Althea的MyAccess Clinics促进了英国的扩张,与Drug Science合作

Althea MyAccess Clinics UK expansion Drug Science ASX AGH
Althea说,它已经获得了5家新诊所的批准,使诊所总数达到7家。

制药公司Althea Group (ASX: AGH)公布了在英国取得的一系列进展,引用了在确保新的病人转诊协议、进一步批准更多的诊所地点以及与独立科学委员会达成协议方面的“重大进展”。

在英国,该公司表示,它正在逐步取得进展,并最终寻求促进其子公司MMJ诊所集团额外的诊所地点,也称为MyAccess Clinics。

在今天早上的一份市场声明中,Althea宣布它已经与Drug Science签订了一份谅解备忘录(MoU)。Drug Science是一个独立的科学委员会,目前正在英国进行第一个国家大麻医用试点。

这个被称为“Project Twenty21”的项目旨在到2021年底注册2万名医用大麻患者(尽管是去年11月成立的),目前是欧洲第一个也是最大的全国性医用大麻注册中心。

Drug Science强调,“21世纪计划”是一个“注册”项目,而不是成熟的临床试验;尽管如此,其首要目标是“为NHS提供强有力的资金支持”。

这个新项目的具体目标是确定医用大麻在七种关键病症(焦虑症、慢性疼痛、癫痫、多发性硬化症、创伤后应激障碍、药物使用障碍和图雷特综合症)中的有利风险/效益比。

根据Drug Science的说法,该项目将为医用大麻的有效性和耐受性创造最大的证据——目的是向决策者证明医用大麻应该像其他批准的药物一样广泛获得和负担得起。

根据谅解备忘录的条款,药物科学公司将把患者转到MyAccess诊所接受其处方人员的评估,并在随后的Project Twenty21中纳入和治疗。

这一举措还意味着,MyAccess Clinic的处方医生将评估整个Project Twenty21产品配方,不过他们必须支付定期咨询费,包括150英镑(约合275澳元)的初始费用,以及此后50英镑(约合90澳元)的定期咨询费。

该公司表示:“尽管Project Twenty21旨在收集顽固性癫痫病例的健康结果措施,但由于药物科学无法控制的原因,我们一直无法补贴这种情况的药物成本。”

Althea补充说:“在此期间,如果患者希望为这种情况寻求基于大麻的药物,他们可以在一家私人大麻诊所接受治疗,但目前这超出了Twenty21的补贴成本范围。”

此外,作为安抚政策制定者和展示大麻疗效的一种手段,该项目规定,医用大麻诊所将只接受尝试过两种不同的合法药物治疗的病人,这两种药物必须被证明无效。

对患者来说,重要的是,谅解备忘录没有限制“我的访问”诊所的处方医生的临床自由,并有望使向患者提供的咨询服务多样化,以及从公共资金中扩大药用大麻的资金。

据Althea的首席执行官Josh Fagan说,Project Twenty21不仅将为Althea的诊所创造更多的病人咨询机会,“而且还将产生有价值的数据,可以用来加强基于大麻的药物的广泛使用和通过NHS报销的需要。”

“我们对MyAccess诊所在英国取得的进展感到非常高兴,尽管冠状病毒带来了挑战,”他补充说。

冠状病毒因素

尽管冠状病毒对商业活动造成了广泛的负面影响,但Althea表示,在MyAccess Clinics的各项关键指标中,它仍保持弹性,“继续看到强劲增长”。

据Althea称,在过去的两个月里,MyAccess Clinics收到的基于网络的咨询数量几乎翻了一番,从339增加到673。

此外,病人的咨询次数也出现了显著的月度上升,同期上升了50%。可能作为病人快速接受的指标,从病人完成问诊到最终开具医用大麻处方,处方转化率达到94%。

此外,冠状病毒还加速了MyAccess Clinics推出的“远程医疗”服务,这是一种允许处方医生对英国任何地方的患者进行视频咨询的方式。

更多诊所位置

在获得去年底获得的护理质量委员会(CQC)许可证后,MyAccess Clinics可以提供远程医疗服务。

CQC最近还批准了五个新的诊所位置-使MyAccess Clinics的总数达到七个。

除伦敦和布里斯托尔现有的诊所外,MyAccess Clinics还被批准在伦敦开设第二家诊所,并在伯明翰,利兹,利物浦和曼彻斯特开设诊所。

Althea说:“批准CQC许可证是该公司在英国扩张计划中的一个重要里程碑,它为使用大麻的药物作为治疗选择提供了进一步的法规接受,

Althea’s MyAccess Clinics boosts UK expansion, teams up with Drug Science

Althea MyAccess Clinics UK expansion Drug Science ASX AGH
Althea said it has received approval for five new clinics, taking its total number of clinics up to seven.

Pharma company Althea Group (ASX: AGH) has unveiled a string of advances in the UK citing “significant progress” in securing a new patient referral agreement, further approvals for more clinic locations and an agreement with an independent scientific committee.

With respect to the UK, the company indicated it is making incremental progress and ultimately seeks to facilitate additional clinic locations for its subsidiary MMJ Clinic Group, also known as MyAccess Clinics.

In a statement to the market to this morning, Althea announced it had entered into a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with Drug Science, an independent scientific committee currently conducting the UK’s first national pilot for medical cannabis.

The initiative, dubbed “Project Twenty21”, aims to enrol 20,000 medical cannabis patients by the end of 2021 (despite being founded in November last year) and currently stands as Europe’s first and largest national medical cannabis registry.

Drug Science has stressed that Project Twenty21 is a “registry” as opposed to fully-fledged clinical trial; although, the overarching goal is to make a “powerful case for NHS funding”.

The new project is specifically seeking to determine the favourable risk/benefit ratio of medical cannabis in seven key identified conditions – anxiety disorder, chronic pain, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, PTSD, substance use disorder and Tourette’s Syndrome.

According to the Drug Science, the project will create the largest body of evidence for the effectiveness and tolerability of medical cannabis – with the aim of demonstrating to policymakers that medical cannabis should be as widely available, and affordable, as other approved medicines.

Under the terms of the MoU, Drug Science will refer patients to MyAccess Clinics for assessment by its prescribers and for subsequent inclusion and treatment in Project Twenty21.

The initiative also means that MyAccess Clinics prescribers will assess the full Project Twenty21 product formulary, although must pay regular consultation fees including an initial fee of £150 (A$275), followed by recurring £50 (A$90) consultations thereafter.

“Although Project Twenty21 aims to collect health outcome measures in cases of intractable epilepsy, for reasons outside of Drug Science’s control, we have been unable to subsidise the cost of medication for this condition,” the company said.

Althea added: “In the interim, if patients wish to seek cannabis-based medicinal products for this condition, they can receive treatment at a private medical cannabis clinic, but this will be outside the scope of Twenty21 subsidised costing, at this time.”

Moreover, as a means of appeasing policymakers and demonstrating cannabis efficacy, the project stipulates that medical cannabis clinics will only accept patients who have attempted two different licenced medications to treat their condition, both of which must have proven to be ineffective.

Importantly for patients, the MoU does not restrict the clinical freedom of MyAccess Clinics’ prescribers and is expected to diversify consultative care being offered to patients, as well as extending the funding of medicinal cannabis from within the public purse.

According to Althea’s chief executive officer Josh Fagan, Project Twenty21 will not only create additional patient consultation opportunities for Althea’s clinics, “but will also yield valuable data that can be used to strengthen the case for wider use of cannabis-based medicines and the need for reimbursement through the NHS.”

“We are very pleased with the progress MyAccess Clinics is making in the UK, despite the challenges caused by COVID-19,” he added.

COVID-19 factor

Despite the extensive negative impacts on business activity as a result of COVID-19, Althea said it has remained resilient and “continues to see strong growth” across MyAccess Clinics’ key metrics.

According to Althea, over the past two months, MyAccess Clinics received almost double the number of web-based enquiries, increasing from 339 to 673.

There was also a significant rise in month-on-month patient consultations, which were up 50% over the same period. Possibly as an indicator of rapid patient acceptance, prescriptions posted a 94% conversion rate, counting from the time of completed patient consultation to final prescription for medical cannabis.

Furthermore, COVID-19 has also accelerated MyAccess Clinics’ roll-out of its “telehealth” services, a means of allowing prescribers to conduct video consultations with patients located anywhere in the UK.

More clinic locations

MyAccess Clinics can provide telehealth services following the receipt of its care quality commission (CQC) licence obtained late last year.

The CQC has also recently approved five new clinic locations – bringing the total number of MyAccess Clinics up to seven.

In addition to the existing clinics in London and Bristol, MyAccess Clinics has also been approved for a second location in London as well as clinics in Birmingham, Leeds, Liverpool and Manchester.

“Approval of the CQC licence was a significant milestone in the Company’s UK expansion plans and it has provided further regulatory acceptance of cannabis-based medicines being used as a treatment option,” Althea said.

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts