralised material from a depth of 528m and while assays have been delayed for up to 10 weeks because of overloaded laboratories, scans in the field of the drill core showed high grades of nickel and copper.

Historic drilling conducted by the previous operator at Andover, the high-profile prospector, Mark Creasy, included assays of up to 2.62% nickel and 0.65% copper over 7m from 43m.

The latest drill core from Andover has been tested using a portable x-ray fluorescence (XRF) device which provides reasonably accurate readings, just not accurate enough to meet stock exchange reporting rules.

Former nickel discoverer back in the game

For Azure managing director Tony Rovira, the 22 new drill holes in what’s called the VC-07 nickel-copper deposit at Andover more than justify last year’s decision to pull back from work chasing silver in Mexico to the scene of his greatest success – the Cosmos nickel discovery which he made when working with Kerry Harmanis at Jubilee Mines.

Older investors might remember Cosmos because not only did it win Mr Rovira prospector of the year award, but it turned Jubilee into a prime takeover target which eventually became a bidding duel between BHP (ASX: BHP) and Xstrata (now Glencore).

Xstrata won the race for Jubilee in 2007, at a time when nickel was trading at close to US$50,000 a tonne (US$22 a pound), by paying a whopping $3.1 billion, leaving BHP to wonder what might have been as it tried to grow its nickel business.

History is repeating at BHP with nickel once again a prime target of the big miner as it seeks to trim its exposure to fossil fuels and develop a portfolio of future facing metals, especially nickel and copper.

Someone at BHP will be keeping an eye on Andover, not simply because of its expanding footprint but also because the people behind Azure have a track record of discovery and mine development.

Mr Rovira, despite his 14-year focus on Mexican silver, is back working in a commodity which made his name, while Mr Creasy is one of the world’s most respected prospectors with a nose for nickel, copper and gold.

The area around Andover has been the subject of past copper exploration with evidence of shallow pits dug by an earlier generation of prospectors chasing mineralisation similar to that found at the mothballed Radio Hill nickel mine, the Carlow Castle gold-copper-cobalt deposit and the big-but-undeveloped Sherlock Bay nickel project.

Project potential

Azure’s 70sq km tenement covers the Andover mafic intrusive, a multi-layered structure which Mr Rovira said has geological similarities to Fraser Range in the south of WA where Mr Creasy has also been a major player, and the Julimar platinum group metals (and nickel) discovery on the outskirts of Perth.

Taken as a complete package, there are six reasons for investors to open a file on Azure even though it has already run from $0.20 to $0.37 over the past week with the latest sales valuing the stock at un untaxing $122 million.

Those reasons are: the thickness of the latest drill success, with assays pending; he XRF indications of high-grade nickel and copper; historic high grades reported by Mr Creasy’s drilling; growing interest in nickel and copper as future facing metals; Mr Rovira’s track record dating back to the Cosmos discovery, and his comparison of Andover with other WA base metal deposits.

Another factor is that Mr Creasy appears to have the same level of confidence in Mr Rovira and Azure that he showed with his Nova-Bollinger nickel discovery in the Fraser Range, which has been instrumental in the success of IGO Ltd (ASX: IGO), the old Independence Group.

Until last year, the Andover project which is close to all the infrastructure services required to develop a mine, was locked inside Creasy Group, just one of a pile of prospects assembled over the past 30 years by his work in the WA outback.

Previous attempts to pry the asset from his fingers failed, with Mr Rovira’s track record at Cosmos earning him the right to strike a deal with Mr Creasy and the ability to re-focus away from Mexico where tough COVID-19 rules have inhibited exploration activity.

In July last year Azure and Creasy Group agreed to a transaction which saw Azure get a 60% stake in Andover with Creasy retaining 40%, plus deals covering the nearby Turner River gold project and two other gold projects.

In return for the tenement package Azure issued Creasy 40 million shares, representing a 19.1% stake, a holding which has since been watered down to 15%, leaving German investment fund Deutsche Balaton on top of the share register with 18.3% and the big Canadian miner Teck Resources with 6.8%.

Recent work

Work at Andover, which currently involves three diamond drilling rigs, has outlined a number of targets with the VC-07 East discovery top of the list and source of the latest thick drill intersections. Further along strike, the VC-07 West area has received limited drilling.

Mr Rovira said the latest work had significantly increased the size and scale of VC-O7 East.

“Importantly, recent drilling has returned multiple good-looking nickel-copper sulphide intersections in the upper part of the deposit, bringing the nickel-copper mineralisation within 50m of the surface,” he said.

“In addition to this near-surface mineralisation, drilling continues to expand the deposit down-dip and along strike to the west with the mineralised system remaining open in those directions.”

It’s relatively early days at Andover, but it is certainly a discovery worth following.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.