在小股东投诉后,ASIC和ASX对大型配售进行了微调

Placements ASX ASIC capital raisings small shareholders COVID-19
小投资者投诉在紧急融资中被敲诈,因此ASIC和ASX在规则上进行了微调。

ASX和ASIC似乎真的听取了来自监管机构的批评,它们共同行动,修改了适用于融资的规则,以应对冠状病毒大流行和相关的经济衰退。

Australian Securities Exchange决定允许公司在冠状病毒大流行期间配售至多25%的已发行股票,而不是原来的15%的上限后,小股东们再次被设置为大幅稀释所持公司股份。

在GFC时代,小股东的股份分配常常过少或无法避免股权被稀释,而通过将配股比例提高到25%,这种敲诈的可能性总是存在的,而且这种敲诈的可能性还会进一步扩大。

投诉导致新的配售信息披露

继小股东和包括代理顾问在内的维权团体的大量投诉之后,ASX和ASIC会现在坚持要求他们提供每家公司的配售细节的电子副本,包括股票分配的细节。

他们还将被迫披露哪些投资者获得了股票,这将揭示小股东被敲诈的程度——这往往有利于即将上任的股东。

企业还必须证明,它们已尽最大努力按比例分配股份,以防止现有股东被稀释。

公司将需要提供一份电子表格,准确显示哪些投资者在5天内同时向ASX和ASIC提交了股票。

细节仍将保密

有趣的是,这些细节不会公开——尽管这些细节需要提供给监管机构进行检查,这一事实可能对一些更为恶劣的融资行为产生令人警醒的影响。

可以预见的是,这些变化受到了许多投资者团体的欢迎,但多数代理顾问表示,它们做得还不够,应该公之于众,以便投资者能够让董事们对为何一些政党在融资中更受青睐负责。

他们声称,应告知投资者新配售股份与现有股东配售股份的比例,以及配售股份低于按比例应享权益的比例。

ASX和ASIC将能够利用这些数据来回应投资者的投诉,并有可能调查董事们是否在分配股票的方式上违反了自己的职责。

ASX已经在短时间内筹集了80亿澳元

修改后的规则非常及时,因为事实再次证明,在冠状病毒等紧急事件期间,澳交所是全球允许融资最快的交易所之一。

自3月1日以来,澳交所已宣布70多家上市公司进行融资,规模超过80亿澳元,令许多规模大得多的全球交易所——包括英国、美国和香港——大为光火。

这距离全球金融危机仍有相当大的差距,当时ASX筹集了920亿澳元的惊人资金,但冠状病毒危机距离结束还有很长的路要走,而且筹集的资金仍有很大的增长空间,尽管金融杠杆率并没有HGFC时期那么极端。

在金融困难时期,这些大规模的配售非常受欢迎,因为它们让发行公司能够迅速、相对容易地获得现金,以充实资产负债表。

Flight Centre脱离险境

这方面的一个很好的例子是旅游巨头Flight Centre (ASX: FLT),在大多数国际旅行因冠状病毒大流行而停止后,该公司脱离了可怕境地。

它筹集了约6.79亿澳元的资金,这将帮助它在大幅重组业务的同时生存下来,裁减了约6000名员工,关闭了大约一半的国际旅游商店。

有趣的是,就连创始股Geoff和Susan Harris、Graham和Jude Turner还有Bill James也遭遇了一定程度的股权稀释,尽管他们为融资贡献了2,080万澳元,这显示出即便是富有且人脉广泛的股东在融资过程中也面临着困难。

公司得救了,但股权稀释可能会很严重

许多已筹集资本的公司的小股东将会看到他们的股份被大幅稀释——在某些情况下,这是因为他们根本没有足够的现金来进行收购,或者是因为他们的权利没有大到足以避免稀释。

这个问题的另一面是,一些没有能力迅速筹集资金的公司可能无法生存下来,但会以一种合理的状况从流行病走出来——一些例子为Webjet (ASX: WEB), Flight Centre (ASX: FLT)Southern Cross Media (ASX: SXL)

因此,与Virgin Australia (ASX: VAH)的情况相比,其他的股东们最终会得到一些东西。

这是一个正在展开的情况,但就Virgin股东而言,他们最有可能被扫地出门,因为在大股东拒绝参与任何新资本的筹集之后,该公司已进入破产管理程序。

公司可以是公平的,也可以是不公平的,这取决于他们自己

像往常一样,一些公司以对大股东和小股东都以严格公平的方式筹集资金,而另一些公司则完全放任自流,对忠实的小股东不屑一顾,在融资时大幅折价,并向新股东发行大量新股,这加大了稀释的效果。

管道产业Reece (ASX: REH)是一个专门给小股东按比例问题在同一届机构和股票购买计划(SPP),这样他们可以专门买正确的数量的股票,以避免稀释的股份——如果这是他们想要的东西。

对于小股东来说,不同公司融资的差异可能是一个难以把握的局面,因为他们需要计算数字,并计算出自己的股权稀释程度,或者在决定申请什么公司时采取其他方式。

在这种情况下,小股东可以通过大型上市投资公司进行投资,如Australian Foundation (ASX: AFI)Argo (ASX: ARG),这些公司通常可以帮助小股东做出正确的投资决策。

如果你喜欢投资小公司,上市的小型股基金经理也很有用。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.

ASIC and ASX fine tune big placements following complaints by small shareholders

Placements ASX ASIC capital raisings small shareholders COVID-19
Complaints that small investors are being ripped off in emergency capital raising have led to some rule changes from ASIC and the ASX.

It seems that the ASX and ASIC really do listen to criticism with the regulators acting together to modify the rules applying to capital raisings due the COVID-19 pandemic and associated recession.

Small shareholders were once again being set up to have their shareholdings in companies diluted significantly after the Australian Securities Exchange decided to allow companies to make placements of up to 25% of their shares on issue during the pandemic, rather than the old limit of 15%.

During the GFC era, small shareholder allocations were frequently too small or not available to prevent shareholdings being diluted and by raising the placement level to 25%, the potential was always there to expand that rip-off to an even greater extent.

Complaints led to new placement disclosure

Following on from a welter of complaints by small shareholders and advocacy groups including proxy advisers, the ASX and ASIC have now insisted that they be provided with an electronic copy of every company’s placement details, including in detail how the shares are allocated.

They will also be forced to reveal which investors received stock, which will disclose the extent of the rip-off of small shareholders – often to the advantage of incoming shareholders.

Companies will also have to prove they made the best efforts to allocate shares on a pro-rata basis, which prevents existing shareholders from being diluted.

Companies will need to provide a spreadsheet showing exactly which investors got shares to both the ASX and the ASIC within five days.

Details will still remain secret

Interestingly, these details will not be made public – although the very fact that they need to be supplied to the regulators to be checked may have a sobering effect on some of the more egregious capital raisings.

Predictably, the changes have been welcomed by many investor groups but most proxy advisers have said that they do not go far enough and should be made public so that investors can hold directors to account about why some parties have been preferred by the capital raisings.

They claim that investors should be informed of the proportion of a placement granted to new versus existing shareholders and also the proportion of the placement allocated below a pro-rata entitlement.

ASX and ASIC will be able to use the data to respond to investor complaints and it is possible that they could investigate whether directors have breached their duties in the way shares have been allocated.

ASX has raised $8 billion in a hurry

The refined rules are extremely timely because the ASX has once again proved to be one of the fastest exchanges in the world to allow for capital raisings during an emergency event such as COVID-19.

Already since 1 March, the ASX has blitzed many much bigger world exchanges – including the UK, US and Hong Kong – by announcing capital raisings by more than 70 listed companies worth more than $8 billion.

This is still well short of the GFC crisis when the ASX raised an amazing $92 billion but the COVID-19 crisis is a long way from over yet and there is still plenty of scope for the amount raised to grow, although the financial leverage around is not as extreme as during the HGFC.

These big placements are enormously popular at times of financial stress because they let the issuing company get their hands on cash quickly and relatively easily to bolster the balance sheet.

Flight Centre saved from a dire position

A good example of this was travel giant Flight Centre (ASX: FLT) which understandably was in a dire position after most international travel was stopped due to the pandemic.

It raised around $679 million which will help it survive as it dramatically reshapes its business, standing down around 6,000 staff and closing around half of its travel shops internationally.

Interestingly, even the founding shareholders Geoff and Susan Harris, Graham and Jude Turner and Bill James suffered some dilution of their stakes despite contributing $20.8 million to the capital raising, showing the difficulty even wealthy and well-connected shareholders face during such exercises.

Companies saved but dilution can be severe

Small shareholders in many of the companies that have raised capital will have seen their stakes diluted much more dramatically – in some instances because they simply don’t have the cash to put into the offer or because their entitlements were not large enough to avoid dilution.

The flip side of this problem is that some companies that may not have survived without the ability to raise capital quickly will probably now come out the other side of the pandemic in a reasonable shape – with some examples being Webjet (ASX: WEB), Flight Centre (ASX: FLT) and Southern Cross Media (ASX: SXL).

So shareholders end up with something at the end of the day compared to the situation of having shares in Virgin Australia (ASX: VAH), which is now in administration.

It is an unfolding situation but in the case of Virgin shareholders, they are most likely to be wiped out now that the company is in administration after the major shareholders declined to take part in raising any fresh capital.

Companies can be fair or unfair – it is up to them

As is usual in these situations, some companies have raised capital in a way that is scrupulously fair to their shareholders both large and small while others have simply let rip and treated their loyal small shareholders with disdain by applying massive discounts in the capital raisings and issuing enormous numbers of new shares to new shareholders which increases the dilution.

Plumbing chain Reece (ASX: REH) was one that specifically offered small shareholders a pro-rata issue on the same terms as institutions and a share purchase plan (SPP) so that they could specifically buy the right number of shares to avoid dilution of their stake – if that is what they wanted.

The variation between capital raising of different companies can be a difficult situation for small shareholders to navigate as they need to do the numbers and work out their level of dilution or otherwise when deciding what to apply for.

Once approach for small shareholders in such situations to invest through large listed investment companies such as Australian Foundation (ASX: AFI) and Argo (ASX: ARG), which can be relied on to usually make the right decisions during placements.

Listed small cap fund managers are also useful if you prefer investing in small companies.

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts