航空公司和旅游股受到了冠状病毒的影响

Airline stocks ASX travel coronavirus covid-19 Australia
由于冠状病毒,航空公司被迫暂停国际和国内航班。

由于冠状病毒疫情严重影响了需求,澳大利亚证交所上市的航空公司和旅游股受到了沉重打击,因为旅行限制收紧。

全球各地的航空公司都在削减航班运力,维珍澳大利亚航空公司(Virgin Australia Holdings)是最新宣布计划在6月中旬之前暂停所有国际航班,并将国内航班运力削减一半的航空公司。

周二,澳航宣布至少在5月底之前将国际航班削减90%左右。

COVID-19的持续价差和全面影响的不确定性,也令获利预估暂停,令投资者不安,许多旅游相关类股过去一个月市值缩水一半 

由于需求下降,数百架飞机停飞

维珍澳大利亚Virgin Australia航空公司今天宣布,将从3月30日至6月14日暂停所有国际航班,并在6月14日前将国内运力削减50%。

此外,维珍航空公司的53架飞机已被暂时停飞。

Virgin Australia首席执行官兼董事总经理保罗•斯克拉在一份声明中表示:“我们已进入全球航空业的一个前所未有的时代,这要求我们采取重大行动,负责任地管理我们的业务,同时平衡旅客需求,支持澳大利亚人的福祉。”

他补充说:“我们作出了艰难的决定,包括削减国内运力,并分阶段暂停国际航班两个半月。”

澳航计划在5月底之前(至少)削减90%的国际运力,高于上周宣布的2020财年第四季度23%的削减量。

此外,该公司还表示,在此期间将把国内运力削减约60%。

该公司表示,这些大规模的削减相当于停飞约150架飞机,包括几乎所有的澳航宽体机队。

同样,新西兰航空公司Air New Zealand(ASX: AIZ)本周宣布,将在“未来几个月”削减85%的长途(国际)运力,并将制定最低限度的时间表,允许新西兰人回国,并“保持与亚洲和北美的贸易走廊开放”。

该航空公司表示,国内航班在4月和5月也将减少30%左右。

周三上午,该公司暂停营业,等待有关旅行限制的财务和运营影响的消息。

澳洲航空表示,国际旅行需求受到了“对人们海外旅行能力的严格检疫要求”的影响。

澳大利亚总理斯科特莫里森(Scott Morrison)周日宣布,所有入境旅客将被要求自我隔离14天。各州和各地区执行这一规定的方式各不相同,西澳大利亚州面临的处罚最严厉,可能是5万美元的罚款或长达12个月的监禁。

周三,他向全国发表讲话,将全球旅行禁令提升至4级,这在澳大利亚历史上还是第一次,他建议澳大利亚人根本不要出国旅行。

这一严厉的建议是在该国确诊的COVID-19病例增加到450多人之际提出的。

欧盟成员国周二同意,对来自其他国家的大多数人关闭外部边界至少30天。

在世界其它地区,一些国家正在实施为期14天的检疫规定,而另一些国家则禁止来自中国、伊朗、意大利和英国等特定国家的旅客入境。

与此同时,澳大利亚政府已建议不要进行不必要的旅行和100人以上的聚会。澳航表示,国内旅行需求的迅速下降,是由于公司旅行限制和“整个社区日常活动的普遍减少”。

劳动力过剩和减薪

新西兰航空公司周一表示,将需要“永久职位开始裁员的过程”由于旅游业的低迷,而澳洲航空公司表示,它正试图管理影响自己的工作“尽可能”包括通过使用付费和无薪休假。

需求的急剧下降,以及由此导致的航班减少,意味着澳航集团的各项业务面临着严重的劳动力过剩。旅行需求不太可能在几周甚至几个月的时间内出现反弹,整个3万名员工都将感受到这种影响,”澳航表示。

该公司此前宣布,首席执行官艾伦•乔伊斯(Alan Joyce)和董事长理查德•高德(Richard Goyder)将“停薪3个月”,集团高管和董事会成员将“大幅减薪”,并取消年度奖金和场外回购。

维珍也公布了类似的成本削减措施,包括临时削减15%的董事长和独立董事费用,以及取消管理层奖金和包括加薪在内的其他激励措施。

该公司表示,“由于不确定性和covid19情况的不断演变”,将暂停发布盈利指引。不过,该公司与标普全球(S&P Global)周二分享了一份研究报告,该报告称,由于市场环境不断恶化,该公司下调了发行者的信用评级。

报告称:“我们认为,维珍澳大利亚航空为进一步削减运力、退出亏损航线、加速降低成本和简化机队而做出的协调一致的努力——尽管是适当的——不太可能完全抵消旅行需求下降带来的现金流影响。”

在航空股中,澳航受到的打击最大,过去一周下跌了28%,当月下跌54%。

维珍航空的股价上周下跌了8.7%,本月下跌了51%,而新西兰航空过去七天的股价较一个月前下跌了9.7%,跌幅为41%。

其它旅游股也在下跌

其他旅游相关股票也感受到了冠状病毒的影响,“鉴于冠状病毒不确定性的加剧”,飞行中心旅游集团(ASX: FLT)上周暂停了对2020财年收益的预测。

该旅行社此前将全年的税前基本利润从3.1亿至3.5亿美元下调至2.4亿至3亿美元。

Flight Centre董事总经理格雷厄姆•特纳(Graham Turner)表示,该公司将利用其在2003年非典(SARS)爆发和2009年全球金融危机期间的经验,“寻求刺激需求,同时实施合理的成本削减战略,以保持其资产负债表的实力”。

但投资者对股市迅速跌至10年低点并不那么有信心,这反映出上周股市下跌了34%,本月下跌了60%。

商务旅行管理公司(ASX: CTD)宣布暂停其盈利指导,并实施削减成本的计划,包括缩短按比例发放工资和无薪休假的工作时间,冻结非必要的招聘,并削减可自由支配的开支。

该公司还表示,董事总经理纳尔逊(Jonathan Nelson)和非执行董事的费用将削减20%,并在本财年剩余时间内固定重新计算。

悉尼机场(ASX: SYD)公布2月份国际客运量下降16.8%,国内客运量下降4.5%后,其股价上周已下跌约25%。

“和我们的航空公司合作伙伴一样,我们也正在经历冠状病毒带来的财务影响。到达和离开的旅客与我们的航空收入有直接的联系,所以我们分担每一次航班取消的痛苦,”悉尼机场首席执行官杰夫·卡尔伯特(Geoff Culbert)说。

国内航空服务公司区域快递控股公司(简称:REX)周二暂停交易,最近公布的半年业绩不如人意。

国内航空公司的股价在过去六个月下跌了42%以上。

飞进飞出的包机运营商联合航空服务公司(Alliance Aviation Services,简称:AQZ)尚未宣布由于冠状病毒爆发而对其业务活动做出任何改变,尽管该公司股价在过去一个月里下跌了一半以上,与其它航空股一样。

位于澳大利亚南部的巴士和渡轮运营商Sealink Travel Group上个月的市值也缩水了20%以上。该公司表示,预计近期的森林大火和冠状病毒的综合影响,将使其下半年的EBITDA减少500万美元。

不过,该公司向投资者保证,其海洋和旅游业务“正在采取缓解措施,以抵消负面影响”。

该公司在2月份的一份报告中表示:“中国在旅游收入中所占比例不到4%,目前在集团总收入(包括交通系统集团)中所占比例不到1%。”

Sealink最近还宣布保留四份南澳大利亚巴士合同,并授予其他合同。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

Airline and travel stocks feel the impact of coronavirus

Airline stocks ASX travel coronavirus covid-19 Australia
Airline companies are being forced to suspend both international and domestic flights due to the coronavirus.

ASX-listed airline and travel stocks have taken a pummelling as tightening travel restrictions due to the coronavirus pandemic severely impact demand.

Airlines around the globe have been slashing flight capacity with Virgin Australia Holdings (ASX: VAH) being the latest to announce plans to suspend all international flights until mid-June and cut domestic flight capacity in half.

It follows Tuesday’s announcement that Qantas Airways (ASX: QAN) will cut international flights by around 90% until at least the end of May.

The uncertainty of COVID-19’s continued spread and full impact also has earnings guidances on hold and investors on edge with many travel-related stocks losing half of their value over the past month.

Hundreds of planes grounded as demand falls

Virgin Australia today revealed it will suspend all international flights from 30 March to 14 June and reduce domestic capacity by 50% until 14 June.

In addition, 53 aircraft have been temporarily grounded from the Virgin fleet.

“We have entered an unprecedented time in the global aviation industry, which has required us to take significant action to responsibly manage our business while balancing traveller demands and supporting the wellbeing of Australians,” Virgin Australia chief executive officer and managing director Paul Scurrah said in a statement.

“We have responded by making tough decisions which include reducing our domestic capacity and phasing in the temporary suspension of international flying for a period of two and a half months,” he added.

Qantas’ plans to cut 90% of international capacity until the end of May (at a minimum) is up from its 23% reduction for the FY 2020 fourth quarter announced last week.

In addition, the airline said it will reduce domestic capacity by about 60% over the same period.

These large-scale reductions are equivalent to the grounding of around 150 aircraft, including almost all of Qantas’ wide-body fleet, the company stated.

Likewise, Air New Zealand (ASX: AIZ) this week announced it will cut its long-haul (international) capacity by 85% “over the coming months” and will operate a minimal schedule to allow New Zealanders to return home and “to keep trade corridors with Asia and North America open”.

Domestic flights will also be reduced by around 30% in April and May, the airline stated.

The company went into suspension Wednesday morning pending a release on the financial and operational impact of the travel restrictions.

According to Qantas, international travel demand has been impacted by the “severe quarantine requirements on people’s ability to travel overseas”.

In Australia, Prime Minister Scott Morrison announced on Sunday that all travellers entering the country will now be required to self-isolate for 14 days. Each state and territory differ in how they are enforcing this rule, with Western Australians facing the harshest punishment of a $50,000 fine or up to 12 months of imprisonment.

Addressing the nation on Wednesday, he upgraded the travel ban to level 4 for the entire world for the first time in Australia’s history, advising Australians to not travel abroad at all.

The stern advice comes as the country’s tally of confirmed COVID-19 cases climbed to more than 450 people.

European Union member nations on Tuesday agreed to close external borders to most people from other countries for at least 30 days.

In the rest of the world, some countries are enforcing the 14-day quarantine rule, while others are banning entry to travellers coming from certain countries such as China, Iran, Italy and the UK.

Meanwhile, the Australian government has advised against non-essential travel and gatherings of more than 100 people, with Qantas stating a rapid decline in domestic travel demand was due to corporate travel restrictions and a “general pullback from everyday activities across the community”.

Labour surplus issues and pay cuts

Air New Zealand on Monday said it will need to “start the process of redundancies for permanent positions” as a result of the travel downturn, while Qantas said it was trying to manage the impact on its own jobs “as much as possible” including through the use of paid and unpaid leave.

“The precipitous decline in demand and resulting cuts to flying mean that the Qantas Group is confronted with a significant labour surplus across its operations. Travel demand is unlikely to rebound for weeks or possibly months and the impact of this will be felt across the entire workforce of 30,000 people,” Qantas stated.

It previously announced “three months of no pay” for chief executive officer Alan Joyce and chairman Richard Goyder, as well as “significant pay cuts” for group executive management and board members, and cancelling of annual bonuses and an off-market buy back.

Virgin has revealed similar cost reduction measures including a temporary 15% cut in chairman and independent board director fees, and the removal of management bonuses and other incentives including pay rises.

The airline said it is suspending its earning guidance “due to uncertainty and the evolving nature of the COVID-19 situation”, although it shared a research report by S&P Global on Tuesday that lowered its issuer credit rating due to the deteriorating market conditions.

“We believe Virgin Australia’s concerted efforts to further reduce capacity, exit loss-making routes, as well as accelerate cost reduction and fleet simplification initiatives – while appropriate – are unlikely to fully offset the cash flow impact of reducing travel demand,” the report stated.

Of the airline stocks, Qantas has been hit the hardest, with shares down 28% over the past week and 54% over the month.

Virgin’s stock has fallen 8.7% in the last week and 51% over the month, while Air New Zealand has lost 9.7% of its value in the last seven days or 41% compared to a month ago.

Other travel stocks on the decline

Other travel-related stocks are also feeling the impact of coronavirus, with Flight Centre Travel Group (ASX: FLT) last week suspending its earning guidance for the 2020 fiscal year “in light of heightened coronavirus uncertainty”.

The travel agency previously downgraded its full year guidance from an underlying profit before tax of between $310-$350 million to $240-$300 million.

Flight Centre managing director Graham Turner said the company would draw on its experiences with the 2003 SARS outbreak and the 2009 Global Financial Crisis by “seeking to stimulate demand, while also implementing sensible cost reduction strategies to maintain its balance sheet strength”.

But investors are not so confident with stocks rapidly plummeting to 10-year lows, reflecting a 34% decline in the last week and 60% over the month.

Business travel agency Corporate Travel Management (ASX: CTD) announced the suspension of its earnings guidance and actioned cost-cutting plans including shorter working weeks on proportionate pay and leave without pay, a freeze on non-essential recruitment and cuts on discretionary spending.

It also said managing director Jonathan Nelson and non-executive directors will take a 20% cut in their fees and fixed renumeration for the remainder of the financial year.

Sydney Airport (ASX: SYD) has lost about 25% of its share value in the last week after reporting a 16.8% drop in international traffic for the month of February, while domestic traffic fell 4.5%.

“Like our airline partners, we are also experiencing the financial impacts of coronavirus. There is a direct link between passenger arrivals and departures and our aeronautical revenues, so we share the pain of every flight cancellation,” Sydney Airport chief executive officer Geoff Culbert said.

Domestic airline service Regional Express Holdings (ASX: REX) went into a trading halt on Tuesday and recently reported a less than favourable half yearly result.

Shares in the domestic airliner are down over 42% in the past six months.

Fly-in, fly-out air charter operator Alliance Aviation Services (ASX: AQZ) is yet to announce any changes to its business activity as a result of the coronavirus outbreak, although its share price has plunged by more than half in the last month, in line with other aviation stocks.

South Australia-based bus and ferry operator Sealink Travel Group (ASX: SLK) has also lost more than 20% of its value in the last month and said it expected the combined impact of the recent bushfires and coronavirus to result in a $5 million reduction on second half EBITDA.

However, the company assured investors that it was “taking mitigating actions to offset negatives” across its marine and tourism business.

“China represents less than 4% of tourism revenue and now less than 1% of total group revenue (including Transit Systems Group),” the company stated in a February presentation.

Sealink also recently announced the retainment of four South Australian bus contracts and the award of additional contracts.