WAM Active对Keybridge Capital提出新的收购报价

WAM Active Keybridge Capital takeover RNY Property Trust HHY Fund ASX WAA KBC
WAM Active目前以每股0.069澳元的价格收购Keybridge,因为该投资集团的目标是规模更小的基金RNY。

在澳大利亚证券和投资委员会(ASIC)批准WAM Active (ASX: WAA)进行收购后,WAM Active宣布对投资集团Keybridge Capital (ASX: KBC)发出新的收购要约。

该公司今天发布了一份替代投标人的声明,提出以每股0.069澳元的无条件现金收购Keybridge。

该公司周一早些时候宣布,ASIC已批准其继续进行收购要约。

这家上市投资公司是专注于澳大利亚的基金管理公司Wilson Asset Management管理的六家投资公司之一。今年1月,该公司曾向Keybridge发出场外报价,以每股0.065澳元的价格收购其股票。

然而,收购过程并不顺利,因为收购委员会宣布收购已于3月结束,而Keybridge于6月初对WAM提起法律诉讼,指控该公司将Keybridge的股份以自己的名义非法转让。

与此同时,Keybridge将目光投向了一个更小的目标,发起了对另一家投资基金RNY Property Trust (ASX: RNY)的收购。

WAM的收购要约
WAM的要约是无条件的,并适用于在要约期结束前通过转换可兑换的可赎回本票(CRPNs)而发行的Keybridge股份。

Keybridge每股0.069澳元现金的出价,比其截至2020年2月29日未审计税后有形资产净值(NTA)支持的0.054澳元溢价约29%。NTA是Keybridge在投标人声明前披露的最后一份NTA。

WAM指出,由于冠状病毒大流行引发股市动荡,Keybridge受到了冲击,这可能导致NTA的实质性下降。

该公司表示,其收购要约还考虑到Keybridge的股东价值“持续受到侵蚀”、“过高”的运营支出、重大的公司治理问题(尤其是与未披露拟议收购相关的问题)、流动性不足以及有争议的董事会组成。

Keybridge尚未对该出价做出回应,但今天通知市场,它已向CRPN票据持有人提供将其票据延长12个月(至2021年7月31日)的权利,并延长其选择转换为普通股的时间。

ASIC提供救济以进行投标

今天早些时候,WAM表示,它已获得原则上的救济,可以继续进行其Keybridge收购要约,并将向ASIC提交其替代投标人的声明。

该项豁免涉及最近收购委员会程序中发出的订单,以及修改条款,以确保已处理的持有人能够根据该订单行使其撤销权。

技术补救也允许WAM对要约条款进行微小修改,以澄清该要约是针对所有Keybridge股份提出的,并反映已处理的持有者接受该要约的能力。

在此之前,ASIC曾在6月底有条件地免除了竞购者在宣布收购提议后两个月内发出收购要约的要求。

该豁免本应允许WAM在7月7日前发出要约,但ASIC Class Order [CO 13/528]禁止该公司在此日前发出要约。Class Order命令也阻止了WAM在要求的截止日期7月1日之前发表声明解释豁免。

Keybridge将WAM公司告上法庭,指控其“不当”股权转让

收购委员会4月份的一项决定宣布,WAM的收购交易已于3月3日结束。Keybridge声称,与收购要约有关的所有收购合同和接受协议随后都失效,不应登记任何转让。

6月初,该公司对WAM提起了诉讼,指控该公司在3月份不当地将96名股东手中的1600万股Keybridge股票转移到自己名下。

Keybridge希望处理后的股份能与待出售的ASIC捆绑在一起,并支付Keybridge与此事相关的成本。

但WAM对这一诉讼嗤之以鼻,声称Keybridge“此前两次试图获得此类订单都以失败告终”,收购委员会曾两次拒绝提供Keybridge第三次提出的订单。

与此同时,Keybridge董事Antony Catalano向96名受影响股东发出场外要约,以每股0.07澳元的价格回购股票。如果Catalano先生成功地获得了所有这些股份,他在Keybridge的股份将增加到22%。

在一份相反的声明中,WAM指责Catalano先生“试图购买Keybridge有限数量的股份”,因为该公司暗示将向澳大利亚社区媒体(ACM)投资500万澳元——据称Keybridge花了近12个月的时间才披露这笔交易。

此前,WAM曾在2019年两次出价均未成功,分别为每股0.075澳元和0.069澳元,但在Keybridge触发了收购条件后,WAM撤回了出价。

Keybridge的关注甚至是更小的鱼

与此同时,Keybridge已向RNY Property Trust发出全代币收购要约,该公司目前已在ASX暂停交易。

RNY投资于美国商业办公市场,在纽约三州地区的五处办公物业中拥有75%的权益。

Keybridge为RNY发行的每一个单位提供0.16股股票,较该房地产投资信托在2019年3月底的最后一次市场交易溢价220%。

RNY在7月初回应该要约时表示,将等待Keybridge的竞购者发表声明,然后才会就该要约发表任何评论。

Aurora Funds Management是负责管理“纽约州各种大型企业”的实体,作为收购的一部分,该公司向Keybridge证实,不会做出任何会导致第三方违反适用法律或法规的行为。

Aurora’s Dividend Income Trust (ADIT)一直将目标锁定在Keybridge,在3月份提出了改进后的全现金收购报价,每股0.07澳元。

当时,ADIT表示,它将与HHY Fund (ASX: HHY)达成一项融资协议,以确保收购交易的现金需求得到满足。

然而,在只接受了21.2%的Keybridge股份后,ADIT在4月份结束了收购。

6月底,ADIT宣布接受了收购要约的Bentley Capital已被收购委员会驳回。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

WAM Active makes new takeover bid for Keybridge Capital

WAM Active Keybridge Capital takeover RNY Property Trust HHY Fund ASX WAA KBC
WAM Active is now offering $0.069 per share to acquire Keybridge as the investment group targets even smaller fund, RNY.

WAM Active (ASX: WAA) has announced a new takeover offer to acquire investment group Keybridge Capital (ASX: KBC) after the Australian Securities and Investment Commission (ASIC) granted it the relief it needed to move forward with its bid.

The company today released a replacement bidder’s statement which proposes an unconditional cash offer of $0.069 per share to acquire Keybridge.

The statement follows the company’s announcement earlier on Monday that it had been granted relief by ASIC to proceed with its takeover offer.

The listed investment company, one of six managed by Australia-focused fund manager Wilson Asset Management, previously made a move for Keybridge in January with an off-market bid to acquire its shares for $0.065 each.

However, the process has been rocky with the Takeovers Panel declaring the bid closed in March and Keybridge launching legal proceedings against WAM in early June, alleging the firm improperly transferred Keybridge shares into its own name.

Meanwhile, Keybridge has its sights set on an even smaller target, launching a bid for fellow investment fund RNY Property Trust (ASX: RNY).

WAM’s takeover offer

WAM’s offer is unconditional and extends to Keybridge shares issued on conversion of convertible redeemable promissory notes (CRPNs) before the end of the offer period.

The offer price of $0.069 cash per Keybridge share represents a premium of about 29% to Keybridge’s unaudited after-tax net tangible asset (NTA) backing as at 29 February 2020 of $0.054, the last NTA disclosed by Keybridge prior to the bidder’s statement.

WAM noted that Keybridge has been rocked by the subsequent stock market turmoil arising out of the COVID-19 pandemic, which could result in a material decline in its NTA.

The company said its offer also took into account Keybridge’s “continued erosion” of shareholder value, “excessive” operating expenses, significant corporate governance issues particularly relating to its non-disclosure of a proposed acquisition, lack of liquidity and its controversial board composition.

Keybridge has not yet responded to the bid but today advised the market it has offered CRPN noteholders the right to extend their notes by 12 months (to 31 July 2021) and an extension of time to elect to convert to ordinary equity.

ASIC grants relief to proceed with bid

Earlier today, WAM said it had been granted the in-principle relief to proceed with its Keybridge takeover offer and would be lodging its replacement bidder’s statement with ASIC.

The relief related to orders made during the recent Takeover Panel proceedings and modified terms that ensure processed holders are able to exercise their reversal rights in accordance with the orders.

The technical relief also allowed WAM to make minor amendments to the offer terms for the purpose of clarifying that the offer is made in respect to all Keybridge shares, and to reflect the ability for processed holders to accept into the offer.

This follows ASIC’s grant of conditional relief in late June from the requirement for a bidder to make offers within two months of announcing a takeover proposal.

The relief would have allowed WAM to make offers until 7 July but an ASIC Class Order [CO 13/528] prohibited the firm from doing so by this date. The class order had also prevented WAM from making an announcement to explain the relief by the required 1 July deadline.

Keybridge takes WAM to court over ‘improper’ share transfers

A Takeovers Panel decision in April declared WAM’s bid closed on 3 March and Keybridge claims all takeover contracts and acceptances in relation to the offer then became void and no transfers should have been registered.

At the start of June, the company commenced court proceedings against WAM, alleging the firm improperly transferred 16 million Keybridge shares from 96 shareholders into its own name in March.

Keybridge wanted the processed shares to be vested with ASIC for sale and that WAM pay Keybridge’s costs associated with the matter.

But WAM scoffed the lawsuit, claiming Keybridge has “already failed on two previous attempts to obtain orders of this kind” with the Takeovers Panel twice refusing to make the orders Keybridge was again requesting for the third time.

Meanwhile, Keybridge director Antony Catalano made an off-market offer to buy back the shares from the 96 affected shareholders at $0.07 per share. If Mr Catalano is successful at acquiring every such share available, his shareholding in Keybridge would increase to 22%.

In a counter statement, WAM accused Mr Catalano of making an “opportune attempt to purchase a limited number of shares” in Keybridge as the firm signalled a proposed $5 million investment in Australian Community Media (ACM)  – a deal that has allegedly taken Keybridge almost 12 months to disclose.

WAM’s prior takeover offer of $0.065 per Keybridge share followed two unsuccessful bids in 2019, with the firm offering $0.075 and $0.069 per share but then withdrawing its offers after Keybridge triggered defeating conditions.

Keybridge targets even smaller fish

Meanwhile, Keybridge has made an all scrip takeover bid for RNY Property Trust, which is currently suspended from trading on the ASX.

RNY invests in the United States commercial office market and holds a 75% interest in five office properties in the New York Tri-State area.

Keybridge has offered 0.16 of its shares for each RNY unit on issue, reflecting a 220% premium to the real estate investment trust’s last market trade in late March 2019.

In response to the bid, RNY said in early July it would await Keybridge’s bidder’s statement before providing any comments in relation to the offer.

Aurora Funds Management, the responsible entity for a “variety of substantial unitholders in RNY” confirmed with Keybridge as part of the bid that it would not do anything that causes third parties to be in contravention of applicable laws or regulations.

Aurora’s Dividend Income Trust (ADIT) had been targeting Keybridge, offering an improved all cash takeover offer of $0.07 per share in March.

At the time, ADIT said it would enter into a funding agreement with HHY Fund (ASX: HHY), which would ensure the cash requirements of the bid be satisfied.

However, ADIT closed its offer in April after only receiving acceptances of 21.2% of Keybridge shares.

In late June, ADIT announced that Bentley Capital, which accepted the offer, had its acceptance reversed by the Takeovers Panel.

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts