铀落后于其他能源价格–暂时如此

Uranium energy prices 2022 Ukraine Russia nuclear power demand
分析师表示,铀的前景是积极的,下一阶段将由真正的需求而非财务状况驱动。

在行动中失踪,但也许不会太久。这是看到铀的最佳方式,去年铀价格从每磅27美元涨到51美元/磅,涨幅达88%,之后回落至44美元/磅,而其他能源价格却在飙升,包括煤炭和石油。

俄罗斯精心策划的对乌克兰的入侵是能源蛋糕上的糖衣,随着世界摆脱COVID-19封锁和运输堵塞的直接影响,能源蛋糕开始上升。

去年油价上涨了48%,达到每桶77美元,今年前8周油价持续上涨,最新交易价格约为96.80美元/桶。

煤炭价格去年上涨了30%,至每吨159美元,今年一直在上涨,至每吨236美元。

铀是落伍者,对乌克兰的事件无动于衷,而且未能在去年的大反弹中再接再厉,而去年的反弹是在15年的罪孽深重之后发生的–由美国的三里岛开始,随后是乌克兰的切尔诺贝利和日本的福岛发生的三起核电站事故。

正是这些事件几乎扼杀了铀作为可靠、基荷、低排放电力供应商的地位–以及作为风能、太阳能甚至水力发电的间歇性电力流的理想补充,因为水力发电需要依靠定期降雨才能有效运作。

尽管去年的价格回升在很大程度上是金融市场的狂欢,因为投资基金购买了过剩的材料,这造成了真正需求的印象–其实不然。

Sprott Physical Uranium Trust和Yellow Cake等基金所做的只是调集投资基金购买一个库存中的铀,并将其转移到另一个库存中,这些材料几乎没有被消耗,只是被重新安置(或只是在同一个安全仓库中重新标记)。

等待铀的使用者

接下来,铀价应该会出现可持续的大幅反弹,但前提是停产矿场的所有者保持纪律,不要过快地重新开矿,而且基金也准备耐心等待,不要过早出售。

实际上,矿主和基金经理正在等待铀的使用者,主要是指电厂运营商,重新进入市场,以取代他们的反应堆所消耗的铀,或转化为新建核电站的燃料颗粒。

铀市场从短期反弹到长期需求驱动的这种转变不会在一夜之间发生,但有令人鼓舞的迹象表明它正在开始发生。

铀的情绪在转变

有趣的是(以黑色幽默的方式),那些谴责铀是环境不可接受的电力来源的人,现在正领导着铀的欢呼队,他们迟迟没有认识到这种金属不会增加碳污染–气候变化的主要罪魁祸首。

在中国、法国、英国和美国的带领下,各国政府正在排队重新加入核电事业,老旧反应堆的退役计划被搁置,新的建造计划得到批准。

核电企业重新进入市场

对于关注澳大利亚铀行业的投资者来说,下一步上涨的关键是确认电力公司重新进入市场,为大量的金属供应提供长期合同。

这个过程可能已经在11月开始,当时Kazakhstan的国有铀矿公司与两家中国国有企业签订了合同。

据报道,加拿大的铀业龙头企业Cameco也在新合同的谈判中变得更加积极。

ASX股票将重新唤醒铀业

与现货(短期)市场的泡沫相比,来自合同市场的消息流将重新唤醒澳大利亚的小型铀矿企业,这些企业在去年表现良好,然后又渐渐睡去。

Lotus Resources(ASX: LOT)等股票去年上涨了60%,但今年下跌了28%,92 Energy(ASX: 92E)去年上涨了75%,但今年下跌了30%,这些股票是铀复苏的第一阶段的例子,由于金属价格的停滞不前而失去了活力。

Elevate Uranium (ASX: EL8) 2021年上涨196%,今年下跌15%,以及Paladin Energy (ASX: PDN)2021年上涨88%,今年下跌24%,反映了同样的早期推动者问题,随后出现下滑,这可能部分是由于股票交易商从铀矿的成功故事中套现造成的。

强劲的前景

最近的两份研究报告强调了铀市场正在经历的过程,Canaccord Genuity认为保留铀金属投资的理由很充分,而Shaw and Partners则认为铀已经度过了周期性的低谷,随着库存的减少,基本面也在改善。

在对铀的看法上,两家金融公司都回避了关键的时间问题。只说复苏将继续–只是不问具体时间。

Shaw在上周发布的一份报告中,列出了一系列支持投资铀的近期发展,包括随着潜在的矿山开发商进展缓慢,老化的矿山被关闭,投资基金继续购买,中国的长期合同,法国计划建造反应堆的狂欢,以及欧洲意外地将铀重新归类为绿色燃料–这一转变可与圣保罗在通往大马士革的路上相媲美。

同时,Canaccord指出,2021年的铀市场 “由金融业者主导”,虽然今年将看到短期波动,但核电需求继续上升,即使矿山供应处于12年的低点。

重要的是,Canaccord认为,略高于40美元/磅的铀价不足以激励矿山重启和投资新的矿山供应。

“因此,我们认为这个周期仍有很长的路要走,”该经纪人说。

Canaccord认为,随着各国政府确认其对核电的承诺,常规需求仍然非常强劲,而Sprott Physical Uranium Trust正坐拥24亿美元的现金,准备收购更多金属,并可能在今年晚些时候寻求在纽约证券交易所上市,这将成为铀市场的催化剂。

与Shaw一样,Canaccord认为,需要60美元/吨或更高的铀价来激励矿山开发(和再开发)–这个价格可能在今年接近,然后在明年实现。

一旦价格堤坝被打破,分析师预计铀将回到85美元/磅的水平,这个价格上一次出现是在2007年。

铀行业的早期参与者去年表现良好。今年晚些时候,随着金属价格恢复其上升趋势,他们可能会享受到第二次进账–这次是由真正的消费者需求驱动,而不是由金融操纵驱动。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Uranium is lagging other energy prices – for now

Uranium energy prices 2022 Ukraine Russia nuclear power demand
Analysts say the outlook for uranium is positive, with the next stage to be driven by genuine demand and not financial positioning.

Missing in action, but perhaps not for long. That’s the best way to see uranium, which promised much last year with an 88% rise from US$27 a pound to US$51/lb, before easing back to $US44/lb and sitting at that price while every other form of energy surges higher, including coal and oil.

Russia’s well-telegraphed invasion of Ukraine is the icing on the energy cake, which started to rise as the world shook off the immediate effects of COVID-19 lockdowns and transport blockages.

Oil was up by 48% last year to US$77 a barrel and has kept increasing in first eight weeks of this year to latest trades at around US$96.80/bbl.

Coal was up 30% last year to US$159 a tonne, and has kept rising this year to US$236/t.

Uranium is the laggard, unmoved by events in Ukraine, and failing to build on last year’s big bounce, which came after 15 years in the sin bin – burdened by a trio of nuclear power plant accidents, which started with Three Mile Island in the US, followed by Chernobyl in the Ukraine and Fukushima in Japan.

It was those events which almost killed the case for uranium as a provider of reliable, baseload, low-emission electricity – and an ideal complement to the intermittent flows of power from wind, solar and even hydroelectricity which relies on regular rainfall to operate effectively.

The theory behind a uranium revival remains intact, though last year’s price recovery was largely a financial markets flurry as investment funds bought surplus material, which created the impression of genuine demand – which it wasn’t.

Funds such as the Sprott Physical Uranium Trust and Yellow Cake have done little more than marshal investment funds to buy uranium in one stockpile and shift it to another with little of the material being consumed, just relocated (or simply rebadged in the same secure warehouse).

Waiting for uranium users

It’s what comes next that should deliver a sustainable and substantial rally in the uranium price, but only if the owners of mothballed mines maintain their discipline and don’t re-open too quickly and the funds are also prepared to be patient and not sell too soon.

In effect, the miners and fund managers are waiting for uranium users, and that largely means power plant operators, to re-enter the market to replace what’s been consumed in their reactors or converted into fuel pellets for newly build nuclear power stations.

This shift in the uranium market from short-term bounce to long-term demand drive will not happen overnight, but there are encouraging signs that it is starting to happen.

Uranium sentiment shifting

What’s amusing (in a black humour way) is that the same people who condemned uranium as an environmentally unacceptable source of electricity are now leading the uranium cheer squad having belatedly recognised that the metal doesn’t add to carbon pollution – the chief climate-change culprit.

Governments are lining up to re-join the nuclear power business, led by China, France, Britain and the US with plans to decommission old reactors being shelved and approvals granted for new builds.

Nuclear power utilities re-enter market

For investors with an eye on the Australian uranium sector the key to the next move up will be confirmation that power utilities are back in the market, offering long-term contracts for significant supplies of the metal.

That process might have started in November when the state-owned uranium company of Kazakhstan signed contracts with two Chinese state-owned enterprises.

Cameco, Canada’s uranium leader, is also reported to have become more active in negotiating new contracts.

ASX stocks to re-awaken with uranium sector

News flow from the contract market, as opposed to the froth and bubble of the spot (short-term) market is what will re-awaken Australia’s crop of small uranium players which did well last year before drifting back to sleep.

Stocks such as Lotus Resources (ASX: LOT), up 60% last year but down 28% this year, and 92 Energy (ASX: 92E), up 75% last year but down 30% this year are examples of the first stages of the uranium revival running out of steam thanks to the stalled price of the metal.

Elevate Uranium (ASX: EL8), 196% higher 2021, 15% lower this year, and Paladin Energy (ASX: PDN) rising 88% in 2021, and dropping 24% this year, reflect the same early mover issue followed by a slip, which has probably been caused in part by share-traders cashing out of the uranium success stories.

Strong outlook

Two recent research reports highlight the process through which the uranium market is passing, with Canaccord Genuity arguing that the case for retaining exposure to the metal is strong, while Shaw and Partners reckons uranium has passed its cyclical downturn with fundamentals improving as stockpiles are drawn down.

Positive in their views of uranium, both finance houses dodge the critical question of timing. Only saying that the recovery will continue – just don’t ask exactly when.

Shaw, in a report published last week, listed a series of recent developments underpinning the case for investing in uranium, including supply side discipline as potential mine developers go slow, ageing mines are closed mines, continued buying by investment funds, the long-term Chinese contracts, France planning a reactor building spree, and a surprise turn by Europe which has reclassified uranium as a green fuel – a conversion to rival that of St Paul on the road to Damascus.

Meanwhile, Canaccord noted 2021 was “dominated by financial players” in the uranium market and while this year will see near-term volatility demand for nuclear power continues to rise even as mine supply sits at a 12-year low.

Significantly, Canaccord reckons a uranium price of a bit above US$40/lb is not sufficient to incentivise mine restarts and investment in new mine supply.

“Accordingly, we believe this cycle still has a long way to go,” the broker said.

Conventional demand, according to Canaccord, remains extremely robust as governments affirm their commitment to nuclear power, while the Sprott Physical Uranium Trust is sitting on a cash pile of US$2.4 billion, ready to acquire more metal and possibly seek a New York stock exchange listing later this year which would be a catalyst for the uranium market.

Like Shaw, Canaccord argues that a uranium price of US$60/t or more is needed to incentivise mine development (and redevelopment) – a price likely to edge close this year before being delivered next year.

Once the price dam is broken, analysts expect uranium to move back towards US$85/lb, a price last seen in 2007.

Early movers in the uranium sector did well last year. They could enjoy a second feed later this year as the price of the metal resumes its upward trend – driven this time by genuine consumer demand, and less by financial manoeuvres.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.