5G技术:这些好处值得冒健康风险吗?

5G technology small cell boxes health risks
美国国立卫生研究院(National Institutes of Health)透露,在两年的时间里,每天暴露在电磁场辐射下9小时的老鼠,会出现不同寻常的脑部和心脏肿瘤,其DNA持续受损。

5G网络(以及支持5G的移动设备)的推出已经开始,一些国家迫切希望安装新一代互联互通所需的基础设施。

科技和电信行业正在积极准备迎接一个新的无线时代,他们表示,这将带来广泛的经济机会,并为未来的现代社会奠定基础,看起来有点像The Jetsons。

5G技术正在被推广,因为它将为移动用户提供更快的无线速度,并刺激联网设备的新创新。

从长远来看,4G大约比3G快10倍,而5G发送数据的速度比4G快1000倍。

新一代的网络连接是最新的——据科技市场分析师称——最伟大的无线网络技术,将被所有数字设备使用,包括手机、汽车、笔记本电脑,甚至是智能手表。

5G technology connectivity EMF radiation health internet
5G技术将用于将所有电子设备连接到互联网。

澳大利亚政府通信与艺术部门发布了一份题为《5G——促进未来经济》的报告,称5G将为“澳大利亚经济不同部门的下一波生产力和创新提供基础架构”。

该报告还称,5G的高效推广及其所支持的服务有可能产生“深远的经济和社会效益,并支持澳大利亚数字经济的增长”。

的确,这是对物联网(IoT)驱动的澳大利亚光明未来的大胆断言,它最终将与正在推出的国家宽带网络(NBN)同步,并允许“在高速移动、固定线路和固定无线网络之间无缝交付服务的更大能力”。

行业的赞誉

据瑞典电信巨头Ericsson称,到2024年,5G用户将达到15亿人,覆盖范围将扩大到世界人口的40%以上。

然而,5G网络的推广范围远未达到等边,这意味着一些国家和地区将比其他国家和地区更早接收到5G网络。

根据英国咨询公司Ovum发布的研究,到2023年,北美将有多达三分之一的移动连接将使用5G网络,日本、韩国和英国等其他国家也将在这方面处于领先地位。

去年9月,日本公司NTT DOCOMO在与Mitsubishi Electric合作的5G试验中,成功实现了25-27 Gbps的下载速度。

两人表示,该测试可以用于开发高速5G网络,作为物联网热潮的一部分,该网络可以与车辆和其他设备兼容。

首当其冲

为了帮助在全球范围内开启下一代5G网络连接,国际电信联盟(ITU)的责任已经转移到了它身上。作为联合国的一个分支,国际电信联盟是一个专门的机构,致力于在全球范围内实现信息和通信技术的标准化。

他们的想法是,为了让5G网络兼容、高效和无缝,它们需要同质化,并按照商定的标准工作。

令人担心的是,如果跨国公司是留给自己的设备,我们可以看到一个重复发生的AC插座和手机充电器——技术的多样性与不同的电压和设计,最终导致人需要一个转换器每次他们去度假。

世界各国政府已授权国际电信联盟开展正式的国际进程,在2020年前确定5G网络的频带。

它已经制定了5G的技术规范草案,包括高数据速率(热点1 Gbps, 100 Mbps下载和50 Mbps上传的广域覆盖)。更高的数据传输速率还将辅以更大的超低延迟连接,估计每平方公里约有100万个连接。

消费者将首次享受到数据丰富的服务盛宴,高速列车和飞机将首次接受宽带高速连接。

与此同时,企业正期待着更多的商业机会,这些机会得到“超可靠”网络的支持,使关键任务功能成为可能。

潜在的健康威胁

尽管每一项新的技术进步都能给消费者带来巨大的利益,但总会有批评者质疑未来新技术进步的有效性和/或合理性。

在5G的情况下,多个来源声称该技术携带由基站辐射引起的负面健康影响。

批评是,发射塔将广播更高频率的信号,以维持更密集的数据传输所需的更大数量的数据。高频率传输意味着信号比3G或4G传输速度更快,因此需要更多的信号发射塔。

5G运营商已经公开提议将他们的发射机安装在路灯和交通灯上。

5G network technology small cell boxes
5G小发射塔。

批评人士称,一个人离手机信号塔、小电池和移动设备等天线越近,情况就越糟。

研究电磁频率(EMFs)的影响已经证明,他们可以导致慢性疾病,但程度和程度仍然是一个问题。

2014年,巴黎笛卡尔大学(Paris Descartes University)进行的一项研究发现,通过商业上可获得的简单测试,可以客观地诊断出电磁脉冲的敏感性,并发现电磁脉冲会导致炎症、氧化应激、自身免疫状况,以及扰乱有机生物的昼夜节律。

安大略省特伦特大学(Trent University)的生物学家Magda Havas估计,3%的人对电磁干扰有严重反应,另有35%的人受到各种负面外部因素的影响,包括睡眠质量差、抑郁、注意力下降和更高的焦虑。

据Havas女士说,更极端的症状可能包括心脏病、头晕、恶心和行动困难。

抑郁、焦虑和睡眠等表面效应可能只是冰山一角。

2016年,亚美尼亚的研究人员发现,5G微波环境会减缓单细胞生物的生长,还可能增加某些细菌对抗生素的耐药性。

一些最令人担忧的研究表明,高频5G波可以被皮肤吸收,并通过汗腺管充当天线深入人体。

根据美国卫生与公众服务部(Department of Health and Human Services)的国家毒理学计划(National Toxicology Program),在两年多的时间里,每天暴露在电磁场下9个小时的老鼠,会出现不同寻常的脑部和心脏肿瘤,并对它们的DNA造成持续损害。

研究人员担心,5G波能够更深入地穿透人体组织,可能会扰乱神经和内分泌系统。长时间暴露在紫外线下可能会引起皮肤刺激,引发多种皮肤病,包括癌症。

除了人类的影响外,科学家们还发现,持续暴露在电磁场中会扰乱鸟类及其筑巢行为,扰乱蜜蜂的方向,损害植物和树木的生长。

研究表明,小麦等可耕种作物会引发“应激反应”,改变其复杂的生物化学结构。因此,这些影响可以影响自然栖息地、食物链和数十种依赖于它们的生物。

多位科学家强调的健康问题,促使国际环境医生协会(International Society of Doctors for The Environment)及其在逾25个国家的附属机构呼吁暂停5G的传播,直到人们更好地理解它的影响。

此外,来自41个国家的200多名电磁场科学家签署了International EMF Scientist Appeal,该呼吁强调了大量表明低水平无线辐射对健康有害的研究。

科学家们希望在这些研究被证实或证明错误之前停止5G的发展。

经济与健康

5G的高频电波要求小型信号塔部署在距离用户更近的地方,配备更多天线,以扩大数据密集的覆盖范围。

目前正在进行的研究估计需要20年或更久的时间来确定一个明确的结论。

电信公司不能等那么久,在研究完成之前就游说立法者批准5G网络。至少批评者是这么说的。

一些更热心的批评者认为,5G不仅会带来健康风险,更令人担忧的是,它可能会为一个奥威尔式的控制网络创造条件,让更多的“老大哥”式的监视和社会监控成为可能。

5G将通过互联网把每一栋建筑、每一件电器、每一家零售商和每一位顾客连接在一起。每辆车都将与附近的每辆车交换数据,更不用说控制交通流量的电脑了。

如果这种技术被邪恶地使用,对整个社会的潜在危险可能远远超出对健康的影响。

垃圾还是财富

5G技术的最大支持者(电信公司和政府)声称,5G技术的采用将带来闪电般的无线互联网速度和更大的容量,以应对互联网设备的增长和用户对带宽的需求。

新标准有可能将虚拟现实等服务带给移动用户,为无人驾驶汽车的市场开拓道路,并推动所谓的“智能城市”的发展,这些城市需要不断增长的海量数据来管理其庞大的基础设施。

再往下看,假设医疗行业的进步能够跟上,甚至还有这样的前景:高带宽网络将使医生能够通过控制机器人手臂远程实施手术。

农村地区也将首次受益于互联网服务。

然而,目前存在一个明显的危险,那就是5G网络可能会让所有设备变得更容易被黑客攻击,如果发生这种攻击,后果会更严重——原因很简单,就是所有东西都更加互联和整合。

还有可能存在辐射造成伤害的风险,批评人士坚持认为,信号辐射会像香烟一样——最初被认为是一种安全的消费产品,但经过进一步的调查和研究才证明是有害和致癌的。

关于5G网络的安全性、有效性甚至必要性,目前还没有定论。世界各国政府已经宣布这项技术是安全的,而电信公司也在准备发起市场攻势,准备在你附近的地区推出5G服务。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

5G technology: are the benefits worth the health risks?

5G technology small cell boxes health risks
The US National Institutes of Health revealed that rats exposed to EMF radiation for nine hours a day over a two year period, developed unusual brain and heart tumours and sustained damage to their DNA.

The roll-out of fifth generation (5G) networks (alongside the suite of 5G-enabled mobile devices) has already begun with several countries keen to install the infrastructure required to usher in a new generation of connectivity.

The technology and telecommunication industries are actively preparing for a new era of wireless which they say will facilitate extensive economic opportunities and set the stage for a futuristic modern society that looks something akin to The Jetsons.

5G technology is being promoted as the vehicle that will deliver faster wireless speeds for mobile users and spur new innovation for internet-connected devices.

To put things into perspective, 4G is around ten times faster than 3G, where as 5G can send data as much as a thousand times faster than 4G.

This next generation of connectivity is the latest – and according to tech market analysts – the greatest wireless networking technology that will be used by all digital devices including phones, cars, laptops, and even smartwatches.

5G technology connectivity EMF radiation health internet
5G technology will be used to connect all electrical devices to the internet.

In a report titled 5G – Enabling the future economy, published by the Australian Government’s Department of Communication and the Arts, 5G will provide “the underlying architecture for the next wave of productivity and innovation across different sectors of the Australian economy”.

The report also claims that efficient roll-out of 5G and uptake of the services it supports has the potential to produce “far-reaching economic and social benefits and support growth of Australia’s digital economy”.

Bold claims indeed, for a bright future in an internet of things (IoT)-powered Australia that will ultimately sync up with the ongoing roll-out of the National Broadband Network (NBN), and allowing “greater capabilities for the seamless delivery of services across high-speed mobile, fixed line and fixed wireless networks”.

Industry acclaim

According to Swedish telecom giant Ericsson, 5G subscriptions will reach 1.5 billion people by 2024 with coverage set to extend to over 40% of the world’s population.

However, the scope of the roll-out is far from equilateral, which means some countries and regions are set to receive 5G sooner than others.

According to research published by British consultancy firm Ovum, up to a third of North American mobile connections will be on a 5G network by 2023 with other countries such as Japan, South Korea and the UK also leading the pack when it comes to implementation.

In September last year, Japanese company NTT DOCOMO successfully achieved 25–27 Gbps download speeds in a collaborative 5G trial with Mitsubishi Electric.

The duo said its test could be used to develop a high-speed 5G network that works with vehicles and other devices as part of the IoT boom.

Bearing the brunt

To help usher in the next generation of 5G connectivity globally, responsibility has been passed over to the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), a specialised agency working as an offshoot from the United Nations, purposed for standardising information and communications technologies on a global scale.

The thinking is that for 5G networks to be compatible, efficient and seamless, they will need to be homogenous and work in accordance to an agreed standard.

The fear is that if multinationals are left to their own devices, we could see a repeat of what happened with AC sockets and mobile phone chargers – a diversity of technologies with different voltages and designs that eventually led to people needing a converter each time they go on holiday.

Governments from across the world have authorised the ITU to undertake the formal, international process to identify bands for 5G by 2020.

It has developed draft technical specifications for 5G including high data rates (1 Gbps for hotspots, 100 Mbps download and 50 Mbps upload for wide-area coverage). Higher rates of data transfer will also be supplemented by greater connectivity with ultra-low latency, estimated to be around 1 million connections per square kilometre.

Consumers are set to receive a jamboree of data-rich services with high-speed trains and planes to receive broadband-speed connections for the first time.

Meanwhile, businesses are looking forward to more commercial opportunities backed by “ultra-reliable” networking that enable mission-critical functions.

Potential health hazard

Despite the promise of abundant consumer benefits, with every new technological advance, there are always critics that question the validity and/or the rationale for futuristic new advances.

In the case of 5G, multiple sources claim that the technology carries negative health effects caused by cell tower radiation.

The critique is that cell towers will broadcast higher frequency signals to sustain the larger amount of data required by more intensive data transmissions. Higher-frequency transmissions mean signals dissipate quicker than 3G or 4G, and, therefore, more cell towers will be required.

5G providers have openly proposed to mount their transmitters on streetlight poles and traffic lights.

5G network technology small cell boxes
A 5G small cell tower.

Critics claim that the closer a person is located to antennas such as cell phone towers, small cells and mobile devices, the worse off they are.

The research into the impact of electromagnetic frequencies (EMFs) has proved that they can cause chronic ailments, but the extent and degree are still in question.

Research conducted at Paris Descartes University in 2014 found that sensitivity to EMFs can be objectively diagnosed by commercially available simple tests, and that EMFs cause inflammation, oxidative stress, autoimmune conditions, as well as disrupting the circadian rhythm of organic living beings.

Magda Havas, a biologist at Ontario’s Trent University, estimates that 3% of the population has severe reactions to EMFs and another 35% are compromised by a variety of negative externalities including poor sleep, depression, reduced concentration and higher anxiety.

More extreme symptoms can include heart trouble, dizziness, nausea and difficulties with movement, according to Ms Havas.

Superficial effects such as depression, anxiety and sleep may only be the tip of the iceberg.

In 2016, Armenian researchers found that a 5G microwave environment retarded the growth of single-cell organisms and could also increase resistance to antibiotics in some bacteria.

Some of the most worrisome research shows that high-frequency 5G waves can be absorbed into the skin and reach deeper into the body with sweat ducts acting as antennas.

According to the US Department of Health and Human Services’ National Toxicology Program, rats exposed to EMFs for nine hours a day over two years developed unusual brain and heart tumours and sustained damage to their DNA.

Researchers fear that by being able to penetrate deeper into human tissue, 5G waves can disrupt the nervous and endocrine systems. Prolonged exposure could potentially cause skin irritation and precipitate a variety of skin diseases, including cancers.

Outside of human effects, scientists have found that steady exposure to EMFs can disrupt birds and their nesting behaviour, disorient bees and damage plant and tree growth.

Farmable crops such as wheat have been shown to spark a “stress response”, altering its complex biochemistry. These effects can therefore impact natural habitats, the food chain and dozens of organisms that depend on them.

The health issues highlighted by various scientists have led the International Society of Doctors for the Environment with affiliated organisations in more than 25 countries, to call for suspending 5G’s spread until its effects are better understood.

Also, more than 200 EMF scientists in 41 countries have signed the International EMF Scientist Appeal, which highlights myriad studies indicating health dangers associated with low levels of wireless radiation.

The scientists want 5G’s progress halted until these studies can be confirmed or proven wrong.

Economics meets health

5G’s high-frequency waves require small cell towers to be deployed closer to users with more antennas to expand its data-intensive coverage.

Research is currently ongoing with the time required to establish a definitive conclusion estimated at around 20 years or more.

Telecom companies simply cannot wait that long and have lobbied legislators to approve 5G networks well before research has been done. Or so the critics say.

Some of the more ardent critics are suggesting that 5G will not only pose health risks but even more worryingly, could be setting the stage for an Orwellian control grid that enables more Big Brother-style spying and monitoring of society.

5G will stitch together every building, appliance, retailer, and customer via the Internet. Every car will be exchanging data with every other vehicle in its neighbourhood, not to mention the computers that will control traffic flow.

If such technology is used nefariously, the potential danger to society as a whole could extend far beyond health effects.

Trash or treasure

The biggest proponents of 5G technology (telecommunication companies and governments) claim that its adoption will usher in lightning-fast wireless internet speeds and increased capacity to deal with the growth in internet devices and user demand for bandwidth.

The new standard has the potential to bring services such as virtual reality to mobile users, forge a path for driverless cars to market and enable the development of so-called “smart cities,” which require growing reams of data to manage their sprawling infrastructure.

Further down the track, and assuming advances in the medical industry keep up, there’s even the prospect that higher-bandwidth networks will enable doctors to remotely perform surgeries by controlling robotic arms.

Rural areas could also benefit and see internet-powered services for the first time.

However, there is a clear and present danger that 5G networks could compromise society by making all devices more hackable and the consequences even more devastating if such hacks occur – simply because everything is more connected and integrated.

There is also the possible risk of radiation causing harm with critics adamant that signal radiation will follow the path of cigarettes – first thought of as a safe consumer product, only to prove harmful and carcinogenic after further investigation and research.

With the jury still out on the safety, efficacy or even the necessity of 5G networks, the world’s governments have declared the technology safe while telecommunication companies are readying their market assault with a menu of 5G-powered services set to hit store shelves in a region near you.