Animoca Brands与Atari拓展战略合作伙伴关系,将区块链游戏推向大众

Animoca Brands Atari blockchain classic games
Animoca和Atari将他们的战略合作伙伴关系延长到2025年,同时为玩家提供更多游戏。

专注于区块链的游戏开发商Animoca Brands公布了一项扩张性的发展计划,该计划是关于其与经典游戏公司Atari现有的合作关系。

Animoca Brands补充了一份始于2018年12月的现有协议,该公司表示,新修订将在“包括区块链产品在内的任何平台和分销渠道上增加15款Atari游戏,有效期延长至2025年1月31日”。

Animoca Brands和Atari确认,他们修改了现有的授权协议,以扩大Animoca平台可用的渠道和知识产权数量。

经典游戏添加

此外,这次重大的扩张意味着雅达利将授权Animoca Brands开发和发行另外15款Atari经典街机游戏,包括一些非常受欢迎的游戏,如Asteroids、PongCentipede

Animoca Brands还将获得开发和出版Atari之前发行的所有游戏区块链版本的权利,包括整合了不可替换令牌(NFTs)等新功能。

作为确保未来收入支付的保证,Animoca Brands已决定以每股0.21澳元的价格发行1870万股股票,并声明全部“许可费”将从支付给Atari的游戏游戏收入中抵扣。

对Animoca Brands来说,扩大合作关系的另一个好处是能够成为Atari游戏在亚洲的非独家经销商,以及Atari VCS控制台的区块链内容的全球独家供应商。

Atari首席执行官Frederic Chesnais表示:“我们很高兴能加强与Animoca Brands的合作关系,后者将区块链技术整合到视频游戏中的愿景与我们的愿景完全一致。”

“当我们签署最初的协议时,我们一直设想将其扩展到Atari系列中最具标志性的游戏,并将它们变成区块链游戏。”

“我们对Atari VCS的雄心是开发一个生态系统,让用户能够使用最多的创造和娱乐工具。虚拟世界中的区块链游戏是我们想向Atari创投用户群推荐的娱乐类型的一个完美例子

他说:“让我们的合作伙伴Animoca Brands直接向Atari VCS提供区块链游戏内容,这是很自然的选择。Animoca Brands在区块链游戏领域的领导地位毋庸置疑。”

根据对市场的声明,修改后的协议授予Animoca Brands在亚洲的非独家分销权,但不包括澳大利亚和新西兰,为即将到来的Atari VCS游戏控制台。为了解决这个问题,Animoca Brands已经宣布,它将在海洋地区建立并运营自己的在线零售店,直至2022年9月30日。

Animoca Brands表示,在2022年9月30日之前,Animoca Brands将是Atari VCS主机的独家区块链游戏内容提供商,包括有权纳入其首选的区块链技术解决方案,如密码钱包,从而使创投成为“世界上第一个专用区块链游戏控制台”。

作为对Atari VCS游戏控制台的排他性的考虑,Animoca Brands已同意为未来收入支付320,000美元(44.1万澳元)的最低担保,在2021年7月31日前支付,或以每股0.21澳元的价格发行220万股Animoca股票。

开始沸腾

2018年12月,Atari和Animoca Brands首次宣布了他们的商业合作伙伴关系——一家合资企业,开发基于加密资产和区块链技术的各种虚拟世界。

双方迅速发展的合作关系在2020年4月得到进一步加强,当时Animoca Brands推出了The Sandbox游戏,并带来了价值70万澳元的象征性预售。

The Sandbox是一个虚拟世界,玩家可以在以太坊区块链上构建、拥有自己的“体素游戏”体验并将其变现。该公司表示,他们的愿景是提供一个深度沉浸式的“虚拟世界”,在这里,虚拟世界和游戏将相互合作,没有中央权威。

Asteroids、Centipede、PongRollerCoaster Tycoon等经典街机游戏都宣布将在新时代复出,Atari暗示,它将创建一个“在线主题公园”,用户不仅可以参观,还可以将其商品化。

考虑到两家公司吻合的雄心,合并力量建立区块链游戏中心具有很强的商业意义。

为了进一步简化他们的合作开发,Animoca Brands可以在2020年12月31日之前将5款游戏交换为其他Atari游戏,在达到收入里程碑后,还可以免费获得另外13款Atari游戏的版权。

游戏出来

今天宣布的修正案授予Animoca Brands通过其子公司和附属实体(主要是Gamee和Quidd)的平台分销Atari游戏的权利。

今年7月,Animoca Brands以800多万澳元的价格收购了Gamee,这是一个社交游戏平台,拥有80多款游戏,1300万注册用户和130万月度活跃用户,主要通过社交媒体应用(如Telegram)。

Quidd是全球领先的品牌数码收藏品买卖市场。

Animoca Brands宣布,它打算在Gamee的手机、网络和桌面平台上推出所有区块链游戏,同时通过子公司Quidd提供数字收藏资产。

Animoca Brands的联合创始人兼主席Yat Siu表示:“这次与Atari的合作关系的重大扩展,使Animoca Brands能够将一些最经典的游戏融入到我们的区块链战略中,并在我们的流行平台上推广,包括超休闲游戏平台Gamee和数字收藏品平台Quidd。”

他补充道:“我们很高兴有机会将这些怀旧的、创造历史的游戏推向未来。”

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

Animoca Brands and Atari expand strategic partnership to introduce blockchain gaming to the masses

Animoca Brands Atari blockchain classic games
Animoca and Atari have extended their strategic partnership to 2025 while expanding the number of games available to players.

Blockchain-focused gaming developer Animoca Brands has unveiled an expansionary development regarding its existing partnership with cult classic gaming company Atari.

Supplementing an existing agreement dating back to December 2018, Animoca Brands said the new amendment expands its access to an additional 15 Atari games “on any platform and any distribution channel, inclusive of blockchain products, for a term extending through to 31 January 2025”.

Animoca Brands and Atari confirmed they amended their existing license agreement to expand the number of channels and intellectual property (IP) made available for Animoca’s platform.

Classic games added

Moreover, the significant expansion means Atari will grant Animoca Brands the right to develop and distribute an additional 15 classic Atari arcade games, including highly popular titles such as Asteroids, Pong and Centipede.

Animoca Brands will also obtain the right to develop and publish blockchain versions of all of Atari’s previously released titles including the integration of novel features such as non-fungible tokens (NFTs).

As a guarantee to ensure future revenue payments, Animoca Brands has decided to issue 18.7 million shares at $0.21 per share and stated the entirety of this “license fee” is recoupable against royalties paid to Atari from the revenue generated by Atari’s gaming titles.

Another benefit of the expanded partnership for Animoca Brands is the ability to become a non-exclusive distributor of Atari’s games in Asia and an exclusive provider of blockchain content globally for the Atari VCS console.

“We are thrilled to strengthen our partnership with Animoca Brands, whose vision for the integration of blockchain technology into video games is perfectly aligned with ours,” Atari chief executive officer Frederic Chesnais said.

“When we signed the initial agreement, we always envisaged to expand it to the most iconic games of the Atari catalogue to turn them into blockchain games.”

“Our ambition for the Atari VCS is to develop an ecosystem that gives users access to the largest number of tools for creation and entertainment. Blockchain games inside a virtual world are a perfect example for the types of entertainment that we want to propose to the Atari VCS userbase,” Mr Chesnaid added

“It was the natural choice to ask our partner Animoca Brands, whose leadership in blockchain gaming is unquestioned, to offer their blockchain gaming content directly on the Atari VCS,” he said.

According to a statement to the market, the amended deal grants Animoca Brands non-exclusive distribution rights in Asia, but excludes Australia and New Zealand, for the upcoming Atari VCS game console. As a solution, Animoca Brands has announced it will set up and operate its own online retail store focusing on the Oceanic region through to 30 September 2022.

Animoca Brands will be the exclusive blockchain gaming content provider for the Atari VCS console until 30 September 2022, including the right to incorporate its preferred blockchain technology solutions such as crypto wallets, thereby making the VCS “the world’s first dedicated blockchain gaming game console”, the company said.

As consideration for the exclusivity for Atari’s VCS game console, Animoca Brands has agreed to pay a minimum guarantee against future revenues of US$320,000 (A$441,000), payable before 31 July 2021 or through the issuance of 2.2 million Animoca shares at A$0.21 per share.

Coming to the boil

In December 2018, Atari and Animoca Brands first announced their commercial partnership – a joint venture to develop a variety of virtual worlds built on crypto assets and blockchain technology.

The burgeoning partnership was further strengthened in April 2020 after Animoca Brands conducted its own foray into blockchain gaming with the launch of The Sandbox and an accompanying token presale worth $700,000.

The Sandbox is a virtual world where players can build, own and monetise their own “voxel gaming” experiences on the Ethereum blockchain. The company said its vision is to offer a deeply immersive “metaverse” in which virtual worlds and games will be created collaboratively and without a central authority.

Classic arcade titles such as AsteroidsCentipedePong and RollerCoaster Tycoon were all announced as titles that would make a new-age comeback with Atari hinting it will create an “online theme park” that users can not only visit, but also, commoditise.

Given the dovetailing ambitions from both companies, combining forces to establish a blockchain gaming hub makes strong commercial sense.

To further streamline their co-development, Animoca Brands has the option to exchange five games for other Atari titles until 31 December 2020 and upon meeting revenue milestones, stands to gain the rights to an additional 13 Atari games at no extra charge.

Gaming forth

The amendment announced today grants Animoca Brands the right to distribute Atari’s games through the platforms of its subsidiaries and affiliated entities, principally Gamee and Quidd.

Animoca Brands acquired Gamee in July this year for just over $8 million – a social gaming platform with more than 80 game titles, 13 million registered users and 1.3 million active monthly users primarily via social media apps such as Telegram.

Quidd is a leading global marketplace for buying and selling branded digital collectables.

Animoca Brands has declared it intends to launch all of its blockchain games on Gamee’s mobile, web, and desktop platforms while simultaneously offering digital collector assets via its subsidiary Quidd.

“This significant expansion of our partnership with Atari allows Animoca Brands to leverage some of the greatest ever classic games into our blockchain strategy and on our popular platforms, including the hyper-casual gaming platform Gamee and the digital collectables platform Quidd,” Animoca Brands co-founder and chairman Yat Siu said.

“We are very excited at the opportunity to catapult these nostalgic, history-making games into the future,” he added.

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts