澳大利亚探险家返回瑞典寻找能源金属

Australian explorers Sweden energy metals ASX
瑞典正在吸引越来越多的澳大利亚探索者,希望更好地接触全球电动汽车制造商。

澳大利亚拥有合适的金属组合,可以成为电动汽车热潮的领先者,但瑞典拥有同样良好的矿物组合,而且地理位置更好,更适合接触世界领先的汽车制造商,这就是为什么越来越多在澳大利亚证交所上市的勘探企业对该国产生了吸引力。

Talga Group (ASX: TLG)脚踏在一个世界级的石墨矿床上,是最早进军瑞典的澳大利亚公司之一,它被瑞典的地质、深厚的采矿文化和快速电气化的德国汽车工业所吸引。

其他小型股也紧随其后,包括追逐铜和银的Alicanto Minerals (ASX: AQI),以及瞄准镍和铜的Ragnar Metals (ASX: RAG)。

可能会有更多的澳大利亚勘探企业加入瑞典的矿产搜寻行动,它们希望在掌握在外国做生意的复杂性方面取得比以往更大的成功。

在早期的澳大利亚矿业浪潮中,很少有企业长途跋涉来到阿巴和宜家的家乡,从而获得了他们想要的财富,可能是因为他们专注于“老”矿产,比如吸引北方有限公司的锌——在北方有限公司被Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO)收购之前 —— 到历史悠久的Zinkgruvan矿,该矿自1857年以来一直在连续运行。

重要的锌在许多工业应用中,它是昨天的金属之一,也是如此的铁矿石开采自1900年在瑞典北部小镇基律纳当前出名是世界上最大的地下铁矿石操作和现场附近的“冰旅馆”。

目前,瑞典对澳大利亚矿商的吸引力在于,它的地理位置和向欧洲供应矿石的千年历史,包括铜、镍和石墨等因能源转型而复苏的金属。

瑞典在澳大利亚探险家中复兴还有其他原因,包括与更广阔的斯堪的纳维亚地区拥有相同的地质条件,拥有澳大利亚地质学家熟悉的一系列岩石类型,以及在法律和个人都安全的环境中做生意的吸引力,不像非洲和南美洲的大部分地区。

北部的石墨潜力

本文选择的三家公司都处于不同的发展阶段。

在生产方面最先进的是塔尔加。锂在电池中用作阴极,一直是大多数小型矿商寻求进入电池业务的主要兴趣,而这家公司选择专注于能量存储的阳极,石墨在这方面表现最好。

长期以来,瑞典北部石墨储量丰富,而Talga正在那里开发采矿和矿物加工业务,旨在为欧洲电池制造商提供高质量的负极材料。

Talga的起点是靠近Vittangi铁矿的Vittangi石墨结构,计划将开采的材料运送到Baltic的海顶端Lulea港的一个加工中心,那里的低温和充足的廉价电力吸引了Facebook等高科技公司提供数据存储设施。

Talga还沿着科技之路,推出了一系列先进的“绿色石墨阳极”产品,这些产品正在向德国的电池制造商和汽车制造商销售,英国剑桥的一个产品开发中心也在那里发明了一种被称为石墨烯的高科技形式。

Talga公司还通过启动一项计划来扩大其石墨资源基础,从而回归其勘探的本源。

虽然今年表现不佳,股价下跌30%至1.31美元,但Talga吸引了许多有实力的澳大利亚和欧洲投资者,他们相信将瑞典的矿产供应给欧洲其他地区的商业计划已经得到证实。

瑞典贵金属

上个月,在瑞典中部历史悠久(且产量丰富)的采矿中心萨拉附近发现了一个前景光明的银矿,这一发现使得Alicanto的股价从0.11澳元翻了一番,达到0.20澳元。

化验仍在进行中,但两个钻石钻孔中的第一个重新发现了传统上在Sala矿发现的广阔矿化区域。该矿从15世纪开始生产2亿盎司白银,平均品位为每吨1244克,于1964年关闭。

在这个历史悠久的矿山内和周围进行了有限的勘探,很大程度上是因为人们相信矿体不会延伸到320米以下,Alicanto目前正在验证这一理论。

尽管白银吸引了对贵金属感兴趣的澳大利亚投资者的目光,但Alicanto的主要目标是Sala西北约100公里处的Greater Falun铜金矿项目。

Falun矿于1992年关闭,在大约1000年的生产过程中生产了2800万吨高品位铜金矿。

Alicanto的计划是测试新的目标,并在一个以“矽卡岩”型矿化而闻名的地区寻找已知矿体的延伸。矽卡岩型矿化通常是在火山侵入石灰岩或白云岩后形成的高品位矿化。

对“ Falun 2”的搜寻已经显示,随着地质知识的增长和钻探的继续,到目前为止钻探的所有目标都有矿化,可能蕴藏着丰富的矿脉。

铜和镍的重大发现

Ragnar(原名Drake Resources)在Alicanto Sala银矿以西20公里处的Granmuren项目中,似乎有了重大发现。

Ragnar发现的Tullsta含铜镍构造,可以看作是对瑞典地质丰富矿化性质的评价。2012年,一架直升机载磁测量仪检测到近地表矿化,首次引起人们的注意。

上月,对Tullsta可能发现的矿藏的初步解读,重新点燃了人们对Ragnar的兴趣。钻探岩心显示出富含铜(和镍)矿化的区域,即使当时没有化验,该区域的股价也从0.03澳元上涨了一倍多,至0.08澳元。

本周早些时候,对该岩心的第一次分析已经完成,虽然令人鼓舞,但只对股价产生了温和的反应,这可能是因为从498.2米开始的60.2米矿化区等级和深度相对较低。

总体而言,发现区镍和铜含量分别为0.75%和0.47%,但有5个不同的富区段,上区段镍和铜含量分别为2.08%和1.57%,回收率为7.6m。

随着四孔钻井计划的进行,将会有更多的分析,这应该会重新激起人们对Ragnar的兴趣。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Australian explorers return to Sweden in the hunt for energy metals

Australian explorers Sweden energy metals ASX
Sweden is appealing to a growing list of Australian explorers looking for better access to global electric vehicle makers.

Australia has the right mix of metals to be a leader in the electric vehicle rush, but Sweden has an equally good mineral mix and a better location for access to the world’s leading car makers which is why it appeals to an increasing number of ASX-listed explorers.

Talga Group (ASX: TLG), which has its foot on a world-class graphite deposit, was one of the early Australian movers to stake a claim in Sweden, attracted by the geology, deep mining culture, and direct access to the rapidly electrifying German car industry.

Other small caps are following, including Alicanto Minerals (ASX: AQI),which is chasing copper and silver, and Ragnar Metals (ASX: RAG), which is targeting nickel and copper.

More Australian explorers are likely to join the Swedish mineral hunt and will be hoping for greater success than past attempts to master the complexities of doing business in a foreign country.

Few players in earlier waves of Aussie miners making the long trek to the home of Abba and Ikea made the fortunes they were seeking, possibly because they were focused on “old” minerals such as the zinc which drew North Ltd – before it was acquired by Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO) – to the historic Zinkgruvan mine which has been in continuous operation since 1857.

Important as zinc is in many industrial applications, it is very much one of yesterday’s metals, and the same can be said of the iron ore mined in northern Sweden around the town of Kiruna since 1900 with its current claim to fame being the world’s biggest underground iron ore operation and the site of a nearby “ice hotel”.

The current attraction of Sweden to Australian miners is the combination of location and a 1,000-year history of supplying Europe with minerals, including the metals undergoing a revival thanks to energy transition revival such as copper, nickel, and graphite.

There are other reasons for Sweden enjoying a revival among Australian explorers, including a shared geology with the wider Scandinavian region hosting a range of rock types familiar to Australian geologists, and the attraction of doing business in an environment which is safe in both legal and personal terms, unlike much of Africa and South America.

Graphite potential in the north

The three companies chosen for this look at the revival of interest among Australian small caps are at different stages of evolution.

The most advanced in terms of production is Talga. While lithium, used as a cathode in batteries, has been the primary interest of most small miners looking for a way into the battery business, this company chose to focus on the anode side of energy storage, where graphite performs best.

Northern Sweden, which has long been recognised for its graphite deposits, is where Talga is developing a mining and mineral processing operation which aims to supply Europe’s battery makers with high quality anode material.

The starting point for Talga is the Vittangi graphite structure close to the iron ore mines at Kiruna with the plan being to rail mined material to a processing centre at the port of Lulea at the top end of the Baltic, where low temperatures and abundant cheap electricity have attracted high-tech companies such as Facebook for data storage facilities.

Talga is also travelling down the tech road with a range of advanced “green graphite anode” products which is being marketed to battery makers and car producers in Germany, along with a product development centre at Cambridge in Britain where a high-tech form of graphite called graphene was invented.

Talga has also returned to its exploration roots by launching a program to expand its graphite resource base.

While not a star performer this year with a share price which has dropped by 30% to $1.31, Talga has attracted a number of high-powered Australian and European investors who believe in the well-proven business plan of supplying Swedish minerals to the rest of Europe.

Swedish precious metal plays

A promising silver discovery near the historic (and prolific) mining centre of Sala in central Sweden jolted Alicanto’s share price last month effectively doubling the stock from $0.11 to $0.20.

Assays are pending but the first of two diamond drill holes returned broad zones of mineralisation traditionally seen in the Sala mine, which closed in 1964 after producing 200 million ounces of silver at an average grade of 1,244 grams per tonne, starting in the 15th century.

Limited exploration has been conducted in and around the historic mine, largely because of a belief that the orebody did not extend below 320m, a theory which Alicanto is now testing.

While silver has caught the eye of Australian investors with an interest in precious metals, the primary target of Alicanto is the Greater Falun copper and gold project about 100km to the north-west of Sala.

Closed in 1992, the Falun mine produced 28 million tonnes of high-grade copper-gold ore over an estimated 1,000 years of production.

Alicanto’s plan is to test new targets as well as look for extensions to known orebodies in a region known for its “skarn” style mineralisation which is generally high-grade and formed after a volcanic intrusion forces its way into limestone or dolomite.

The hunt for “Falun 2” has revealed mineralisation in all targets drilled so far with a bonanza lode possible as geological knowledge grows and drilling continues.

Significant copper and nickel discovery

It’s been the best part of a decade in the making but Ragnar (formerly known as Drake Resources) appears to have made a significant discovery at its Granmuren project about 20km west of Alicanto’s Sala silver discovery.

In what can be seen as a comment on the richly mineralised nature of Sweden’s geology, the Ragnar find is the Tullsta copper and nickel bearing structure which first came to notice in 2012 when near-surface mineralisation was detected in a helicopter-borne magnetic survey.

Last month a sniff of what might have been found at Tullsta rekindled interest in Ragnar with early interpretation of drill core revealing zones of copper (and nickel) rich mineralisation which, even without assays at the time, more than doubled the share price from $0.03 to $0.08.

First assays of that core came through earlier this week and while encouraging, they only produced a modest share price reaction, perhaps because of the relatively low grade and depth of a 60.2m mineralised zone starting at 498.2m.

Overall, the discovery area assayed 0.75% nickel and 0.47% copper, but included richer sections in five different zones with the upper section returning 7.6m at 2.08% nickel and 1.57% copper.

More assays will follow the four-hole drilling program which should revive interest in Ragnar.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.