Angel Seafood以创新的商业策略颠覆牡蛎市场

Angel Seafood ASX AS1 oysters Coffin Bay
目前只有不到20%的大型零售商店销售牡蛎,这为澳大利亚最大的太平洋牡蛎生产商提供了巨大的增长机会。

澳大利亚最大的太平洋牡蛎生产商Angel Seafood Holdings (ASX: AS1)通过创新、商业化和先进的水产养殖技术颠覆了这个传统的产业。

这一旅程始于10年前,当时Angel Seafood公司的创始人兼首席执行官Zac Halman抢购了南澳大利亚州Eyre 半岛的牡蛎养殖场。作为这个行业的新手,Halman先生认识到,采用一种注重可持续性、效率和盈利能力的创新农业方式是一个重大机遇。

三年前,Angel Seafood在澳大利亚证券交易所上市,成为澳大利亚第一家上市的牡蛎公司(至今仍是唯一一家)。在资本市场的敞口,加上其独特的技术,使其具备了竞争优势,并使其得以大幅增长。

Angel Seafood从一个小型的家族企业,现在已成长为澳大利亚最大的太平洋牡蛎生产商-供应超过10%的澳大利亚太平洋牡蛎,同时保持其可持续性和有机认证。

Angel Seafood是世界上仅有的两家获得可持续和有机认证的牡蛎养殖企业之一,生产优质牡蛎,以其高质量和精致的口味闻名,迎合了高价值市场的广泛收藏。

理想的位置

Angel Seafood位于偏远的Eyre半岛,在原始的Coffin Bay拥有36公顷的发展迅速、营养丰富的水域。Angel Seafood利用现代化设备,采用多湾策略,以商业规模生产优质牡蛎,降低生产风险,最大化可持续经营环境。

公司的设施包括在Cowell和Haslam镇的苗房和牡蛎生长操作,可容纳超过2000万只牡蛎;在Coffin Bay进行最后的调理,每年可处理1000万只牡蛎。

Angel Seafood声称,这种多海湾战略使其与众不同,因为它允许一个敏捷的运营,能够比竞争对手更快地调整客户的需求和需求,优化增长条件,快速实现生产和收入。

Halman表示:“过去几年我们的增长和业绩显示了我们多海湾战略的有效性,而我们目前运营的规模正在开启新的机遇。”

该公司直接从Coffin Bay向一个国家的约10个国内和2个国际客户销售牡蛎,并在Port Lincoln专门建造并经过认证的出口地点加工出口。

创新的方法

公司专注于数据采集和解释,以找到最大化效率的方法,包括了解不同海湾内的地理和季节生长条件如何影响牡蛎的生命周期。

Angel Seafood声称,他们的可调延绳钓系统改善了水流和营养物质的摄入——与大多数澳大利亚牡蛎生产商相比,高质量的水使生产能力更高效——而且,他们的竹竿和篮子可以回收利用,从而最大限度地减少垃圾填埋。

Halman表示,该公司的目标是利用消费者对有机和可持续来源食品日益增长的偏好。

他说:“我们以‘创新第一’的方式来实现可持续性、效率和盈利,目的是让牡蛎成为一种大众化的产品和家喻户晓的名字。”

零售市场是它的“牡蛎”

上一个财政年度尤其成功,截至2020年6月的12个月里,该公司的业务扩大到销售660万只牡蛎(比前一年增长25%),并报告了创纪录的500万澳元的收入——尽管疫情带来了挑战。

事实上,全球大流行让Angel Seafood重新定位自己,以利用相对未开发的零售市场,这对公司来说是一个巨大的增长机会。

“在疫情大流行之前,我们从来没有想象过或计划过餐馆会关闭很长一段时间,从而使我们无法进入我们的传统市场,”霍尔曼先生解释说。

“疫情导致我们在3月底撤销了2020财年的销售指导。然而,通过迅速转向零售渠道,我们的业务和团队显示出了非凡的韧性。”

“大约60%的消费者最经常从超市购买海产品,而我们的研究显示,目前只有约20%的超市定期出售牡蛎,所以这是我们增加(市场)渗透的重大机会,”Halman补充道。

据报道,零售商对这一举措持积极态度,因为越来越多的零售商认识到,该公司可以保证向其门店持续供应优质库存,而这在一个分散的行业是不可能的。

新冠肺炎造成的经济放缓也使Angel Seafood 得以投资于提高其对更高价值和更大尺寸牡蛎的库存,增加其水资源储备并改善其基础设施。

Halman表示,这些进展使该公司处于“非常强大的地位”,有望实现未来的大幅增长。

他表示:“对我们清洁、绿色、优质牡蛎的需求继续强劲,价格保持稳定,这使我们在国内市场占据有利地位,在出口市场也将有所增长。”

“随着限制进一步放宽,消费者又开始外出就餐,我们希望通过我们的渠道看到需求增加。”

出口市场

今年早些时候,新冠肺炎的防控措施中断了物流供应渠道,但霍尔曼表示,出口销售现已重新启动,Angel Seafood成功地将牡蛎运到了香港现有客户手中。

他说:“虽然由于疫情的影响,交易量较小,但[我们]继续将其视为一项长期风险,随着库存状况的改善,我们将处于有利地位,能够抓住市场机会。”

随着全球对清洁和责任来源海产品需求的不断增长,向亚洲和中东地区出口优质产品代表着一个“巨大的长期机遇”。

Halman补充称:“我们有足够的规模,可以保证在全球形势恢复正常时持续供应有意义的数量。”

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

Angel Seafood disrupts oyster market with innovative commercial strategy

Angel Seafood ASX AS1 oysters Coffin Bay
Less than 20% of major retail stores currently sell oysters, representing a substantial growth opportunity for Australia’s largest Pacific oyster producer.

Australia’s largest producer of Pacific oysters Angel Seafood Holdings (ASX: AS1) is disrupting what has been a very traditional industry with innovation, commercialisation and cutting-edge aquaculture techniques.

The journey began 10 years ago, when Angel Seafood founder and chief executive officer Zac Halman snapped up oyster farms on South Australia’s Eyre Peninsula. Being new to the industry, Mr Halman recognised there was a significant opportunity to adopt an innovative approach to farming that focuses on sustainability, efficiency and profitability.

Angel Seafood became Australia’s first-ever listed oyster company (and remains the only one) when it floated on the ASX three years ago and this exposure to capital markets, combined with its unique techniques, has given it a competitive advantage and enabled it to grow significantly.

From being a small family owed business, Angel Seafood has now grown to be Australia’s largest producer of pacific oysters – supplying more than 10% of Australia’s pacific oysters while maintaining its sustainability and organic certifications.

Angel Seafood is one of only two sustainable and organic-certified oyster growers in the world, producing premium oysters that are known for their high-quality and delicate taste that cater for a broad collection of high-value markets.

Ideal location

Located on the remote Eyre Peninsula with a 36-hectare holding of developed fast-growing, nutrient-dense water in pristine Coffin Bay, Angel Seafood runs a multi-bay strategy with modern equipment to produce superior oysters at a commercial scale, mitigating production risks and maximising the sustainable operating environment.

The company’s facilities include nursery and oyster grow-out operations in the towns of Cowell and Haslam with a holding capacity of over 20 million oysters; and final conditioning in Coffin Bay with capacity to finish 10 million oysters annually.

Angel Seafood claims this multi-bay strategy makes it unique as it allows for an agile operation that can more quickly adjust to customer demand and needs than its competitors, optimise growth conditions and fast-track production and revenue.

“Our growth and results over the last couple of years have shown the effectiveness of our multi-bay strategy, and the scale at which we are now operating is opening up new opportunities” Mr Halman said.

The company sells to about 10 domestic and two international customers in one country direct from Coffin Bay and processes the oysters for export out of its purpose-built and fully accredited export site in Port Lincoln.

Innovative approach

The company maintains a focus on data acquisition and interpretation to find ways to maximise efficiency, including understanding how the oyster lifecycle is affected by geographical and seasonal growing conditions within the different bays it operates in.

Angel Seafood claims its adjustable longline systems improve water flow and nutrient intake – with high quality water resulting in a more efficient production capability than most other Australian oyster producers – and it recycles its posts and baskets to minimise landfill.

According to Mr Halman, the company aims to capitalise on a growing customer preference for organic and sustainably sourced food.

“Our ‘innovation first’ approach to sustainability, efficiency and profitability aims to make oysters an accessible product and a household name,” he said.

Retail market is its ‘oyster’

The last financial year has been particularly successful as the company scaled its business to sell 6.6 million oysters during the 12 months to June 2020 (up 25% on the previous year) and reported a record revenue of $5 million – despite the challenges posed by COVID-19.

In fact, the global pandemic enabled Angel Seafood to reposition itself to take advantage of the relatively untapped retail market, which represents a substantial growth opportunity for the company.

“Before the COVID-19 pandemic we could have never imagined or planned for an extended period of restaurant closures, denying us access to our traditional markets,” Mr Halman explained.

“The pandemic resulted in us withdrawing our FY 2020 sales guidance at the end of March. However, our business and team has shown extraordinary resilience by quickly pivoting to the retail channel.”

“Approximately 60% of consumers most frequently buy their seafood from supermarkets and our research shows only around 20% of supermarkets currently regularly sell oysters, so there is a significant opportunity for us to increase [market] penetration,” Mr Halman added.

Retailers have reportedly been positive about the move amid growing recognition that the company could guarantee a continuous supply of good quality stock to their stores which has not been possible in a fragmented industry.

The COVID-19 inflicted slowdown also allowed Angel Seafood to invest in improving its stock profile towards higher-value and larger-sized oysters, increase its water holdings and improve its infrastructure.

Mr Halman said these developments place the company in a “really strong position” to deliver substantial future growth.

“Demand for our clean, green, premium oysters continues to be strong and pricing remains stable, which positions us well in the domestic market, and to grow in export markets,” he said.

“As restrictions ease further and consumers return to dining out, we hope to see demand increase across our channels.”

Export markets

COVID-19 containment measures disrupted logistical supply lines earlier in the year, but Mr Halman said export sales have now restarted, with Angel Seafood successfully shipping oysters to existing clients in Hong Kong.

“While volumes have been small due to COVID-19, [we] continue to see this as a long-term venture and with an improved stock profile, we will be well placed to capture market opportunities,” he said.

Premium exports into Asia and the Middle East represent a “large long-term opportunity” in line with increasing global demand for clean and responsibly-sourced seafood.

“We have sufficient scale to guarantee continuous supply of meaningful quantities when global conditions return to normal,” Mr Halman added.

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.