Altech Chemicals筹集资金,推进高纯氧化铝项目

Altech Chemicals ASX ATC Malaysia HPA processing plant financing high purity alumina
Altech Chemicals正在努力关闭其马来西亚HPA加工厂的融资。

新兴的高纯度氧化铝(HPA)生产商Altech Chemicals (ASX: ATC)在马来西亚的加工厂建设进展顺利,其目标是成为锂离子电池行业99.99% (4N级)高纯度氧化铝的世界领先供应商。

截至今年9月底,这家澳大利亚公司已经完成了其位于马来西亚南部柔佛州的年产4500吨工厂第二阶段的前期建设工作。

Altech的董事总经理Iggy Tan对Small Cap表示,该公司正在努力关闭其垂直整合项目的融资,该项目将对其在西澳大利亚州Meckering的高岭土矿上100%拥有的原料进行加工。

11月早些时候,Altech宣布将筹集1450万澳元,其中一部分资金将用于偿还第二阶段的建设工程,以及HPA的其他项目。

该项目的总投资估计为4.13亿美元(5.62亿澳元),单是工厂建设就有2.8亿美元(3.81亿澳元)。

根据德国政府拥有的KfW ipex银行的一项高级项目融资贷款安排,该公司已经获得了1.9亿美元(2.59亿澳元)。此外,该公司最近还启动了一项上市的“绿色债券”融资方案,作为夹层银行债务的另一种选择,该方案将再融资1亿澳元。

HPA工厂建设

在过去的两年里,Altech已经筹集了大约3900万澳元来维持项目的势头,并开始了第一阶段和第二阶段的建设,在它的4,500tpa的马来西亚工厂基地。

一期工程于2019年2月开工,二期工程于今年7月竣工(此前因新冠肺炎疫情爆发解除了临时限制)。

Tan表示,在项目融资结束前动工的策略,是一个“测试和证明该地区建设风险较低”的机会。

他说:“尽管坦荣朗萨特工业园区是一个成熟的工业园区,Altech一直对类似于澳大利亚可能经历的建设初创企业充满信心,但实际展示这一点对所有利益相关者都有好处。”

“风险包括获得施工许可、进入现场、环境批准、监管许可、地面条件的演示,以及合格的分包商能否安全、符合国际标准。”

Altech指定的工程采购与建设(EPC)承包商已于7月初从该工地遣散,但Tan表示,该工地处于良好位置,一旦获得额外项目资金,建筑活动将迅速重启。EPC是德国SMS集团的子公司。

HPA项目的保守现金流模型显示,30年经营的税前净现值为5.056亿美元(6.885亿澳元),预计回收期为3.8年。

HPA市场前景

HPA是一种高价值、高利润和高要求的产品,在合成蓝宝石的生产中都是必需的,用于制造LED灯的基片、电子工业的半导体晶片和抗刮蓝宝石玻璃。

HPA在锂离子电池的制造中也被越来越多地消耗,它被应用在用于电池的聚合物正极/负极分隔片上,以减少分隔片的收缩和电池的燃烧。

Altech委托一个独立市场研究称,全球4n(也就是说,纯度大于99.99%)水平HPA需求约19000 tpa, 2018年预计增加30%的复合年增长率到2028年约272000 tpa,主要由迅速扩张的锂离子电池和LED驱动的制造业。

Tan表示,欧洲电动汽车的发展也将推动4N HPA的需求增长。

欧洲正在建设的锂离子电池制造能力到2025年将达到每年300千瓦时。据估计,这种产品每年对作为电池隔板涂层的HPA的需求为25,000吨。”

德国可能的第二个HPA工厂

今年7月,Altech的德国子公司签署了一份购买萨克森工业园区10公顷土地的选择权,以评估建设第二个HPA工厂的可行性。这个想法得到了萨克森州政府的大力支持,政府向该公司提供了738万欧元(1200万澳元)的资助。

“Altech仍然专注于完成我们在马来西亚柔佛州的第一家HPA工厂的融资,并重新开始建设。”不过,通过评估德国的这一机遇,我们正迅速对欧洲的努力做出反应,欧洲正努力将其供应链拉近国内,并增强其在关键原材料(如用于锂离子电池制造的原材料)方面的自力更生能力。”

他补充说:“我们认为这是一个不容忽视的潜在机会,特别是鉴于Altech与德国建立了牢固的联系——既包括我们的股份登记、我们的董事会,也包括我们与SMS集团和德国政府所有的KfW ipex银行建立的关系。”

Altech表示,最近筹集的1,450万澳元资金将部分用于该公司在欧洲的各种举措,其中还包括上市的绿色债券。

这项按比例认购的非再认权益协议以每股0.04澳元、2:5的价格向合资格股东提供超过3.633亿股股票,每认购两股新股外加一个免费附加期权。

硅粉的合作

与此同时,Altech宣布与领先的硅粉供应商硅铁太阳能合作,开发用于锂离子电池的高容量、长生命周期的硅阳极活性材料。

在为期12个月的合作中,两家公司将分析使用Altech公司的HPA和技术来覆盖由硅铁太阳能提供的特别设计的硅颗粒的可能性。Altech将提供涂层技术和测试工作的唯一资金。

谭以特斯拉最近电池日的公告为例表示,预计硅解决方案将“在未来5至7年内主导电池市场”。

“硅的(理论)容量是碳基材料的近10倍,约3500毫安时/克。除了优越的电化学性能,硅也是地球上最丰富的材料,仅次于氧,消除了潜在的短缺问题,”他说。

Altech正在开发阳极级HPA和涂层技术,目的是将涂层应用到目前锂离子电池阳极典型的石墨颗粒上。我们相信同样的技术可以应用于硅电池硅粉

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.

Altech Chemicals raises cash to forge ahead with high purity alumina initiatives

Altech Chemicals ASX ATC Malaysia HPA processing plant financing high purity alumina
Altech Chemicals is working to close financing for its Malaysian HPA processing plant.

Emerging high purity alumina (HPA) producer Altech Chemicals (ASX: ATC) is making good progress on the construction of its Malaysian processing plant with a view to become a world-leading supplier of 99.99% (4N grade) HPA for the lithium-ion battery industry.

By the end of the September quarter, the Australian company had completed early works construction for stage two of its planned 4,500 tonnes-per-annum plant located in the southern Malaysian state of Johor.

Altech managing director Iggy Tan told Small Caps that the company is working hard to close finance for its vertically integrated project, which will process feedstock shipped from its 100% owned kaolin mine in Meckering, Western Australia.

Earlier in November, Altech announced an entitlement offer to raise $14.5 million with some of the funds to be used to pay off the stage two construction works, as well as for other HPA initiatives.

A total funding of US$413 million (A$562 million) is estimated for the project, with plant construction alone coming in at US$280 million (A$381 million).

The company has already secured US$190 million (A$259 million) under a senior project finance loan facility with German government-owned KfW IPEX-Bank. And it recently initiated a listed ‘green bond’ funding option that would secure up to an additional US$100m as an alternative to mezzanine bank debt.

HPA plant construction

Over the past two years, Altech has raised about $39 million to maintain project momentum and commence stage one and two construction at its 4,500tpa HPA plant site in Malaysia.

Stage one construction began in February 2019 and stage two was completed this July (following a lift of temporary restrictions due to the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic).

Mr Tan said the strategy to commence construction works prior to project finance close was an opportunity to “test and demonstrate the low level of construction risk for the location”.

“Although the Tanjung Langsat Industrial Complex is a mature industrial park and Altech was always confident of a construction start-up similar to that which may be experienced in Australia, there were benefits for all stakeholders in actually demonstrating this,” he said.

“Risks included the ease of obtaining construction permits, site access, environmental approvals, regulatory permits, the demonstration of ground conditions and the availability of competent subcontractors that would work safely and to international standards.”

Altech’s appointed engineering procurement and construction (EPC) contractor, a subsidiary of Germany’s SMS group, demobilised from the site in early July, but Mr Tan said the site is well positioned for the rapid restart of construction activities once additional project funding is secured.

Conservative cash flow modelling of the HPA project has demonstrated a pre-tax net present value of US$505.6 million (A$688.5 million) for a 30-year operation and an estimated payback period of 3.8 years.

HPA market outlook

HPA is a high-value, high-margin and highly demanded product required in the production of synthetic sapphire for the fabrication of substrates for LED lights, semiconductor wafers for the electronics industry and scratch-resistant sapphire glass.

HPA is also increasingly consumed in the manufacture of lithium-ion batteries, where it is applied as a coating on the polymer anode/cathode separator sheets used in batteries to reduce separator shrinkage and battery combustibility.

According to an independent market study commissioned by Altech, global 4N (that is, a purity level of 99.99% or greater) HPA demand was around 19,000tpa in 2018 and is estimated to increase at a compound annual growth rate of 30% to about 272,000tpa by 2028, driven primarily by the rapidly expanding lithium-ion battery and LED manufacturing sectors.

Mr Tan said demand growth for 4N HPA would also be driven by electric vehicle developments within Europe.

“Lithium-ion battery cell manufacturing capacity already under construction in Europe amounts to 300KWh annually by 2025. Demand for HPA as a coating on battery separators from such annual production is estimated at 25,000 tonnes per year,” he said.

Potential second HPA plant in Germany

In July, Altech’s German subsidiary signed an option to purchase a 10-hectare site in a Saxony industrial park to evaluate the viability of building a second HPA plant. This idea was strongly supported by the Saxony state government, which offered the company a grant of €7,380,000 (A$12 million).

“Altech remains focussed on delivering the close of funding for our first HPA plant in Johor, Malaysia and the recommencement of construction. However, by evaluating this opportunity in Germany we are quickly responding to Europe’s push to bring its supply chains closer to home and to increase its self-reliance for critical raw materials – such as those that are used in the manufacture of lithium-ion batteries,” Mr Tan said.

“We see this as a potential opportunity that cannot be ignored, especially given Altech’s strong established links to Germany – both on our share register, our board, and the relationships we have built with SMS group and German government-owned KfW IPEX-Bank,” he added.

Altech said funds from its most recent $14.5 million capital raising will be partly applied to the company’s various European initiatives, which also include the listed green bonds.

The non-renounceable pro-rata entitlement deal is offering eligible shareholders more than 363.3 million shares at $0.04 each on a 2:5 basis, plus one free attaching option for each two new shares subscribed.

Silicon powder collaboration

Meanwhile, Altech has announced a new collaboration with leading silicon powder supplier Silico Ferrosolar to develop a high capacity, long life cycle silicon anode active material targeted for use in lithium-ion batteries.

Under the 12-month partnership, the companies will analyse the possibility of using Altech’s HPA and technology to coat specifically designed silicon particles supplied by Silico Ferrosolar. Altech will supply the coating technology and sole fund the test work.

Citing announcements from Tesla’s recent Battery Day, Mr Tan said silicon solutions are expected to “dominate the battery market over the next five to seven years”.

“Silicon has almost 10 times the (theoretical) capacity compared to carbon-based materials, at some 3500mAh/g. Next to its superior electrochemical performance, silicon is also the most abundant material on earth after oxygen, eliminating potential shortage issues,” he said.

“Altech is developing anode-grade HPA and coating technology for the purpose of applying the coating to graphite particles that are typical of those currently used in the anode of the lithium-ion battery. We believe the same technology can be applied to Silico’s battery silicon powders

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.