Anax Metals和它人脉广泛的朋友们让Whim Creek重回铜线市场

Anax Metals ASX ANX Whim Creek copper Mons Cupri pit
Whim Creek铜锌项目位于西澳大利亚Pilbara地区中部Port Hedland西南约120公里处。

没什么新心血来潮Whim Creek矿位于西澳大利亚的北部,但是有三个原因投资者重新审视老矿井下新管理,这也是由一个全球矿业巨头和拥有一个独特的价值创造处理技术。

120多年前,该地区首次开采铜矿,大约位于Port Hedland 和 Karratha之间。经过多次所有权变更,现在的控制权落在了一家相对较新的在澳交所上市的公司—— Anax Metals (ASX: ANX)。

交投清淡,股市价值2600万澳元的Anax是一个真正的小盘股,但它也是一个业务有两个非常有趣的企业朋友——南非出生但伦敦,Anglo American和Venturex Resources (ASX: VXR), Bill Beament的新公司利益的人Northern Star (ASX: NST)成为澳大利亚黄金行业的领军企业。

此外,Anax的Whim Creek公寓位于De Grey Mining (ASX: DEG)迅速扩张的Mallina黄金项目附近。

Anax的技术也正在对其控制下的两个老矿——Whim Creek本身和附近的Mons Cupri——的矿石进行测试。

X射线透射排序

Anax公司正在试验的是一种矿石分选系统,目前在概念验证过程中取得了令人鼓舞的结果。该系统起源于废物回收和钻石开采,其基本好处是通过X射线透射分选(XRT)从低品位的岩石中分离出强矿化物质。

XRT可以实现的一个例子是对Mons Cupri的一份矿石样品进行升级,该样品在工艺开始时的铜含量为3.45%,后来的含量为6.15%——矿石中发现的金、锌和铅的含量也增加了一倍。

这项技术是由挪威的Tomra公司开发的,最初用来帮助工业废物分类,传感器通过压缩空气的精确爆破来识别传送带上的金属,从而分离不同的材料。

钻石采矿者使用这项技术是因为钻石在x射线下会发出荧光,这使得计算机控制的传感器可以很容易地识别钻石,并用喷射气流把它们从传送带上弹下来。

它适用于Whim Creek的铜和锌矿,因为x射线技术能够从密度较低、因此矿化程度较低的材料中识别出具有较高比重的重矿石。

Anax董事总经理Geoff Laing表示,在进行更常规的加工之前,可能将矿石品位提高一倍,这将对Whim Creek的再开发产生重大经济效益。

Laing说:“我们设想了一种简单、低成本、基于采矿、破碎、分类和浸出的操作,该操作是在该项目的前所有者之一Straits Resources现有的平台上进行的。”

“我们可以看到一条清晰的生产道路,因为该项目可以在Mons Cupri和Whim Creek进行露天开采,也可以在Salt Creek进行地下开采。”

扩大资源

勘探应扩大Anax控制下的资源,目前总铜矿量为825万吨,铜品位为1.03%,富锌物质总量为1275万吨,锌品位为6.63%。

这些资源估计早于最近在Mons Cupri进行的钻探,目的是获得矿石分选和冶金样品,最佳结果包括43米深度处的42米深度2.34%的铜,以及32米深度处的11米深度5.01%的锌。

有用的作为一个公司的启动项目Anax的大小,心血来潮溪Venturex不够大,Beament想成长为一个重要的铜生产商,这就是为什么他策划一个减,看到Anax持有合资公司80%的股权项目区域、和Venturex保留20%的股份。

Anglo American被西澳铜矿所吸引

Anglo American的加入,是一家急于在澳大利亚一个地区的铜复苏中抢占先机的企业。在该地区被铁矿石生产商占据了数十年的主导地位后,该地区显示出了发展潜力。

Pilbara重新成为贱金属(铜和锌)和贵金属(金和银)的来源,是澳大利亚矿业最近的重大发展之一。

虽然Anglo American对该地区并非新来者,上世纪80年代曾试图掌握Blue Spec金矿复杂的地质情况(但以失败告终),但铜这种金属的需求强劲且不断增长,将其吸引到了Anax 和 Whim Creek 地区。

在一项多阶段交易中,Anglo American团向Anax注入了200万美元的初始资金,以换取1%的冶炼净回报率,并同意了一个最高2,000万美元的项目融资计划,以及未来Whim Creek生产的一项收购协议。

Anax的增长战略

Laing 表示,Anax 正在制定一个两阶段的增长战略,其中一个阶段的工作重点是在升级 Straits 在 2009 年将该项目出售给 Venturex 时留下的现有工厂和设备后重新开始采矿——当时铜正在销售每磅约 2.50 美元,远低于目前的 4.22 美元/磅。

增长战略的第二部分是扩大公司在该地区矿权的勘探,重点是黄金潜力。

在 3 月份通过发行 0.068 澳元的股票筹集了 470 万澳元后,Anax 手头有足够的现金来推进其增长计划,尽管该公司尚未引起投资者的注意,其股价在过去一个月从 0.11 澳元下跌至 0.072 澳元。

重新开发旧矿始终是一个高风险的策略,但 Anax 的目标是靠近澳大利亚最近最好的金矿发现之一(De Grey 的 Mallina 项目)、地下铜资源和两个连接良好的矿区。 Anglo American 和 Venturex 的合伙人。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Anax Metals and well-connected friends put Whim Creek back on the copper map

Anax Metals ASX ANX Whim Creek copper Mons Cupri pit
The Whim Creek copper-zinc project is located approximately 120km south-west of Port Hedland in the central Pilbara region of Western Australia.

There is nothing new about the Whim Creek copper mine in Western Australia’s north, but there are three reasons for investors to take a fresh look at an old mine under new management, which is also backed by a global mining giant and armed with a unique value-creating processing technology.

First copper was mined in the area, which lies roughly halfway between Port Hedland and Karratha, more than 120 years ago, and after repeated ownership changes, control now rests with a relatively new ASX-listed company, Anax Metals (ASX: ANX).

Thinly traded and with a stock-market value of $26 million Anax is a genuine small cap, but it’s also a business with two very interesting corporate friends – the South African born but London-based, Anglo American, and Venturex Resources (ASX: VXR), the new corporate interest of Bill Beament, the man who built Northern Star (ASX: NST) into an Australian gold leader.

And then there’s the location of Anax’s Whim Creek tenements which adjoin the rapidly expanding Mallina gold project of De Grey Mining (ASX: DEG).

There’s also Anax’s technology which is being tested on ore extracted from two of the old mines now under its control, Whim Creek itself, and the nearby Mons Cupri.

X-Ray Transmission Sorting

What Anax is trialling, with encouraging results so far in a proof-of-concept process, is an ore sorting system which has its roots in waste recycling and diamond mining with the essential benefit being that it separates strongly mineralised material from low-grade rocks using X-Ray Transmission sorting (XRT).

An example of what XRT can achieve is the upgrading of a sample of ore from Mons Cupri, which assayed 3.45% copper at the start of the process, emerging at 6.15% copper – with a similar doubling effect on gold, zinc and lead found in the ore.

The technology, developed by Norwegian-based Tomra was originally used to help sort industrial waste using sensors to identify metals travelling on a conveyor belt with pinpoint blasts of compressed air separating different materials.

Diamond miners use the technology because diamonds fluoresce under X-Rays which makes them easy for a computer-controlled sensor to identify and flick them off a conveyor belt with a jet of air.

It works on Whim Creek copper and zinc ore because the X-Ray technology is able to identify denser ore with a high specific gravity from less dense and therefore less mineralised material.

Anax managing director Geoff Laing said that potential doubling of the ore grade before more conventional processing would have significant financial benefits to the redevelopment of Whim Creek.

“We envisage a simple, low cost, operation based on mining, crushing, sorting and leaching on an existing pad installed by one of the previous owners of the project, Straits Resources,” Laing said.

“We can see a clear path to production because the project is amenable to open pit mining at Mons Cupri and Whim Creek, and underground mining at Salt Creek.”

Expanding resources

Exploration should expand the resources under Anax’s control with total copper ore currently measured at 8.25 million tonnes grading 1.03% copper, while the zinc-rich material totals 1.275Mt at 6.63% zinc.

Those resource estimates predate recent drilling at Mons Cupri designed to obtain ore sorting and metallurgical samples with best results that included 42m at 2.34% copper from a depth of 43m, and 11m at 5.01% zinc from 32m.

Useful as a starter project for a company the size of Anax, Whim Creek is not big enough for Venturex, which Beament wants to grow into a significant copper producer, which is why he engineered a sell down that sees Anax hold 80% of a joint venture covering the project area, and Venturex retaining a 20% stake.

Anglo American lured by WA copper

Anglo American enters the picture as a business keen to get in on the ground floor of a copper revival in a region of Australian showing potential after decades of dominance by iron ore producers.

The re-awakening of the Pilbara as a source of base metals (copper and zinc) and precious metals (gold and silver) is one of the more significant recent developments in Australian mining.

While Anglo American is not a newcomer to the region having tried (and failed) to master the complex geology of the Blue Spec goldmine in the 1980s the lure of copper as a metal in strong and growing demand has attracted it to Anax and the Whim Creek region.

A multi-staged deal has seen Anglo American inject an initial US$2 million into Anax in exchange for a 1% net smelter return and agree to a project funding package of up to US$20 million and an offtake agreement for future Whim Creek production.

Anax’s growth strategy

Laing said Anax was working on a two-phase growth strategy with one phase of the work focused on a mining re-start after upgrading existing plant and equipment left by Straits when it sold the project to Venturex in 2009 – a time when copper was selling for around US$2.50 a pound, well below its current US$4.22/lb.

The second part of the growth strategy is to expand exploration across the company’s tenements in the region with a focus on gold potential.

After raising $4.7 million in March through a share issue priced of $0.068, Anax has sufficient cash in hand to move ahead with its growth plans, though it is a company yet to attract the attention of investors having suffered a price slide from $0.11 to $0.072 over the past month.

Redeveloping old mines is always a high-risk strategy, but what Anax has going for it is a ground position close to one of Australia’s best recent gold discoveries (De Grey’s Mallina project), a copper resource in the ground, and two well-connected associates in Anglo American and Venturex.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.